We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow check in service and poor service at lobby lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This is a hotel with wonderful view but extremely slow check in process. My daughter and I decided to sit down at the lobby lounge for a cocktail after a hot summer day shopping on July 10. The Mojito we ordered were warm and tasted like water. When we ordered a second one (although we should have insisted on replacement and we didn't), the second Mojito came back with slightly more rum but again, warm. After a 33 degree celsius day the last thing we wanted was two warm cocktails. Very disappointing and there was absolutely no service in the lobby lounge. The bar manager and the waitresses were more interested in tallking amongst themselves than serving clients. Please avoid the lobby lounge if you are visiting the Intercon Hotel in Hong Kong, even if you are member of the Intercon's Ambassador program.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,327 - 2,333 of 4,065 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 4 years.

The location is great, the rooms are well appointed, the view is unbelievable, but most important the service is impeccable.
This Hotel should serve as a guideline of how service should be.
From the moment you arrive to the moment you check out you will receive the same treatment from all the staff.

The room we stayed was big, very clean, faced the pool, had a small closet, a very nice bathroom and all the other amenities.

The sunday brunch is MUST. One of the best in HK.
For Nobu's fans they have one in the Hotel with an amazing view of the Harbour.

The hotel is well located within walk distance to metro (MTR),which, by the way is sparkling clean, safe and efficient. Also there are many shops and restaurants close to the hotel.
Taxi is affordable compared to US and Europe.

The swimming pool has (again) an amazing view! I believe it is considered one of the best of HK.
The spa was very nice, they give you a delicious ginger tea prior your treatment and my massage was amazing. I would ask for the Philippine masseuse, she was the best.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wonderfulworld2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

One of the main reason we chose Intercontinental was because of the excellent harbour view that they offered. We weren't disappointed. You'll get to wake up every morning staring at The Peak (when the weather is clear) and go to sleep at night staring at the array of building lightings.

Every now & then, you'll see the iconic Star Ferry crossing the sea to the HK island, chinese junk boats & even the Star Cruise ship sailing by...

Not forgetting the spa pool facing HK island. Thou its kinda tiny...its still abt the view...

Great service as they provide various options of pillows and our pillows were promptly replaced with the ones of our choice! Also liked the quality bedroom slippers provided, soft & comfy.

Room Tip: Request for harbourview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yummydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We flighted from US to Hong Kong to start our trip in Asia. We stayed at Intercontinental Hong Kong for 3 nights. This was a perfect hotel on the world with all luxury facilities from room, lobby, restaurant and swimming pool. We had a great start in this hotel so all our trip in Asia was excellent as well. We would like to recommend this hotel to every one to stop in Hong Kong like us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salmonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

A zone of tranquility and good service from the reception and personal welcome to the calm oasis of the pool and breakfast by the pool!
Personalised welcome, late at night, and showing of room and explanation of hotel's services was impeccable and much needed; resulting in personal attention for room service too. Even for Hong Kong, where everything is so efficient, the luggage and Bell Hop service excelled (we hardly noticed our luggage from arrival to room and on departure into the taxi. Amazing... and the Bell Hops knew our names!
One of the best Tsim Sha Tsui hotels with one of the best water front locations.
Stay here and experience a pool-side breakfast early before the rush of the day!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sogoesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had only a few days in Hong Kong and we choose the Inter Continental for its Harbor views. Not only views were great so as the service, the accommodations and the restaurants on the hotel territory. There is a construction going on on the side that doesn't look so appealing, but our sleep quality was great. The hotel is located steps away from the Star Ferry, which is very convenient when you stay on the Kowloon island. There are plenty of shops and boutiques right across. And there is always a taxi if you need to go somewhere further. We took a cab to the Sea aquarium. It didn't take long and wasn't too expensive. The airport pick up they offer is too much, so we took a cab both ways. Over all we had a pleasant stay, but Harbor view is the key there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A descent hotel in a perfect location. Pool and hot tubs overlooking the harbour, specious rooms, nice restaurant. But the most important is the VIEW. Ask for the rooms on upper floors and you will be waking up seeing the sunset over Bank of China, and have a best view of evening lights show. Worth paying, at least once.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliJuli_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 723 in Hong Kong
6,024 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,797 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#11 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,606 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £197 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing