We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #10 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
new Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Luxury in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in HK. We had the pleasure of being able to experience 5 nights at the ICHK. We stayed in a superior harbour view room with club privileges. It is hard to know where to start when writing a review for such a wonderful place.
Our room 524 directly overlooked beautiful HK harbour and was the best place we could have wished for to watch the fireworks on China Day. Victoria harbour is very busy and it was great to watch the everchanging landscape move past our window.
The Club: Fabulous service all the staff got to know you by name / Great breakfast, afternoon tea and free flowing cocktails in the evening. We also arrived from New Zealand at 7:30am and were shown straight to our room and offered breakfast, It was wonderful not having to wait till 2pm normal check in time. Thank you. Another added extra was free wifi which was a bonus.
Location: Walking distance to Star Ferry and right next door to MRT.
If we were ever to return to HK this would bethe hotel of choice for me but please upgrad to a harbour view room it is worth every cent!!!

Room Tip: Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tig.kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,995
    756
    135
    46
    37
See reviews for
758
1,488
288
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed one night recently with my family, and we were very well looked after. A wonderful room (sadly without a view). The staff were welcoming and helpful throughout. The pool area is very relaxing, with fantastic pool-side service and the 'spa pools' have a superb view over the harbour. Whiling the evening in the lobby lounge affords one of the most beautiful views of any hotel, albeit rather pricey! Lunch at Yan Toh Heen was superb with excellent service and our 3 year old daughter was particularly well looked after by the gracious staff. Will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drw1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is simply the best hotel in Hong Kong! The location can't be better than this and the views from the lobby/pool area can't be compared to anything else, so that it is worth the high rates. The room and especially the bathroom are huge and very comfortable. This hotel truly deserves 6 stars. I will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Me and My Family (5 people), stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at late August, the month when Hong Kong weather is at its hottest. We booked 2 rooms, Superior room facing the city, and Superior room facing the harbor. Before making those booking through agoda.com, i registered for the ambassador membership which cost me $200. I considered it as investment as i read review that the Intercontinental Ambassador Loyalty program is among the most rewarding hotel program. Thanks to the membership, i got complimentary upgrade from superior room to junior suite, and 4 PM late check-out. and here comes the review:

LOCATION
Without any single doubt, Intercontinental has the best view of Hong Kong Skyline, their huge window in every room facing harbor view let you admire Hong Kong skyline in day and night. It is located right at the favorite tourist spot: Avenue of Stars (i jog here every morning i was there!). There is MTR exit right in front the hotel. There is small SOGO dept store next to the hotel. But it's a bit walk (about 10min) to Harbour City mall and restaurants at Nathan Road. Can't really say if it has the best location compare to YMCA, hullet house or Peninsula though.

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT
their receptionist desk was rather small, but there wasn't any queue when i came in the afternoon and check-in was fast. The receptionist lady greeted me with smile and within minutes, she informed me that my room has been prepared and all my special request i have made through email has been addressed, in a very good English. Check out was nearly instant

THE ROOM
THanks to the ambassador program, my superior room booking got upgraded by two level into Junior Suite. This Suite is overlooking the harbour and the city (180 degree view). It is spotlessly clean and everything looks in place on its modern luxurious decor and furnitures. The suite has rather small king size bed (but maybe larger than standard queen sized bed), a living room with couches and table, working table with lamp, 48" LCD TV, walk-in closet, Jacuzzi bathtub, separate toilet and shower room. Toiletries are abundant and they are L'occitane. There is single button to call a butler and they were very responsive. The bed and pillow was very comfy. Room temperature are very easy to adjust. Overall, i think the room is superb.

BREAKFAST / LUNCH / DINNER
i didn't had any. I heard they are one of the best at Hong Kong, but its a bit too pricey for my preference. And i was in my adventurous mood to go hunt for authentic Hong Kong breakfast stall in the morning.

FACILITIES AND ACTIVITIES
The hotel has very complete equipment at the GYM, towels and unlimited bottled drinks are provided. The pool was nice. What i like about expensive hotel is.. the pool isn't gonna get too crowded for me to really swim back and forth. The Jacuzzi Infinity Pool was fantastic! it is facing harbor view, it has 3 separated section: Hot Water, Warm Water and Cold Water. The Hotel also provides morning activities such as Yoga and Taichi. I attended the Taichi class which started at 7 in the morning at the pool area. And the Taichi master teaches basic Taichi movement. Very refreshing

THE STAFF
they were all nice and they give you sincere service with smile. They always remember me by name.

OVERALL
Intercontinental is one of the fabulous hotel at Hong Kong with best view and service. It's rather expensive but i really got what i paid for. I also don't regret to pay $200 for Ambassador Loyalty program, it's nice investment.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Harbor View Room (best in Hong Kong!). Totally worth it! the $200 Ambassador Loyalty p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandycolondam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Staying on the Club Floor in this beautiful hotel. Rooms with Harbour view definitely worth the extra money. I was impressed from the moment my taxi drew up and there was someone ready to collect my bags, which were delivered to my room prior to my arrival. Pleasant welcome drink in the Club. Service you cannot fault - very rare. Its expensive, but I have always found you get what you have paid for in life.

Room Tip: The Club floor concierge service is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This place has some of the most beautiful views in the world! The wonderful city skyline, evening laser show and boats traveling up and down the river make this place one of the most romantic hotels in the world.

The dinner buffet is outrageous.... I've never seen anything like it! I couldn't believe the huge selection of seafood including whole lobster tails, meats and an unbelievable selection of almost anything you could imagine. The price is also outrageous, so be prepared to pay big bucks!

The rooms are very small with no table and very little storage area for baggage. The bathroom has beautiful colored marble throughout and sunken bathtub and a separate shower. The shower is extremely small and believe it or not, there is no outlet in the bathroom. If you want to blow dry your hair, you have to do it in the bedroom area. This could be an issue if someone is sleeping or you don't want everyone to watch you get ready for an evening out.

You pay a huge price for everything, including coffee, one piece of fruit or anything you desire. I was disappointed to find out after paying such a enormous price for the room that they don't even include internet access.

The hotel has it pros and cons. If you can come enjoy an evening drink in the bar and maybe try the buffet without absorbing the expense of the room, you can pretty much take in the best the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights in early September. It is a beautiful hotel, has great rooms (be sure to book a harbor view room), and the absolute best view of Hong Kong. Sit in your room and watch the nighty light show. Very good service. Breakfast was VERY expensive, but the buffet was unbelievable. It is a short walk to the Star Ferry and some of the best shopping in the world. If you can't stay here, at least go for a drink at night and enjoy the most incredible view of this amazing, vibrant city. This hotel was the perfect end to a vey busy three week trip through China and Tibet.

Room Tip: Book a Harbor View Room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,826 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing