We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful, a perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #10 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
greater los angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always wonderful, a perfect stay!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Intercontinental in Hong Kong is a favorite of mine for many reasons. Starting with the location -- on the water in Kowloon, the view even from the lobby is amazing, especially once the evening light show of the skyline starts at 8pm. The rooms are luxurious and even the smaller ones are well laid out and include many bonus features, such as ipod chargers. The hotel rooms are also very quiet, although I did hear that during my recent stay the daytime construction from the driveway was very noisy during the day for rooms that faced that side. The rooms are very sound proof to each other. If you can spring for the harbor view room, it's well worth the price. The view of the harbor at all times of day and activity on the water is quite a show.

The food options are amazing, and it's always hard for me to pull myself away to eat at another restaurant. The breakfast buffet, is by far one of the largest I've ever seen and has every type of option you could ever want...both western and eastern. The food is always fresh, and presented perfectly, and consistently good. Nobu of course is world famous and I've found their food and service to be on par with other Nobu locations. The steak house is extraordinary and has a few unique tricks of the trade -- the wait staff will offer you a selection of steak knife options for your meal or an assortment of about 16 gourmet mustards to side with your steak. I didn't love their new light up menus but I'll excuse them for that and I'm sure many people who have trouble reading in low light settings might love this gimmick.

The staff is among the best and I can't speak highly enough about their courtesy, willingness to help, professionalism. and this is at every staff level.

The spa is delightful and a great value for the level of service. The gym is small but adequate and updated with great media units on most machines. The pool area is very nice with a bar area and an infinity spa pool with three different temperatures of water.

I have no complaints here. The little shopping arcade is a lacking, but with all the shopping in Hong Kong, it would be hard to place that as a negative against the hotel. I have stayed here about 8 times and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,898
    736
    134
    43
    36
See reviews for
722
1,449
274
779
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
everywhere
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a great hotel in terms of location and value. Other benefits include amazing views of the bay (provided at an additional cost), an accommodating staff and fantastic restaurants.

My only issues were: 1) There was a major construction project in front of the hotel during our stay and 2) There was a faint soy sauce aroma in the lobby during the 4 days that we were there. If it weren't for the two issues I just listed, I would have given the InterContinental an excellent rating. Hopefully when we go back the construction project will be over and the strange aroma will be gone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers_code
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel gives you an incredible view of the harbour. It's poistion on the Kowlonn side is perfect with easy walking to Nathan Road, Harbour City and heaps more. The service is first rate and you are made to feel very welcome. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC_MLB_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Third trip to this property in the last 2 years. Great service and a view to die for. Top floor room with harbour view is recommended. Food in the hotel are quite expensive but is very nice and this should be expected. Many other restaurant can be found around this hotel and taxi fare is so cheap in HK, so eating outside is an easy option.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Have been to Hong Kong over the last 24 years or so on 4 or 5 occasions but this was the first time with our children aged 10 to 15. Chose Kowloon side as it is in my view the more authentic Hong Kong with bright streets and neon lights, street vendors and food sellers. First impressions weren't great as the adjoining building was being refurbished / reconstructed. Staff when we checked in were charming and as our three night stay progressed they just got better and better from reception, concierge, door staff, waiters, pool staff etc - nothing was too much. Thanks to each staff member's portable comms it never ceased to amaze us how wherever we were in the hotel we received a personal greeting by the staff. We had a harbour view interconnecting room and the view was just stunning. We ate at the steak house (great culinary theatre) and the Chinese restaurant and the food at both was a match for any first class stand alone restaurant. Gym was well equipped with modern machines and charming staff. Kids loved the pools on roof top and pool side staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble - you get the picture! Lobby lounge has floor to ceiling glass overlooking the harbour with spectacular views especially at night. and the star ferry to Central is just under 5 minutes walk. Spectacular as the service was, it wasn't pretentious or over the top, it was just at the right level leaving one with a feeling that those working at the hotel cared about the hotel and it's reputation. My wife is claustrophobic and cannot go in lifts. Each time she need to go to or leave the room we had to call down for a security member of staff to take her down the fire escape stairs. Each time they were there within 2 minutes maximum and the process was never any trouble. I would not hesitate to recommend it for location, staff and quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Been many times but this trip spoilt by noise from building works round the swimming pool. As it was a business trip for my husband I was looking forward to spending time round the pool but it was impossible due to the noise....real shame!
Rooms also getting a bit tired

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This is a hotel with wonderful view but extremely slow check in process. My daughter and I decided to sit down at the lobby lounge for a cocktail after a hot summer day shopping on July 10. The Mojito we ordered were warm and tasted like water. When we ordered a second one (although we should have insisted on replacement and we didn't), the second Mojito came back with slightly more rum but again, warm. After a 33 degree celsius day the last thing we wanted was two warm cocktails. Very disappointing and there was absolutely no service in the lobby lounge. The bar manager and the waitresses were more interested in tallking amongst themselves than serving clients. Please avoid the lobby lounge if you are visiting the Intercon Hotel in Hong Kong, even if you are member of the Intercon's Ambassador program.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,623 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,478 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing