We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent except for room size”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #141 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent except for room size”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our experience at this hotel was positive overall. The location was fantastic, the rooms modern and clean, staff helpful and friendly. A special thank you to Chris on the front desk who was particularly helpful.
We had a superior room for 2 nights booked by our travel agent which included breakfast in the cost. The breakfast was excellent with good selection of foods. Unfortunately free Wi-Fi was not included in our booking.
The downside to this hotel is the room size. It was difficult to manage 2 large suitcases in the room. The wardrobe was tiny and there was only 1 small drawer either side of the bed so it wasn't possible to unpack the suitcases. Fine for a night or two but for myself I wouldn't stay longer unless travelling solo or with small bags.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaH172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Anita H,

Thank you for your review and positive feedback about your recent stay with us; we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and great convenience of our hotel. Your compliments will surely encourage us to keep improving our service quality! We will share your kind words with Chris whom we are sure will be most appreciative of your compliments. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to The Kowloon Hotel in near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    795
    411
    95
    54
See reviews for
267
493
174
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nowadays most of hotels in Hong Kong provide complimentary Wi-Fi facility, it is very importance to businessman like us who need internet service all the time. The charges is extremely expensive and unreasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Luke2001,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and leaving us you valuable comments here on Tripadvisor. We recommend our guests to reserve rooms via our official website as we offer exclusive packages including free Wifi, amazing rates, complimentary breakfast, free room upgrade and more. Thank you again and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location of this property is fantastic (just behind the Peninsula). The pricing is very reasonable for the locale. The general appearance is good. The staff is friendly. Once you get to the room, however, the facade is broken. The room was the size of a postage stamp (there wasn't even enough room or any furniture for that matter, to put a carry-on bag on. The bathroom was just as tiny and smelled of dried urine. I had them re clean it,but it still had the scent. There was a TV...all 18 inches of it. The bed was as soft as a box spring. You do get two bottles of water and the A/C worked well. I would have rated it lower, over all, but the location is so good and the place is not horrible, in fact the lobby is quite OK and there are plenty of BMWs and Mercedes being valet parked out front.......like I said...a conundrum!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mblam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear mblam7,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and leaving us a review following your stay. Your compliments on our hotel, pricing, service and location are much appreciated as we continue to strive for service excellence. Regarding the cleanliness of the bathroom, please be assured that our housekeeping has been reminded of this issue and will ensure proper cleaning procedures are adhered to at all times. Regarding your comments on the in-room facilities, we will definitely review with management for further improvement in the future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you stay frequently in HK, this Hotel might be a good choice. For business it offers reasonable facilities, although Internet will be charged too high - a modern Hotel offers normally free.
Also good for private if you are allone or a couple.
Location is the best. Next to the harbour, in the center of shopping district, restaurants and entertainment.
Rooms quite small, sometimes don't know where to place my suitcase!! But complete equipped, very clean, recently renovated. Check-In and Check-Out procedure needs a lot of patience, because it seems not to be easy for staff to follow paperwork. In the time of computer I see still to many papers to be filled in, signed and handled in general.
Seldom you see a smile or friendly face at reception - due to workload may be.
However all is acceptable and compensated by great location.
A small minus is their cancellation policy. 48 hours in advance, otherwise they charge you one night and even call this penalty. If you talk with them about that subject they show quite understandings and might cancel the "penalty".
In service I see still room for improvement!

Room Tip: Because seems all rooms are same small size, choose at least big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Manfred H,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon hotel and taking the time to share your experience with like-minded travellers. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, but at the same time regret to learn some of your disappointments. Your comment on the service provided is also well taken. We will definitely enhance our staff training to all the frontline staff to ensure excellent service is extended to the guests at all times.

On the other hand, regarding the in-hotel Wifi service, we recommend our guests to reserve rooms via our official website as we offer exclusive packages including free Wifi, late check-out, free room upgrade and more. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kowloon Hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel's building is located just above the MTR Thim Sha Tsui station, the central place in Kowloon, Hongkong. Even though the cost is not cheap and the detail of the building is shabby (e.g. some inlet plugs of charger are broken.), the staffs are friendly, and the biggest thing is the location of it. You can easily move to anywhere in Hongkong by taking the MTR, or by walk.

Room Tip: Only the location is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear 8Shanghai,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our hotel, service and the hotel location. Your feedback concerning the hotel building is being noted, which is of great value to us. We have also passed your feedback to the management and will take your kind comments into consideration in our future renovation. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location we stayed in this hotel for 7 days. Don't expect any welcome or greeting from the staff its overcrowded at the counter. Beware of online booking it happened we booked king size double bed room but they gave us very small room (Super single bed) once we raise our voice changed to room what we booked. Only good thing is location. If your are vegetarian lot of Indian veg or chinese veg restaurants are near by. Room size is quite small but well maintained..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RashmiHegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear RashmiHegde,

Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment on the attitude of some of the staff is well noted, please be assured that we have reminded out staff to ensure that friendly and welcoming services is to be extended anytime. Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed there this time and was quite impressed with a very friendly and courteous staff in the front desk.
His name was Mr.Dominic and he was very quick in providing us a room and was very efficient
at his job.
The rooms were well kept and clean except that they were quite small.
All the staff in the breakfast area were very rude and impolite.
Truly appreciate the exemplary service rendered to us by Mr.Dominic.
Good job keep it up.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family definitely take the inter connecting rooms.And ask for the road fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mussi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mussi69,

Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and having taken the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with like-minded travelers. We are glad that you gave us a positive comment on our front desk associate Dominic, we are more than happy to share your comments with him, as we are sure he will be most appreciative of your compliments. Meanwhile, we have also reminded our restaurant staff to ensure that friendly and welcoming service is to be extended anytime. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#133 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#274 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Property: The Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#108 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing