We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed feelings, some things great, some not remarkably not so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #151 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Saint Germain, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings, some things great, some not remarkably not so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

The great aspects include the location. Just a 5 minute walk to the escalator, easy to get to by Taxi and Robinson Road is well known by all, so no confusion on where you want to go.

The views are fantastic. We stayed in one of the Grand Harbor View Suites which is a corner room with floor to ceiling windows from the bedroom on two walls. Spectacular sensation, almost as if you are cantaleevered out over Hong Kong. Both rooms are small, but two rooms are the best way to go when you are trying to adapt to a time zone change and your spouse/partner is not on your same sleep schedule.

The not so great was the inability for the customer servicde staff to deal with flexibility when a problem arose and we had a few. First our flight into Hong Kong was cancelled. While we contacted the hotel as soon as we knew, it wasn't time enough to meet their cancellation policy. Working in the lodging business ourselves, we understood this and did not complain or even try to fight the full charge rate for the missed night. We did take exception to the 10% service charge for an unused room. We stayed for three nights and paid for 4, but felt the fee for the service charge on a room night we did not use was silly. For the price of $15USD, they could have had a satisfied customer, instead we left disappointed.

The bathroom has a big sign that the water is not drinkable without boiling.Perhaps bottled water should be supplied for free, but it was 32HK a small bottle, $4.50USD. Quite a large hidden surcharge to brush ones teeth.

At point of check in we added another night as we had itinerary flexibity and plans for three full days in Hong Kong and were told this would be no problem and the room was available. Sadly, the checkin host did not note this additional night on our reservation. By the time that last day came, they had sold our room and were expecting us to leave, we on the other hand had no idea there was a conflict. While we were finally allowed to stay in the room, we were charged an additional fee to do so as they had raised their prices for this night because they were sold out. We also did not get serviced for this day as they had thought we were leaving, yet we were again charged the 10% service fee.

There is construction going on on floors 11 & 12 and the pool floor which caused some elevator delays, but this is a temporary inconvenience that will ease when construction is completed.

All in all, the Bishop Lei has a fantastic location, great views and is a marvelous place to stay if you have no unusual circumstances. While all were polite, no one seemed to have the authority or autonomy to make any allowances for the oddities that sometimes come up, leaving us no choice but to leave disappointed rather than making an uncomfortable scene.

  • Liked — Location and Views
  • Disliked — handling of special circumstances
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cedaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    464
    228
    52
    29
See reviews for
112
250
175
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
613 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2007

I am sitting in a Harbour View Suite #2309 at the Bishop Lei with a panoramic view from both rooms that is amazing. Not only this, but we heard the apes in the zoo this morning, saw an eagle soaring over the botanical gardens below and can watch the star ferries come and go. All of this for $960 HK a night! This has got to be the best deal in HK. If you are here purely to shop, then the midlevels is not for you. But if you want to experience HK, do some touring, shopping and enjoy the restaurants of Soho, this is THE place. We thought we wanted to stay in central and were not willing to pay the price (two adults & one child) for other hotels. We have a two room suite here. Everything is clean and new. Large TV, quiet airconditioning, floor to ceiling windows, crisp white duvets, down pillows and shuttle to take us almost anywhere. We are using the mid level escalators, but I can imagine that in August, it would get tiresome. We used the hotel organized limousine service to get here. Very simple, nice and reasonable. The breakfast buffet this morning was passable for the price ($260 for 3 ) . Hotel has nice exercise facilities, but the pool is closed for maintenance. It is so nice walking along Robinson street, and easy to get to just about anywhere. Very close to the Zoo and Botanical gardens (we can see the animal enclosures below) We booked a non-smoking room, but arrived at 7 a.m. and were offered a smoking room. I checked it (super sensitive to vile cigarettes) and there was no trace of smoking. We were thrilled to have early check in. I love this hotel!

  • Liked — Panoramic View, Free Wi-fi, location, shuttle, Beds & linens, staff
  • Disliked — We are on the 23rd floor and elevator can be a bit tiresome
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

If walking from Central, the hotel is situated near the top of the mid-level escalators which are fun for the first couple of times but I found them a bit tiresome after a while. However, there are a number of buses which stop outside the hotel and taxis are very cheap.

Can't fault the staff - very helpful. The breakfast (included in the price) was fine and included an egg station, cereals, breads and a hot buffet.

Had requested a non-smoking room but got a smoking room but not much smell. Couldn't open any of the windows but the biggest qualm was the size of the room. I had booked a double even though I was a solo traveller. The room had space for the double bed, a small desk and a tiny table to open a small suitcase. The wardrobe would have been able to hang up about 3 items. However, the bathroom was OK and adequately stocked and there was free tea and coffee in the room.

The other gripe would be the incredibly thin walls. I could hear entire conversations from the room next door and when they started singing at 11.30pm I think everyone would have heard it!
Annoying Xmas music playing through the entire hotel including a kids sing Christmas Songs played quite loudly at breakfast!

One plus point - free wireless broadband. I guess if I coudn't find anything else I would stay here again and the areas around Shelley Street had lots of good restaurants.

  • Liked — Free wireless broadband
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

Stayed for two weeks. Can't find any hotel cheaper than this for its proximity to Central. Love the free shuttle every morning that brings you right to Central/Admiralty. Weird that the hotel doesn't post info on this service on its own website. I'd expected a hostel-like accomodation given the price, so was surprised to find full set of toiletries, coffee/tea making facilities in the suite. The harbour view suite is 280 sq ft, definitely much larger than the 4star hotels I'd stayed in over at Kowloon. Great pillows, sheets and towel quality.

Service is at its extreme. Conceige staff are wonderful and helpful. Housekeeping very professional even over the phone to my greatest surprise. The carpet in the suite is always very clean despite its age. Room service speedous. As for reception, only one Joe Yau is a fabulous service staff which great smile; other counter staff tend to be expressionless, impersonal and cold. But efficiency is there.

Beware of the swimming pool. Stairway that one wld think lead you to the pool area actually lead you right into a foot washing area on your final step without any warning of no footwear. Very illogical.

You have to love the quieter part of HK to like staying in Mid-levels. Not suitable for tourist who like to stay right smack in shopping district and have a restaurant right at your door step. Getting back to hotel is a hassle if you carry loads of shopping harvest, unless you take a cab. Its location along Robinson Rd is known by all cab drivers. The adventurous can take numerous buses available (from Wan Chai, Causeway Bay) to Caine Rd, and take 2min of the Mid-Levels Escalator back to Mosque St and walk 5min to hotel. Along Mosque St, you will pass by a takeaway only Pizza shop that makes amazingly thin crust pizza with great variety. Free delivery available.

  • Liked — Harbour view
  • Disliked — Some impersonal staff members
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mintee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south East
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

This hotel is in a fantastic position away from all the hussle and bussel yet only £1.30 in a taxi to centre. All the staff are very helpful friendly and very welcoming!! Exellent at giving directions nothing is too much trouble! Breakfast great start to the day .Rooms are quite small but very clean well furnished and the views are amazing !! The rates are exellent I cannot praise this hotel enough. I would give it 10 out of 10 for everything and would stay here again if I went to Hong Kong. Buses right out side door .Request a harbour view room and you will not be disappointed !Very near to all the tourist attractions!!! Overall exellent in everything!!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank seasidesandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

We were advised to book a grand harbour view suite by a friend who had told us of the tiny rooms.

We couldn't have been more pleased. Breathtaking view, good service, and contrary to another reviewer we thought the restaurant was great value.

Located in a quieter part of HK surrounded by parks, so much nicer tha Natham Rd. As a point of interest, you can see the front door from the peak lookout, and we had lovely walk from the hotel, through the zoo to the peak tram terminous.

Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozblue_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#148 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#135 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing