We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was our first visit to this Intercontinental Hotel. The reception service was exceptional!
Our room harbor view was phenomenal ! The butler service was right on the money. The dining area for the breakfast buffet was great, too. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and its exceptional staff. They were so attentive to the guests and pet all the lounge chairs ready for the next guest .
They actually changed the lounge covers with each guest. The pool gets full sun all day! They have plenty of umbrellas should you want shade. I can't say enough about what a wonderful stay we had. The Intercontinental Hotel definitely Hong Kong should share their high standards with their other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,779
    712
    127
    43
    34
See reviews for
699
1,384
264
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

When my husband booked the hotel, I wasn't sure if we'd picked the best choice for our stay. I was very pleasantly surprised. It is a beautiful hotel and a perfect location to enjoy Hong Kong. We were given a lovely room looking over the harbor. The hotel sits right on the waterfront of Kowloon and the view is amazing. It is an easy walk to the Star ferry and that was such a fun and quick way to get across the harbor. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have seen and we also had a casual dinner and enjoyed a great view of the evening light show. I would absolutely pick this Hotel for a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
903 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 720 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We feel that the Intercon’s (originally The Regent’s) harbour view rooms, especially those on the lower floors, have the best harbor views in all of Hong Kong because, backed by tall mountains, Victoria has a wider array of skyscrapers and advertising walls of light than Kowloon. The harborscape resembles my memory of the view from the signals deck of a seaplane tender in the early 1960s when U.S. Navy ships habitually anchored right in the middle of the harbor and Mary Soo’s lady workers painted them gray in exchange for unwanted garbage as payment. Even during a three-day period of torrential rains in June 2013, from our room 414, the view of Hong Kong island, the silently moving harbor traffic, and strollers on the Walk of Stars, was spectacularly romantic. If the Intercon’s panorama appeared in a film, surely it would be accompanied by majestic sweeping music in the background. Although they don’t reach down to the floor, the windows are broad, stretching for 12 feet in the middle and to about six feet on each side. For an unimpaired view, the glass is not separated by a seam in the middle, as at the Shangri-la. The Intercon has all of the luxury and convenience of a five star hotel with well-trained and professional staff. It would be a perfect location if only there were a tunnel from the Sogo department next door to the Intercon so guests would not have to brave the rain (although the concierge generously hands out umbrellas to guests). The room was large, clean, and always quiet with no neighbor noise. The harbour view rooms are comparatively expensive, but they are the ingredient that makes the Intercon one-of-a-kind. We would rate our stay at the Intercontinental Hong Kong as excellent, and probably even magic.

Room Tip: If we could not stay in a harbour view room, we would not stay at the Intercontinental Hong kong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here for about a week on business. upgraded to harbor view room, and the view was spectacular. The room itself is beginning to show its age, but still well maintained. Breakfast was impressive. One of the best anywhere. Presentation was great with nice variety. BUT this place is expensive, and i will only stay here when i am not on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank towkaylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveling the world
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Probably the best location in Kowloon. Accommodating staff! By far the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen. The rooms are good size with huge bathrooms and amazing views overlooking the river and perfect to watch the nightly light show. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed 1 night here on our way to Vietnam in a harbor view room, which is pricey, but worth it. Our room was not huge but was well sized and very luxurious with an amazing view of Hong Kong Harbor. The bathroom was well sized and all marble with a separate water closet, which I love, and a large sunken tub. They had robes and slippers and a bowl of fruit. and about every toiletry you could need including combs and tooth brushes and toothpaste, which was great since our baggage was checked through to Vietnam. The staff was wonderful and very attentive. We ate in the lobby restaurant which was very good with amazing views but the prices were very high and ridiculous actually, we paid $125 US D for a cheeseburger, beer, chicken sandwich and some apps. BUt I think prices in Hong Kong are generally high. The hotel is right near some piers where we took a harbor cruise and was also right beside several museums and lots of shopping. It was also right beside Avenue of the Stars, which I recommend. It was a wonderful hotel, and probably had one of the best views I have ever seen, right on the water and of the amazing and impressive Hong Kong skyline. I definitely recommend going on a harbor cruise since they are affordable at about $30 per person for a 1.5-2 hour cruise and usually include a drink or two, probably the best bargain in Hong Kong!

Room Tip: Get a harbor view, pricey but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

It may have just been my minimal experience in staying at five star hotels, but nevertheless staying with Intercontinental HK was just memorable, pristine and simply excellent. We we're upgraded to the Harbour View room which was just lovely!
1. Accommodation
The room had tones of mustard yellow beautifully contrasted with shades of grey and brown. The beds were very comfortable. Amenities and room were very convenient and functional- as in, whatever you wanted to reach for in the room, it was there- adapters in the drawer, ready iPhone charger next to the TV, user-friendly telephones, and the like. Very clean bathroom, and lots of mirrors which made it look very spacious. All in all, the room was simple, clean, stylish and user-friendly.

2. Food -room service and lobby lounge.
We ordered room service breakfast, lunch and late dessert! I love the varietal choices they had for breakfast. We ordered the healthy bread basket- so warm and hearty! The egg white omelette and tomatoes were lovely and fresh. Buttermilk pancakes were amazing, served delicately with delicious accompaniments. I ordered the club sandwich for lunch but since I don't eat pork products, the filling was quite plain. My boyfriend also surprised me with two birthday desserts which were just decadent. As for the lobby lounge, we ordered Biotta mixed juice which we thought they could have had more fresh made creations than bottled juice. My mango juice was fresh though which was nice. My boyfriend ordered an espresso which was served in a normal espresso cup but 2 jugs of milk which we thought was abit excessive. Nevertheless, the atmosphere was amazing and views were indeed panoramic despite the rainy afternoon.

One thing I could never forget is the surprise birthday card and a box of fiiiiine chcoclates they put in during turndown service! That was such a beautiful gesture!

Thank you again Intercontinental Hong Kong for being a large part of our little holiday in Hong Kong!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Masha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,353 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,351 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing