We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great spot, nice staff, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Langham, Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great spot, nice staff, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Langham Hong Kong. Its easy to get to from the airport via the free shuttle (it is a short walk from the Marco Polo) or a taxi (which are as cheap as chips in Hong Kong).

The check in staff were incredibly friendly and gave us club access as rennovations were underway.

Our room was a good size and well appointed. As an 1865 member we also got a complimentary bottle of red wine. 1865 is free to join, I'd strongly recommend joining it as it can make a big difference to checking in.

Nearby the Langham is the Silvercord mall, where there's quite a good and easy to find food court. Upstairs is the Pacific coffee company and above that is din tai feng a michellin star rated restaurant chain that does amazing soup dumplings and a host of other amazing dishes.

Shops and the water front are only a few minutes walk too. I'd happily reccomend Langham to anyone, its a great spot

Room Tip: ask for a room thats higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,423
    674
    122
    52
    21
See reviews for
644
1,196
180
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked into this hotel on the recommendation of a friend against our better judgement as we always stay on Hong Kong island at either the hilton conrad or the four seasons. We paid top dollar in advance for a club executive room and when we arrived we were advised that the main bar and spa were shut for renovations which really disappointed us as we were looking forward to a spa treatment Which we always have when staying in a 5 star hotel. In our welcome letter in our room it advises club privileges which stated no children in the club lounge which suited us but when we went in for evening drinks there were 3 or 4 children running amok through the lounge which we said nothing about, however the next morning when arriving for breakfast in flip flops which happened to be $800 Bally slides we were escorted to our table by the hostess then asked for our tea or coffee preference. A few minutes later she returned and said dress code (no flip flops ) and escorted us to the door and told us to go downstairs to the buffet. We were horrified. If this was a rule it should have been stated in the letter and a sign should be at the entrance to the club floor. It was very humiliating in front of other guests. We were on our return to Australia after travelling for a month 1st class in Europe. If this is the way the langham Hong Kong treats it's guests do yourself a favour and look elsewhere. There are plenty of 5 star hotels on Kowloon side. On a brighter note the two guys working the club lounge in the evening, one being Brian and the other whose name escapes me were fantastic and very helpful with restaurant bookings and generally very attentive staff. Also the food in the club lounge was very good in fact some of the best club lounge food we have had even though we never got to enjoy the breakfast. Unfortunately we left feeling extremely let down considering how much we paid in advance and should have been told of renovations prior to our arrival and we won't return to Langham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roralism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamHK, Manager at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Mr. “Roralism”,

I hope you had a delightful trip back to Sydney and thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your feedback in relation to your stay with us.

I am glad to hear some positive lasting memories of your stay with us, however most concerned about the shortfalls you highlighted. From what you have outlined in your comments, it is clear you did not receive the level of service that we strive to achieve as a five star establishment and would ask that you accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We do our upmost to communicate to our guests all relevant information that may impact their stay; and it is clear by your comments that you were not made aware of the enhancement works occurring in the hotel as well as the dress-code policy outlined in The Langham Club Welcome Letter.

I would like to personally discuss this matter further with you in order to gain further clarification on your experience. It is important to us that every guest that resides with us has a positing lasting memory of The Langham, Hong Kong; and I would like to do my upmost to win back your trust in us, as the shortfalls you experience are not at all indicative of the service we strive to provide.

I have noted my contact email address below and I do look forward from hearing from you soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Dean Dimitriou
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
The Langham, Hong Kong
T (852) 2378-9381
dean.dimitriou@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this hotel during the chinese new year season, the staffs are polite and helpful. The room size is actually quite spacious, and bathroom is clean and modem. It's not exactly close to the major shopping centers, as we mixed this one with another Langham which is closer to harbour city, hence transportation cost does add up eventually. For the price we've paid, we were expected a little bit more than a 3 star hotel services.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank solar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We visited HK towards the last week of Ramadan & decided to stay in The Langham due to its location both for shopping & availability for halal foods.

The service at reception during check in and the attentive & caring nature of the concierge is amongst the best a hotel can provide. We were upgraded to a club room which is a nice surprise. Wifi connection is free both in room & public places at the hotel.

The room decor is splendid with careful & practical thoughts for guest's need for plugs, adaptor and other amenities need.

The higlight is the overall service by the hotel service team from check in, concierge and housekeeping is easily one of the best I have experienced so far! Would love to come back to the Langham:)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daizikzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our recent stay at the Langham was almost perfect. The hotel itself is gorgeous, luxurious and spotless. The service was impeccable and really I could not fault it. All the staff were very attentive, extremely polite and very helpful. In fact I was even welcomed with a pink rose. The location is at the more expensive end of Kowloon near the harbour and top end designer shops - if you so desire them. However we did not as we wanted to see the city rather than shop. For this the Langham was in an excellent position as the underground railway was right opposite. Once you have mastered this facility getting around is extremely easy. The trains run every 2 minutes so it doesn't take long to get to any location you want. I noticed that one reviewer said that there wasn't a view and this is true. Our view was of the busy street but getting a view in Hong Kong is probably quite difficult unless you are right on the harbour. As our room (with a massive comfortable bed) was so nice and quiet a view didn't matter. I called the review "almost perfect" as the Palm Court about which I had heard so much was closed for renovations. Never mind, it will give me an excuse to go back there. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants cleanliness, service and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SeraphinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Lagham is an excellent hotel in the centre of Kowloon and close to shopping, transport etc. breakfast excellent, WIFi fast, staff very good and helpful. Hong Kong is a shoppers paradise and The Langham is a great place to stay, cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Langham HK was a great choice for our family of five. A 2 night visit after a week in less luxurious hotels made the Langham Hotel seem like the most amazing place on earth, despite the ongoing renovations. The outdoor rooftop pool with a view let us cool down after the heat of sightseeing all day, and the hotel location is perfect for dining, shopping, transport and entertainment. Staff were helpful and friendly, the buffet breakfast is one to enjoy leisurely, and the transport arranged by the hotel from Guangzhou airport was seamless.Spacious interconnecting rooms for us and our three kids gave us all a vacation; the rooms were spacious, super clean and the slipper quality is excellent. Loved it, wish we'd stayed longer. Shame there was no 'bar' while they are renovating but Aqua across the road was a good alternative.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvdantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,264 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Hong Kong

Property: The Langham, Hong Kong
Address: No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, Hong Kong is an elegant European-style sanctuary located in the heart of Kowloon's busiest commercial and entertainment district - Tsim Sha Tsui surrounded by superb designer boutiques including the World's second largest stores of Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, Gucci and Prada, and the Harbour City, a mega shopping arcade with over 700 shops mere minutes away. With glittering Victoria Harbour as the backdrop and easy walking distance to Tsimshatsui MTR underground station and the renowned Star Ferry attraction, this unique locale provides a perfect blend of history in a haven of luxury. Recently celebrating an expansive US$30 million refurbishment and epitomises a timeless European elegance featuring 498 luxurious guest rooms and suites, equipped with innovative amenities including Blissful Beds, deep bathtubs, nespresso machines and bespoke British minibars. Brand signature Service Stylists and Guest Experience Managers are also available to accommodate any guest's needs, from unpacking luggage to organising sightseeing. Hotel attractions range from the scenic rooftop pool and the Three Michelin-Starred Cantonese restaurant, T'ang Court to having The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood at Palm Court and sipping bourbon creations and gin specialties at the award-winning Artesian Bar. For all-day dining, The Food Gallery showcases interactive International and Asian cooking stations, while guests who crave for Western comforts can indulge in Burgers, Reuben's and Milkshakes at Main St. Deli and steak and seafood at The Bostonian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Destinology so you can book your The Langham, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing