We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasnt worthy of my money”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #139 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Check in was horrible. I had to wait on a long queue and the staff were not polite. No greetings, no smile. I booked it using an Australian credit card, which held the money, however they wanted to FREEZE double the price of it without my approval. I only stayed there for one night and it wasn't the most pleasant of all. Room was spacious and had a horrible view of the dirty streets. Ordered a tiramisu and baileys on ice. Tiramisu portion was huge but wasn't tasty. And it was just very unprofessional of the staff. The rates differed on the actual day of the stay as supposed to the time of my reservation. and 260 aud wont just do this place any good. I will not return to this place again, and I suggest you spend your money's worth on a better hotel with this rate. No breakfast was included with this rate too. Will not return here for sure.
Only good thing: the train station is connected to the hotel. That is about it.
With this rate, no swimming pool and facilities, this hotel must be insane.

Room Tip: avoid being ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellylovesburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Shellylovesburgers,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking your time to share your experience with the travelling community. It is with regret to hear learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Your comment on the attitude of the front line staff is also well noted; please be assured that we will look into this matter immediately. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues with you to ensure we have a better understanding of your concerns, Kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location is perfect. Close to the Cultural Centre, Harbour City and most important in front of the underground.
I would say that this isi the only thing going for it.
The rooms are minuscule, service to say the least poor (the bell boy would not help to carry the luggage to the reception for check-in ...)
Breakfast is below standard in terms of offering and of quality.
Dinner on buffet closes fairly early (9 pm or thereabout), after that you have to eat at the adjacent bar, where again service is well below standard.
In conclusion pricey for the location, the rest better be forgotten.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaccarile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear vaccarile,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel location; while at the same time, it is with regret to learn about some of your disappointments. Your comments and concerns are well noted, we will investigate on the area and issues mentioned. Meanwhile, we have also reminded our front line staff to ensure that friendly and welcoming service is to be extended anytime. Thank you again for your comments, we sincerely hope to be of service to you again.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having never been to Hong Kong previously, we ended our trip of mainland China here. I have to say we noticed a massive deterioration in the quality of room and service we got for our budget. The staff were rude to us, unhelpful and impersonal. We had got engaged the night before and went to concierge for a suggestion of restaurant and we were treated with real disinterest. I doubt you would see this in a better hotel. The rooms were tiny and completely insufficient for a couple with 2 large luggage bags. Also, the deposit you are asked to pay is not immediately refunded, like other hotel "deposit" schemes. My advice would be: don't pay it! They are clearly getting interest on that banked money as it we were told it would be paid back 2 days later, after a raft of complaints we made at front desk - they originally said 2 weeks. Wifi and breakfast also aren't included, and if you do pay its only wifi by device. It made planning our days very difficult here. This is not the case in any other hotel we stayed during our trip. A real disappointment all round and really affected what was supposed to be a celebration for us!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia1256789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Julia1256789,

Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent visit. We appreciate your comments and understand that the matter had been addressed by us. Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you again for your constructive comments. Your feedback are valuable for us and your concerns are well noted. If you are available we would appreciate talking to you personally to understand and discuss the matter further. Please kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I must say that Kowloon Hotel is still the best stay ever. I have been staying at the Habour Club floor each time I visited Hong Kong. The room is clean & price is also reasonable. Most importantly, the staffs at Habour Club are attentive, polite and always greet you with a big smile. I have to compliment Helen, Carole, Karena, Eva, Chole & AVA for making my stay a memorable one. I look forward to staying at Kowloon Hotel on my next trip.

Room Tip: "Rooms with nice views"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Kelvin1710,

Thank you very much for your continuous support. We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed The Kowloon Hotel, especially The Harbour Club. We are more than happy to share your comments with our associates Helen, Carole, Karena, Eva, Chole and Ava, as we are sure they will be most appreciative of your compliments. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kowloon Hotel very soon on your next visit!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from 3 nights in the Kowloon, this was our 1st visit to Hong Kong and feel very disappointed with our stay at this hotel, we apparently had an upgraded room which in my opinion was way too small and once your luggage was in the room we were walking sideways around it!!!! Breakfast was in the reception area which was noisy due to the constant traffic of people booking in and checking out, children screaming and running around, we were only entitled to continental breakfast, never been to a hotel that has had 2 categories of breakfast before and wasn't aware of this prior to our stay, drinks served in paper cups, didn't think was was acceptable for a so called 4 star hotel, also told we were not entitled to a breakfast box on our morning of departure as we would be leaving (06.15) before the coffee shop opened, this was eventually provided after much discussion with the staff. Didn't find the staff helpful or friendly. No wifi in the rooms which we have had in other hotels of this star rating.
The only positive thing I can say was that the hotel was clean, central and close to all forms of transport.
Our experience of the Kowloon did not enhance our 1st visit to Hong Kong would not stay here again and would certainly never recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VoylartSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear VoylartSwansea,

Thank you for leaving us a review following your recent visit. It is with regret to learn about some of your disappointments. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your valuable feedback has been brought to our attention and please rest assured that we will take every necessary step to address these important issues. Should you wish to discuss this matter further, we would be most grateful to hear again from you. Please kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just got home from a three night stay at the knowloon hotel Hong Kong I have to say this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at,the roon was the size of cupboard it was so small two people found lt hard to move around in the room,there was no place to store cases so they had to be on the floor the bed was also small and very uncomfortable,breakfast was a waste of time tea and coffee was served in paper cups and eating in the caffe was like sitting in zoo the noise in the reception area was terrible people shouting kids running around traffic noise it was not a good way to start the day,we also found the staff very unhelpful and totally uninterested in helping with problems also I we were expected to pay £14per day for wifi considering this hotel claimed be a four star I personally think it's an over priced out of date hotel which needs to start giving a better service to the people staying there,having visited Hong Kong several times and stayed at other hotels I think I can say this is the worse hotel in Hong Kong I for one will not recommend this hotel to any one there are lots of better hotels in Hong Kong,

Room Tip: Don't go there there are better hotels in Hong Kong,the rooms are like broom cupboards,the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brynauwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear brynauwood,

Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent visit. It is with regret to learn about your disappointments, we sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations. Your concerns are well noted and if you are available we would appreciate talking to you personally to understand and discuss the matter further. Please kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed at The Kowloon Hotel on a stopover from Australia to Paris. We upgraded to the Harbour Lounge experience and while the rooms on Level 17 were small, the experience at the Harbour Lounge made it all worthwhile. Breakfast, drinks during the day, afternoon canapés and cocktails made the stay very enjoyable. The staff were very pleasant, especially Chloe. We look forward to staying at The Kowloon Hotel in two months time on our way back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slhobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear slhobt,

Thanks for your review on Tripadvisor and positive feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed The Kowloon hotel. Your candid feedback have been shared with our staff at the Harbour Club Lounge, especially Chloe. Your comments are of great encouragement. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to see you again in two months time!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#102 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#101 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,289 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Pacific Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#115 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £93 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing