We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value - But don't expect too much!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishop Lei International House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #151 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Value - But don't expect too much!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We've stayed at the Bishop a number of times this year the latest being December this year. Located on Robinson road near to the escalator and just above Soho & LKF, the Bishop is very conveniently located to Central Hong Kong. It's currently under a well deserved renovation but if your out during the day, this shouldn't affect you too much. Like all Hong Kong hotels, the rooms are pretty small. We usually booked a "suite" which for the extra money was well worth it as we ended up with a separate lounge room and bedroom. It's not much to rave about but it's comfortable, clean, conveniently located and in comparison to other hotels in HK, pretty reasonable on the pocket!!!

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Under renovation
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luxury_backpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    462
    226
    51
    29
See reviews for
112
248
172
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

The hotel is in a great location at the top of the escalators and is good value for your money in Hong Kong. However, the receptionist desk staff are hard to communicate with. We had to cancel our last night (due to airport problems in Bangkok we had to change flights and plans), but trying tospeak to the staff about this was very difficult. We had to insist on talking to a manager as we kept being told no to getting our money back for our cancelled night (minus deposit). We were told a manager did not work on Mondays so my husband had to raise his voice to ask for a manager, then one suddenly appeared and helped us sort out the problem.
On our second night we came back to our two rooms (on same floor but different sides of building) to discover that our soft comfortable beds had been replaced with hard smaller beds. Once again we had problems getting a manager to sort out the problem and to get an explanation. They told us that one of the beds had a stain so they changed all the beds?????? Not sure why really. Absurd!
Otherwise rooms are clean and well maintained and serviced.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashpackers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

My husband and I stayed here one night based on a friend's recommendation for a budget hotel in a good location. The hotel is situated in a very accessible location from the airport (subway and quick taxi ride) and to all the shopping/food/nightlife. However, I thought this hotel could use a little better customer service, especially at the front desk. I know it may be a "budget" hotel, but it doesn't excuse poor service (see below for specifics).

PROS
1. Great location
2. Good price, relative to other hotels in Hong Kong
3. Clean

CONS
1. Front desk customer service - The front desk folks in the evening hardly looked up from their computers when we checked in and asked questions. The front desk folks in the daytime actually cared to look up at us, but were quite rude and gave us an unnecessarily hard time when we tried to confirm our previously requested late check-out. In the end, the front desk people from the evening and day shifts miscommunicated our request. However, we received no apology. Just a reluctant agreement to let us check out an hour later. Kind of left a sour taste in our mouth.
2. Construction - Don't know how long they're working on the hotel, but they didn't seem to care that they had guests in the rooms adjacent to the construction site. We heard drilling all day, starting bright and early in the morn.
3. Tiny rooms - But it's Hong Kong and you get what you pay for right? At least it's clean.

Aside from these 3 cons, 2 of which might be isolated incidents, the hotel is a good bang for your buck. I may look into coming here again if I want to stay around this location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — front desk customer service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank avocadogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We spent 1 night at the Bishop Lei. We booked the last room available and happily upgraded on check-in to a harbour view suite on the 10th floor. The room was very small (double bed and small bedside cabinets) with another room with a couch, desk, fridge and tv, kettle and it had a small shower bathroom. Very comfortable, clean with good aircon and attentive staff who came to see if we were ok and needed a turndown service. The view was great - mainly buildings and you could just make out the water. But no complaints as we had expected a room with no desk with no view! It was very quiet (Friday night).
We did not eat breakfast and the hotel restaurant was closed in the afternoon for a childs birthday party. The staff were friendly and we left our luggage after checking out. We also did not get a chance to use the pool.
We caught the free hotel shuttle bus from Hong Kong station after catching the Airport Express train and took it back again to catch the star ferry to Kowloon.
The hotel is well located for the Synagogue (discounted rate if you book through them).
We walked to Soho for dinner and ate a great meal on Elgin Street at Chongqing and went to a supermarket at the top of the escalator to stock up on water and supplies.
We moved from here to the Salisbury YMCA on Kowloon. Really recommend this for great views and location if you don't need to be on HK island/mid levels.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

I was looking for an affordable base of operations in central/western Hong Kong island. Hotel was fine. I stayed in a single room, paid $100/night. Room was small but adequate, bathroom was a decent size. Clean room but bathroom had mold in tile grout and shower flooring was loose. Hot water in shower lasted about five minutes, then would cycle cold for 1 minute then back to hot. Annoying when you are in a hurry in the am. Also, conceierge gave incorrect info re which city bus to take to my destination. Likewise, front desk staff gave me wrong weekend bus schedule (only week day schedule is printed) and I missed bus to train station and had to take a cab. Breakfast was passable but not great. Small gym was nice and staff was friendly in general. Location is quiet, residential and appeared safe. Not a bad experience but I think I can do better for US $20 or $30 more a night.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — far from shopping,not near MTR
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kneedtono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

This hotel is located in a relatively quiet residential area. Easy access to buses and the mid-level escalator. Service was very good. While there are no good restaurants nearby, the hotel has a small and convenient one. We had the Harbor View Suite on the 16th floor. Photos are attached. While not spacious, the room was more than adequate. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — no good restaurants nearby
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poidog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2008

Bishop Lei is a very clean and comfortable hotel in a great location for accessing all main areas of interest on HK island. Don't expect anything overly flash - the rooms are simple and on the smaller side, but we were very comfortable and had no complaints with the rooms or service whatsoever. Breakfast in the restaurant is very good with a relaxed atmosphere (wasn't included in our package though). Lan Kwai Fong, which is the main bar/restaurant/nightlife area is no more than 10 mins by foot and escalator. Rooms are not particularly cheap, but for what we got and the location, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mikey_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#152 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Two MacDonnell Road
Two MacDonnell Road
#139 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#92 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing