We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view - wanted to stay longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just checked out of this hotel after a two night stay. On a trip to Vietnam and had a stop over in Hong Kong. Booked this hotel especially for the outside pool and it totally exceeded our expectations - mainly due to the fantastic view and the staff. The location of this hotel is excellent as you are just 10 mins away from the Ferry but have the best view ever!

When we arrived the reception desk was busy and someone came over instantly and welcomed us and arranged for the receptionist Deborah to check us in. She was very friendly and professional and informed us that if we joined the club membership that day we would get free internet connection...and a welcome drink!

Our room 740 was stunning and had a picture postcard view. We never wanted to close the curtains. The room was very well equipped with a huge shower and bath and docking station.

The bed was very firm, pillows not so great, but we were able to order from the pillow menu.

The outside swimming pool was really refreshing and a quick dip was perfect after our long flight. The surrounding pool area was lovely, and outside jacuzzi had a great view over the harbour.

Was worried having read some recent reviews about this hotel about the pool having been closed for cleaning so I emailed in advance and received a speedy response from Erwin reassuring me the pool was open. He also confirmed that a cab from Kawloon train station would cost us approx $60 hk dollars. Good to know in advance.

Will definitely stay in this hotel again and hope to have room 740 again. Thanks to all the staff at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank babyjamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,695 - 1,701 of 4,201 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

An experience of a lifetime..Beautiful interiors with excellent service.Food was very delicious especially the desserts.The rooms are spacious and well maintained.The view otside our room was mind blowing,we would sit there for hours.
We would recommend this hotel to new couples, a peaceful environment.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the harbour is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiru2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel twice in last one year & find it extremely good !! Has wonderful Harbour view , is in the city center & has good rooms what else does one need to enjoy HongKong ! Love my stay there ! Even like the food there !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BANI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

recently spent 2 nights at this property. I was on a very special trip, to celebrate my 25th wedding anniversary with my wife. Although I have rated this hotel/experience 4*, it is really 4.5-4.75 under more normal circumstances that would achieve that higher mark. We were upgraded to a view room overlooking the harbor which did provide for some amazing views when the weather permitted. A slight downgrade here because there is significant construction next door which is not asthetically appealing not to mention the associated noise factor which are both not the hotel's fault but does affect the overall experience. Also the swim pool was closed for annual cleaning, another slight downgrade. Now the positives: The hotel is located close to the Metro stop so you can take public transportation which is very good but you will do quite a lot of long hikes to get into the station and to your particular platform or when connecting with other subway lines. The hotel does have some award winning restaurants but I had made other arrangements so cannot comment on them. The lobby is very beautiful and bustling with activity. The doorman always there to greet you and open the door. Concierge always helpful with your needs and housekeeping was very good and efficient. Although I can say that I was very pleased with all the staff encounters, I would like to personally point out a special person who was not only very kind and professional, but took it upon herself to check on my departing flight details and noticed that it was a late departure. She was so kind to offer us a very late check out time of 6pm. This was Ida Wong, the manager of Club InterContinental. We really appreciated what she did and hope the Hotel GM commends her for us. If you wish to get pampered and enjoy a unique hotel stay, then this is a hotel for you.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room opposite of the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-JL.a.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Intercontinental Hong Kong and would definitely recommend this experience. We had a lovely twin room facing the harbour and could have easily just stayed in the room watching the world go by. The service was impeccable, from the moment we entered thru our departure. In fact, we took the hotel car to the airport and there was a hotel representative at the airport to help us check in. The room was beautifully maintained and very efficient. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmstvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This must have been a nice hotel in the 1970's but is well past its prime at this point.

There is a huge construction site next door and you hear drilling done all day.

The staff has an attitude problem. Novody willing to help with the bags when entering the property and Ambassador desk too busy with chatting fellow employee to take care of RA that tries to check in.

As it is still "winter" weather in Hong Kong, the room temperature is set way too hot and it takes forever for the room to cool down.

The only thing going for this hotel is the view.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICHongKong, Manager at InterContinental Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay. We have shared your comments with our management team, as we execute our ongoing maintenance programmes and plan for future hotel enhancements. We are working closely with New World Development to try to minimize any disturbance to our guests while our neighbors redevelop the New World Centre near our hotel. Meanwhile we sincerely apologise for the service shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We will continue to reinforce our high service standards and service culture in our ongoing staff training. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better when you are next back in Hong Kong. As such, please feel free to contact us at hongkong@ihg.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is unparalleled in two aspects, the awesome service and breathtaking views.
I stayed with my family at this luxurious Intercontinental for 3 days and we left wanting for more.
We had an amazing checkin at the club lounge over a cup of coffee , were escorted to interconnecting rooms . The staff was most informative about city at the concierge and Bellman very efficient with hiring of cabs.

All in all a great stay and as my wife said , if you have resources and time you would never want to leave the Intercontinetal Hong kong

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarunJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,224 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,700 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £175 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing