We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but decent room.”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #137 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but decent room.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Kowloon Hotel is more of a Stay and Go hotel. Good location ( very near MRT ) but room is a little too small comparing to other hotels I stayed in HK previously. As for the room, very small room and you have to find a place to open your luggage. I stayed in the most basic room so maybe the more expensive rooms are bigger.

The bed given was 2 single bed combined together even though we requested for a Big bed. It was quite hard to sleep with the hole between and small items always drop between. Pillows are too soft, no support. seems like they did not change the pillows before and no pillow menu to choose from. Requested additional pillows but still, it was very soft. TV in room have limited channels. Maybe it is more suitable for business trip with lots of news channels. Toilet was quite alright with decent amenities such as toothbrush x 2, cotton bud x 4, sanitary bag x 1, hand soap x 1, shower cap x 1. no comb provided no extra toilet roll provided.

The only thing I like for this hotel is the location and the dim sum at the hotel's restaurant. I might not take this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_Happiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Lil_Happiness,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and providing a review on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to serve you and we wish you a enjoyable time with us.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    805
    413
    95
    55
See reviews for
269
501
177
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I am a regular business visitor to Hong Kong and on the last trip we stayed here as there was a late special on Booking.com. Ok, I found it acceptable to pay $990 a night but I would have found it hard to swallow if I had paid their rack rate.

The hotel is very well located, the rooms and bathroom are clean. The free airport express shuttle stops just across the road which is also a plus point.

On the minus side, the rooms are tiny. The smallest that I have experienced in Hong Kong. The aircon in my room made such a noise that it kept me awake half the night, even when I turned it off the temperature control kept making the noise (room 1735). I also find it a bit cheeky that they charge $140 per day for the wifi. In a 4 star hotel I would expect the wifi to at least be free in the reception area.

We looked at the refurbished premier rooms at The Salisbury Hotel across the road, and for the same price, you get a much larger room.

I was only disappointed to find that after booking this hotel that within 24 hours (and it was too late to cancel) that The Luxe Manor had dropped it's room price to the same as the Kowloon. It is a superior hotel, the wifi is free, the airport express shuttle stops right outside the hotel and they include a delicious buffet breakfast in the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sun2009_Sun_2010,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here. Your concerns are well noted. We genuinely look forward to be of service to you and once again, thank you for staying with us.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toodyay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a short holiday in HK, and chose it due to it's location. We were not disappointed!! Access to the MRT was from the lobby with no need to go out onto the street. The rooms were very small and it took some planning to find space for your belongings and still be able to move around the bed. The rooms however were comfortable enough for the short time spent in them. The hotel is located within easy access to shops and the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phoenix2655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear phoenix2655,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and we genuinely wish to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
453 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 776 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Location can't be beat. Bedding is comfortable, but the room is very very small. The bathroom is very small too. The t.v. on the wall is small. But everything is very clean, and the service was surprisingly good.

What I especially didn't like was paying extra money for the "harbor view" rooms, which are only the last two rooms on each side on each floor. If you get the corner end unit, the view might be sort of acceptable, but if it's the next room in, don't bother. Your "view" is miniscule at best. They also describe these rooms as being on "the upper floors" of the hotel, I was on the 9th floor, out of 18 floors, so I guess it was considered an "upper floor", but the view was really pretty bad. Non harbor view rooms will look into a wall basically.

Internet worked great here. The lobby is tiny, and it's always jammed. Never any place to sit, and always a mob to walk through. Always lots of people and stops in the elevators. Lots of convenience stores nearby, subway station, Star Ferry, Airport bus link, etc.

I think a better value would be a nearby hotel, for maybe 20% more money, but maybe 50% more space in the room.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that connects to another room, as the sound insulation between those rooms is N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear pattayainsider,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. It is our pleasure to learn about your experience and we wish you an enjoyable time with us. We sincerely look forward to seeing you in the near future.
our pleasure to serve you and we genuinely look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have just spent 6 nights at this Hotel. Great Location for HK. Rooms are small but food is great.
Recommend the breakfast.
Train station under Hotel and walking distance to catch the Ferry.
Free shuttle bus from train station to Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear suzanne m,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. It is our pleasure to learn about your experience and we wish you an enjoyable time with us. We sincerely look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortitude Valley, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. I read the reviews before staying so I guess I knew what to expect regarding the size of the rooms... (It was cramped for the two of us but not anything to ruin our holiday)

We stayed in one of the harbour view suites on the 14th floor. The view of the harbour is by no means something you would sit and stare at from your room. It's between two buildings & through dirty glass. To be honest, in hindsight I wouldn't bother paying the extra $$$ if I was to stay again as the harbour was well within walking distance.

The room was clean, beautifully refurbished and staff friendly.

Location in Kowloon couldn't be better. (5 min walk to Star Ferry Terminal, across the road from a great waterfront run and all the shops you could ever possibly want!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Jordan4005,

Hope you had a great time in Hong Kong as well as at The Kowloon Hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you and we genuinely look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last 20 years and never had any problems with service or comfort. The rooms are small. Admittedly it's just me, and i may have had trouble if there were two of us and the suitcase lives on the floor because of the lack of space but it's clean, beautifully refurbished and comfortable. The restaurant is good (expensive but what do you expect in one of the nicest hotels in Kowloon) and the breakfast buffet covers every need. The MTR is a few metres away and you are right on the edge of the hustle and bustle of Nathan Road. The Harbour Club perks are worth the extra money if you can stretch to it. Afternoon tea in the club lounge is relaxing and the service is wonderful. The view from the room is also better. Always a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Harbour Club if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Julia K,

Thank you for supports for more than 20 years. We wish you a delightful time with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#128 of 718 in Hong Kong
189 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Property: The Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#109 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing