We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for "old charm"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Laupen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Too expensive for "old charm"”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel still seems to live from its old charm. In our opinion, a lot of areas are just outdated and do not offer the standard of a current 5-star hotel. Reception staff of the hotel as well as of the Food Court restaurant is quite arrogant and not really attentive. Pricing policy is tricky as a room at the Langham Club level does not necessarily mean access to the Langham Club. Admittedly, location of the hotel is pretty convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 264Arno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamHK, Manager at The Langham, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear 264Arno,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your feedback in relation to your stay with us.

I would like to personally discuss your feedback in relation to the service you received from our reception and Food Gallery team. The Langham Hong Kong prides itself on exceeding our guests’ expectations through exceptional customer service and I sincerely apologise, as we obviously have not achieved this goal during your stay. I have noted my contact email address below and I do look forward from hearing from you soon.

Regarding your note on our Langham Club Rooms, we do not locate all our Langham Club Rooms on one floor. We strategically locate our Langham Club Rooms on various levels and locations in the hotel to ensure we encompass the best views and the most generous sized rooms. The Langham Club itself is located on the 11th floor and available to those whom have booked a Langham Club Room.

Saddening to hear your dislike of the Grand European Elegance atmosphere we have striven to create. I must however state that our admiration of the historic is not admiration of the old, but of its beauty. Every year we work meticulously on ensuring the European Elegance of is maintained to reflect the timeless beauty it was originally designed to portray; that said, next month we will have completed the renovation of a portion of our Guest Rooms, our Palm Court and our new Artesian Bar. All aimed at our continues efforts to offer an elevated guest experience that exemplifies the quality and style that you have come to expect at The Langham, Hong Kong; whilst embracing and complimenting the hotels timeless beauty.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Dean Dimitriou
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
The Langham, Hong Kong
8 Peking Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong
T (852) 2378-9381
dean.dimitriou@langhamhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,590
    710
    131
    55
    24
See reviews for
697
1,274
189
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

fantastic location if you don't know HK - just near the ferry. great service and great breakfast. rooms are v small and have no view - but we were happy to compromise on this for the location. Also one of the few places that had an outside pool to relax after shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I frequently stay at Langham TST.
The service, atmosphere, comfort is terrific.
Langham people remember customers and go out of their way to ensure a great stay.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hong Kong.
They are one of my favourites.
Food good, drink good, comfort good, location good, staff good, service good.........Langham good.
Even Great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. The rooms and service were outstanding from the car service at the airport to check in (which had been expedited by the car service team) to the service at the cafe for breakfast. The room was bright, clean and had plenty of outlets (they even provide a converter in the room).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurukundi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Fabulous service and breakfast menu! The location is convenient to the subway, waterfront, shopping and the ferries to Central and other areas. Rooms are nicely appointed and beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VmarkP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Langham hotel not only in a good location, services and the room decoration also the best. Very impressed , we are highly recommend this hotel to everyone goes to Hong Kong for business or pleasure, you will find this hotel make you feel relax and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amykama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

this is a nice centrally located hotel in kowloon. you will be surrounding with all the luxury shops. the room is very nice and elegant.

it is a total satisfaction for me to stay in this hotel. the suite that we stayed is really beautiful and spacious for hongkong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlessuryanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,532 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Hong Kong

Property: The Langham, Hong Kong
Address: No.8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, Hong Kong is an elegant European-style sanctuary located in the heart of Kowloon's busiest commercial and entertainment district - Tsim Sha Tsui surrounded by superb designer boutiques including the World's second largest stores of Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, Gucci and Prada, and the Harbour City, a mega shopping arcade with over 700 shops mere minutes away. With glittering Victoria Harbour as the backdrop and easy walking distance to Tsimshatsui MTR underground station and the renowned Star Ferry attraction, this unique locale provides a perfect blend of history in a haven of luxury. Recently celebrating an expansive US$30 million refurbishment and epitomises a timeless European elegance featuring 498 luxurious guest rooms and suites, equipped with innovative amenities including Blissful Beds, deep bathtubs, nespresso machines and bespoke British minibars. Brand signature Service Stylists and Guest Experience Managers are also available to accommodate any guest's needs, from unpacking luggage to organising sightseeing. Hotel attractions range from the scenic rooftop pool and the Three Michelin-Starred Cantonese restaurant, T'ang Court to having The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood at Palm Court and sipping bourbon creations and gin specialties at the award-winning Artesian Bar. For all-day dining, The Food Gallery showcases interactive International and Asian cooking stations, while guests who crave for Western comforts can indulge in Burgers, Reuben's and Milkshakes at Main St. Deli and steak and seafood at The Bostonian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing