We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain, and great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bargain, and great value.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I booked 3 nights in a standard room. After reading mixed reviews on the location and room size I wasn't sure what to expect.

I have to say I've been very pleasantly surprised. The room was very good - and absolutely spotless. The bed was firm and comfortable, there was plenty of storage space (which makes up for the smallish floor space), and the air conditioner worked well. The shower had both a regular and rain shower head which was great.

The hotel restaurant was fine, but there are plenty of local restaurants and cafes to try. The wi-fi was free and reliable.

The only note I'd make is that you need to bring your own bottled water (the mini bar option is pretty expensive).

The location was great - very accessible via the escalators or a short cab ride from HK Central (10 mins). There is also a regular shuttle, run by the hotel.

In would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank happine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    469
    235
    55
    33
See reviews for
114
258
180
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for six nights while working at the University of Hong Kong (the University booked the room). The location is good (one can walk down the steps to Central and up again via the escalators) and there are some good restaurants nearby, the wifi is free and the staff polite and helpful but I have never stayed in such a small hotel room. I slept OK but everything was so cramped. I didn't think much of the breakfasts either - we were all squashed together in the breakfast room and had difficulty passing other guests when collecting our food. I hope I never have to stay there again. One night I found a cake wrapper beneath the desk in my tiny room (and it wasn't mine). I assume it was the cleaner's.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms. My room was 1312 so avoid this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in a suite, which was relatively small but clean. I think most suites overlook the south side, so the view is top-notch. In terms of location, it's probably not as convenient as the larger hotels that are right smack in the shopping districts. Bishop Lei is about a 10-15 minute stroll down the hill to the nearest MTR station. There is a bus stop outside, and #23 takes you to Causeway Bay. Otherwise, lots of taxis are available, as well as the hotel shuttle which runs about once an hour. 5 minute stroll to the Central Escalators.

I didn't try the restaurant, as I prefer to go outside for breakfast. There's a cheap, local cafe on Caine Road that was the closest I could find for a quick breakfast.

Only 1 complaint -- sometimes at night I could hear the zoo animals from the nearby Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens.

Generally good value for money, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at bishop lei hotel.
Not disappointed.
Lovely upgraded room.
No complaints.
Location 5 minutes walk to jcc and 2 minutes walk to escalator.
Excellent service.
View from our room was spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed here twice over the past three years, and, while it is pricey (at least for the larger, more comfortable rooms for someone my size), the location cannot be beat. On my last trip I was there for eleven days, and I could walk anywhere in Central or Western District with ease.
The rooms, at least the larger ones, are quite comfortable, and the staff works hard to keep everything neat and tidy.
The restaurant provides good food in great variety for a very reasonable price.
Overall, I plan to stay there again on my next trip, but I will have to save up for a while.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhuxiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is not well known and had to show the map to taxi driver to reach.

That being said this is located at an amazing part of the city. Its a short walk to the escalators.

Rooms in Hong Kong are usually small. This was even smaller. If you are a couple take a suite room else no place for luggage.

Its clean and neat and definitely not the luxurious side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. They offered to turn on the air conditioning and spray freshener, would not let us switch rooms.

Our dining experience was horrible. We were lazy so decided to eat at the hotel. Bad idea. The pork cutlet was bloody. The fish tasted very fishy like it was weeks old and the rice was watery. We billed to our room to not complain around other guests, and took our complaints to the hotel manager who refused to issue a refund. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natebinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#161 of 718 in Hong Kong
671 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,734 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#137 of 718 in Hong Kong
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,725 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,173 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing