We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, But The Rooms Are Small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, But The Rooms Are Small”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

It's a great hotel with awesome service an friendly housekeepers, but disappointingly the room I stayed in was quite small. They have a great pool and delis pus food. Definitely recommend to all travelers!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,902
    738
    134
    44
    36
See reviews for
723
1,452
274
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed only one night in December. The spectacular view over the HongKong Harbour was memorable. The rooms were good, comfortable and luxary. Our business dinner in the Japanese restaurent was not that successful. It was too noisy with both the waiters and customers shouting and talking loudly. Food was not that delicious as recommended by the waiter. Breakfast buffet had a big choice. However the service in this hotel need to be improved. All the staff looks tired and just working for the sake of work! From the reception to the restaurent it was the same. Eventhough I was a priority club member
I had to pay for the Internet. So better to check it before reservation.
Further, it's located in Kowlon the another island away from main city center. It may take 30 minutes by taxi to go to city center depending on traffic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel was no doubt glamorous in the 1960s and 1970s, but now is dated and tired with mediocre service. If you are looking at a five star Hong Kong hotel experience, there are plenty of newer properties (Four Seasons, Ritz, Mandarin,not to mention the legendayr Peninsula) that this isn't close to being in the same league with. If you are a business traveler used to domestic Ameican Sheratons,Hilton's and Hyatts, then this is in that league. Service here was a real disappointment, nobody greeted us upon arrival, and we waiting 10 minutes for service at the Ambassador desk. When we were eventually given a room, our Ambssador (and Priority Club Platinum) "upgraded" room looked over a huge dirt pit. After close to two hours of complaining, we were eventually moved to a Harbour View room. Although the room was small and the furninshings dated, the view was spectacular. If service had been friendlier and helpful, the view from this room would have made up for an otherwise disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend a guaranteed confirmed Harbour View room. Some of the rooms on the back side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crsWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hong Kong, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear crsWashington_DC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the poor customer service you received from our staff. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and trust that we will address the issue and assure you that proper measures will be taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

If it's convenient for you to stay on the Kowloon side, this hotel will not disappoint. Our room (guaranteed upgrade for Ambassador Club Members) had one full wall of windows looking onto Victoria Harbor, where one can be entertained for hours watching the junks and other harbor activity. Ladies will love the designer toiletry amenities. The Hong Kong decorations and lights are nothing short of spectacular from November through CNY!

The Star Ferry boards nearby and it's a short walk to Nathan Rd shopping, with the route mostly under subway cover. There is a FANTASTIC tailor in the mall attached to the hotel-he makes trips all over the world annually, bringing your measurements and the newest fabrics with him. (P. Chan, Royal Regency Tailor.)

I highly recommend joining the ICH Ambassador Program and you'll get your money's worth on your first stay here. After the guaranteed room upgrade, the Club Floor is AMAZING! Gracious staff, free internet and the same panoramic view for breakfast,( American style and Dim Sum) high tea (scones and clotted cream, French pastries,) and for cocktail hour-nice snacks and the best labels are poured.All of the restaurants are fantastic, but you'll need a reservation far in advance for Spoon or Kobe. We have also stayed at the Hong Kong Intercon during warmer months and enjoyed the beatiful pool area very much.

The world's best Concierges are here and are AT YOUR SERVICE! Because I purchased a large repro Tang Horse on the last day of my trip, :)) they handled ALL the packing and shipping for me with the merchant. If you can't stay here, come for the Sunday Brunch or to enjoy the view in the lobby cocktail area. We've stayed elsewhere, but this hotel has earned our loyalty.

Room Tip: The Ambassador Club Floor is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadeaugratuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Sunday brunch was worth to taste, perfect view of Victoria's Bay. After I checked in, the receptionist took me to the elevator in person. Good manner and caring. During my stay, I sick in the midnight, the hotel manager give me several options, such as the nearest public hospital, private hospital or ask private doctor to my room. Finally he hired taxi for me and send me to the private hospital. Satisfy with their service.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan yan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My husband and I just checked into the Intercontinental Hong Kong. We are on a two week 'China' vacation and spent the first part in Sanya (Ritz Carlton - and I HIGHLY recommend it). We ordered a very nice car service, arrived at the hotel with NO GREETING and went to Ambassador level check-in (their highest frequent traveller guest level) and waited.....and waited for someone to check us in. Our room situation was nothing short of ridiculous and reminded me of buying a used car....we fought for an upgrade (we were supposed to have one because of our status) and were upgraded to a room overlooking a dirt pit. We FINALLY got a hold of the manager and he switched us to a small room but t does overlook the Harbour. All the drama - which is not how we have ever been treated at any ICH. The room is OLD and TIRED. It is in need of renovation and the carpet is just plain old and dirty. Not sure why people think this is such a great location - you have to walk underneath the highway to get to the other side (where all the shopping is). All in all - I expected Hong Kong hotels to have higher standards and this one does not. For the first hour we were here I tried to switch to the Peninsula Hotel or Mandarin Oriental - and they were completely sold out. There is something to be said for that - the Intercontinental has a lot of rooms available......

Room Tip: If you can get any room that actually FACES the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisawdc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engelburg, Schweiz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed in late September 2012 in Hongkong. Because I like to experience different Hotels and I couldn't agree on the Hotel, I decided to stay in three different Hotels in Hongkong. Therefore, I stayed at the Intercontinental Hongkong, the Peninsula Hotel Hongkong and the Four Seasons Hotel Hongkong.

The Intercontinental ist a very modern Hotel and perfectly located at the Waterfront overlooking the Skyline of Hongkong. It is not very amazing from the outside, but very nice in the inside. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The Breakfast Restaurant was a little bit to crowdy, but food was very good. Also the Restaurants were good.

Especially to mention is the Pool Area. The Intercontinental offers a great Pool Area with a Jacuzzi with stunning views of the Harbour and the City Skyline.

To sum up, there is nothing to complain. The Hotel deserves five Stars and is good value. if you are looking for a well managed Hotel in Hongkong with a great view from the Pool for a reasonable price, then book the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sciurus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,630 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,480 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing