We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but very small rooms”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #135 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Location but very small rooms”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location of the property is right smack bang in the mist of Nathan Road and right next to the MTR station. Easily accessible by the airport express. Very good location for shoppers and about 15 minutes from the hotel to the night market on Jordan Street by the MTR. Only regret are the rooms, they are very very small for a 4* Property. The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHGogri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear MHGogri,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our hotel, service and of course the hotel location. We also appreciated your kind comments on our staff, you positive feedback surely encourage us to keep improving our service quality. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    817
    421
    96
    55
See reviews for
274
509
179
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have stayed here on a number of occasions over the years and it is alway the same.
The room was clean and tidy but quite small.
The hotel is located off Nathan road and above the Kowloon railway.
A short walk to the ferry and close to many shops.
This was only an overnight stay this time and having arranged a late check out, there was time
To have a slow start to the day.
I have always liked this hotel with a great rate and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Robert D,

Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. It have been our pleasure to be of service to you over the past years, and we are glad that you have always enjoyed your stay here with us. Your returning visits are the greatest encouragements to all staff as we will continue to strive for service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back again in near future!

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just did an overnighter here, access to shops, MRT,ferry very easy, hotel is modern and clean ,good staff, we got up graded to a Club room nice but very small not what I would describe as Club. Breakfast was excellent great choices ,staff continually clearing away plates etc

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank VirgAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Alan G,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. We are more than delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us, especially our hotel location, services and breakfast. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon when your travel plans take you back to Hong Kong. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Whilst we found the rooms to be very small, this hotel represents great value for money due to it's very convenient location right on Nathan road in Kowloon, enabling easy access to everything hong kong has to offer. Easy transit to and from the airport using the MTR - station located downstairs from the hotel. A great stop over option. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WJBETB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear WJBETB,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Kowloon Hotel on Tripadvisor with like-minded travellers. Your compliments on our service, rooms and hotel location are much appreciated as we continue to strive for service excellence. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to be of service to you again soon.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location is excellent for MTR. access, Airport Express Shuttle bus and proximity to the Harbour, Star Ferry etc. Most staff were friendly but the hotel lacks personality. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Having to pay for wifi was unexpected and very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear sheepish16,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location, rooms and services. We would recommend you to reserve rooms via our official website on your next visit as we offer exclusive packages including free Wifi, and other privileges like free room upgrade, complimentary breakfast and personal check-in/out and more. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Check in was horrible. I had to wait on a long queue and the staff were not polite. No greetings, no smile. I booked it using an Australian credit card, which held the money, however they wanted to FREEZE double the price of it without my approval. I only stayed there for one night and it wasn't the most pleasant of all. Room was spacious and had a horrible view of the dirty streets. Ordered a tiramisu and baileys on ice. Tiramisu portion was huge but wasn't tasty. And it was just very unprofessional of the staff. The rates differed on the actual day of the stay as supposed to the time of my reservation. and 260 aud wont just do this place any good. I will not return to this place again, and I suggest you spend your money's worth on a better hotel with this rate. No breakfast was included with this rate too. Will not return here for sure.
Only good thing: the train station is connected to the hotel. That is about it.
With this rate, no swimming pool and facilities, this hotel must be insane.

Room Tip: avoid being ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellylovesburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Shellylovesburgers,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking your time to share your experience with the travelling community. It is with regret to hear learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Your comment on the attitude of the front line staff is also well noted; please be assured that we will look into this matter immediately. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues with you to ensure we have a better understanding of your concerns, Kindly provide us with your period of stay and contact email to mktg.klnh@harbour-plaza.com . We will investigate and get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location is perfect. Close to the Cultural Centre, Harbour City and most important in front of the underground.
I would say that this isi the only thing going for it.
The rooms are minuscule, service to say the least poor (the bell boy would not help to carry the luggage to the reception for check-in ...)
Breakfast is below standard in terms of offering and of quality.
Dinner on buffet closes fairly early (9 pm or thereabout), after that you have to eat at the adjacent bar, where again service is well below standard.
In conclusion pricey for the location, the rest better be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaccarile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear vaccarile,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel location; while at the same time, it is with regret to learn about some of your disappointments. Your comments and concerns are well noted, we will investigate on the area and issues mentioned. Meanwhile, we have also reminded our front line staff to ensure that friendly and welcoming service is to be extended anytime. Thank you again for your comments, we sincerely hope to be of service to you again.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#98 of 717 in Hong Kong
2,047 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#90 of 717 in Hong Kong
2,643 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#126 of 717 in Hong Kong
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Property: The Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#108 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing