We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home to an old friend......Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Like coming home to an old friend......Love this hotel!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It has been some time since i visited the Intercontinental. There is a lot going on, now that the adjoining Mall and Hotel has been torn down....leaving the INtercontinental alone waiting for her new neighbor to be built.

The hotel is as great as ever. My greeting in the lobby, and check in service were efficient, friendly, and FAST!

I was escorted to my room at the end of the Hall with a wonderful view of the Harbor, the pool, and the construction next door.

The Club Lounge on the 2nd floor has to be one of the finest in the world! An extensive escape over the lobby offers sweeping views of the Harbor. Food offerings for breakfast and dinner are amazing! There is really TOO MUCH here! The staff is friendly, and wonderful.

OK, the rooms and such might be in need of a bit of updating (And an extensive renovation is rumored to be coming); but the property is PERFECTLY maintained. It is a contemporary classic that is full of wonderful furnishings that has stood the test of time. I would challenge anyone to find a worn carpet, scratched wall, or imperfect furnishing anywhere. This grand 'lady' is well taken care of!

Honestly, i almost hated hearing that they are planning a large renovation (i assume to coincide with the new neighbor). I think the Intercontinental is perfect just the way it is! Again, she is a classic.

Service is EXTRAORDINARY. Many of the staff here have spent a lifetime here. I met a couple people that were originally Regent employees when i first stayed at the property more than 20 years ago. Loyalty speaks volumes, and the staff here is all 5 star!

If there was any complaint, it was the lobby entertainment this past Tuesday evening. The 'songstress' slaughtered the classics, and seemed to think 'louder is better' as she forced the notes out. She also played to her 'one table of fans' as though the entire room was there to adore her. We were not. :) My table and those around me were all talking about her. She is NOT Intercontinental material....in my humble opinion.

Cant wait to come back. I want to stay a couple more times before they renovate! Keep the original 'character' of the hotel please, this lady is PERFECT just the was she is! Timeless.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICHongKong, Manager at InterContinental Hong Kong, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your loyal patronage over the years and thank you for sharing your glowing comments on our hotel, service and most importantly, our hard-working and dedicated employees. We also appreciate your valuable feedback and have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,905
    738
    134
    44
    36
See reviews for
723
1,453
276
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I held a business event here based upon the recommendation of a business partner. The hotel is what one would expect from the brand. Great service, an amazing breakfast buffet, and nice business meeting rooms. But the best part was the view of the harbor, simple amazing!

I had an afternoon to explore and the hotel is in walking distance from the main shopping drag, Nathan Road. There are also a couple of nice restaurants around the hotel making the location very good.

I will stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naracoorte sa 5271
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Fabulous room, fabulous views, amazing staff. The best hotel we stayed in on our recent 10 week around the world adventure covering four continents. This hotel was outstanding in every respect, fruit on the coffee table and a well stocked refrigerator. Nothing was bolted down as is the reality in many European hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The view during breakfast, and dinner is spectacular would not mind going to this hotel for the view alone.

The rooms may seem a bit dated but overall, the property and the furnishings look very well maintained. Our room was facing the street instead of the harbour and there was an ongoing construction across the hotel. While some people might find the noise from the construction bothersome, overall, the hotel's noise insulation is pretty good (either that or we were just super tired!).

TIP: request for a harbour view if you can. IHG members get free 24 hour wifi access, the 24-hour period begins to run upon login, so if both of you are IHG members suggest one person log-in first (can connect up to 5 devices), then when the 24-hour expires, the other can log-in.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estvanguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We decided to stop in here as an "adjuster" from our visit to the UK and Europe, on the way back home. The staff were incredibly professional and helpful--nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we stepped out of our vehicle to the moment we realised we would need to post most of our shopping back home, we were given the utmost care and attention. Our daughter especially loved the children's meals, which came in a red train engine complete with steam coming out of the funnel. The spa was very professional--I went back three times! And the rooftop pool quickly became our favourite spot to hang out when we weren't shopping or sleeping off the jetlag. Speaking of shopping, this hotel's right in the thick of some of the best shopping in Hong Kong.

We actually never left the hotel to eat, which is a first for us. o_O The buffet in the main restaurant below the lobby was the buffet to end all buffets. The food was absolutely superb and the choices were endless--so impressed that a buffet could be quite so good! (They're usually pretty half-hearted in our experience.)

If we could make one criticism, it would be that the lounge in the coffee area wasn't as friendly as the rest of the hotel--we guessed it was because that area receives a lot of out-of-house visitors, but it was still jarring to be asked for our room number before we'd even had a chance to get comfortable and order a cold drink. That's being nit-picky though. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suite with amazing views over the harbour, and an absolutely enormous bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This has become my default hotel now in Hong Kong, the service is always faultless, concierge is very knowledgeable and the rooms are lovely (with the harbour view of course). Rooftop pool is a nice little respite, however the continuing construction next door does ruin this a bit.

I'd recommend the Spa also for those that are looking to a bit of relaxation after some hard partying/shopping.

Room Tip: Must have harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alldayidreamoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was so so attracted the fantastic view over the island of Hongkong because of staying in this hotel.And we did have a memorable staying there.
The room is not so large but well arranged and clean,the bathroom was a little bit old but it can meet your need.However the room service is great, the housekeeping staffs were very kind to you no matter what kind of need and they may offer additional service taking your demand into consideration.
the fitness centre especially the swinging pool and the spa pool was so so great, and you can enjoy your leisure time with the splendid view of the harbor, and it was also a wonderful to have a drink near the pool, so nice.
the concierge is great, they may have a good arrangement on your luggage and book the taxi with a notice card with the taxi information as well as your destinations for you.
The buffet is great and you can enjoy the delicious food with wonderful view.what kind of memorable meal!
Staffs of the hotel were extremely friendly and kind, they may respond any of your needs immediately. Even a trainee may give you a memorable service. My child`s finger was broken by the lift, after the front officer helped clean up the wound and then dress it, a trainee came to the boy and help calm down,I forgot the girl`s name but thanks so much.
A hotel without complain for my last staying

Room Tip: room with sea view is your best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin_zhangys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,635 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,480 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hong Kong

Property: InterContinental Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deemed one of the world's top hotels, InterContinental Hong Kong is renowned for its dramatic location on the Kowloon waterfront, with spectacular views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island. Located in the Tsim Sha Tsui area, the hotel is convenient to Kowloon's business, entertainment and shopping districts. A wide range of excursions and activities are within a short distance and getting around every part of the city is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing