We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, will pay for a larger room next time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #150 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location, will pay for a larger room next time!”
Reviewed 1 March 2009

A friend recommended this hotel for our 24 hour stopover. The location was very convenient, very close to the top of the escalator that travels from the bottom of Hong Kong Island up to the top. We walked down the steps/little streets & alleys for a fascinating quick view of the street market scene - found little noodle shops, fruit stalls etc. We took a bus right outside that took us to the point to take the tram to the Peak. Our room was the cheapest one, and it was absolutely fine, for a shoebox! However, we met other people there who raved about their rooms - particularly one couple who stayed there frequently & had a suite. It's definitely worth checking out. Breakfast wasn't included in the price (HKD 440 inc tax - $Aus75). Would definitely stay there again, but in a larger room.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    466
    230
    53
    30
See reviews for
113
252
178
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Having stayed in various hotels in Hong Kong over the years, I chose the Bishop Lei International House due to its close proximity to the Airport Express terminal and the mid-levels escalator, and stayed for one night on the 19th January 2008. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient. The room and bathroom were very clean with large duvets, big fluffy towels, tea and coffee making facilities, free newspaper and WIFI and a stunning cityscape view (although not Harbour View as booked). Looking out of the window, a pool with sun loungers and a nice terrace with tables and chairs could be seen below. After a brief sojourn across the harbour we returned for a good nights sleep ready for an early morning flight. This is where the hotel has unfortunately let itself down big time – the smallest and hardest hotel bed I have ever slept in. What a shame as this detracts from what is otherwise an excellent choice of hotel in a central location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsButterNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Well it was cheap, in a supposedly good location (mid-levels), and close to my friend's place (which was good because I was in transit for about 8 hours overnight), but overall I was really unimpressed with this place.

I got the room for HKD473 through a web based accommodation service, although I was staying just after peak season so most hotels in the same price range were equally discounted.

I normally stay at the JJ Hotel, in Wan Chai, which I really love, but Bishop Lei was recommended to me so I thought I'd give it a go.

So what was wrong? I booked the cheapest room possible (inner courtyard, no view, do not pass go do not collect $200) but was advised at check-in that I had been 'upgraded' to a harbour view room. The reason I was upgraded was because there were no more double rooms available, and so I was given the last twin left which happened to be on floor 25.

Anyways - the room when I got there was tiny. Not kidding. THE smallest room I have ever had in HK. I have seen pictures of smaller rooms here on trip advisor but this is the first time I've experienced them! Not only tiny but retro 1970s/80s to boot. Dull curtains, dull carpets, dull tiling in the bathroom and dull lighting.

While we're on the negatives, there was no free bottled water, which I think is unusual in HK where you normally get at least one or two small bottles. There was a sign in the bathroom saying 'tap water must be boiled before drinking'. A kettle, tea, coffee and creamer were provided,

The positives. Sheets and bathroom were spotlessly clean and room service provided an iron for me within a couple of minutes of the request. Room service also converted the twin into a double while I was out for dinner (I was just a bit too tall to fit on a small single and had to have the beds made up so I could at least fit on sideways!). And the wake-up call was on time.

Oh - the harbour view? Yeah not that exciting, a bit of a glimpse of the harbour in the distance.

Location. I still prefer somewhere like Wan Chai. Wan Chai is easy to get to with a taxi, and was actually cheaper to get to than mid-levels from the Hong Kong Express station. Also the tram runs from Wan Chai which takes about the same time as the escalator from Central to mid-levels. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel in future unless it was the last one left in its price category.

  • Liked — spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — tiny rooms, dull decor
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

cambridge ma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Beware of this hotel. We reserved a room, then had to cancel. We cancelled in plenty of time. But they refused to accept the email cancelling the reservation. In their reservation confirmation, they had some vague instructions about how to cancel--but the instructions made it impossible to know what they meant. As a result, they extorted over a $100.00 from us.

Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Magyar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Although not super-cheap, this is a very good deal for what you get -- a very clean, well-run hotel with modern amenities in a very convenient location just a few blocks from the escalators/steps down to Soho and Central (or a very cheap cab ride down).

I loved the views, the free wifi and the newly-renovated room. Only downsides were the construction noise during the day (after which rates may go up, however); the very small and very hard single bed I had; and the fact that the fitness room is quite bare-bones (although it does have an amazing view of the city). Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We've stayed at the Bishop a number of times this year the latest being December this year. Located on Robinson road near to the escalator and just above Soho & LKF, the Bishop is very conveniently located to Central Hong Kong. It's currently under a well deserved renovation but if your out during the day, this shouldn't affect you too much. Like all Hong Kong hotels, the rooms are pretty small. We usually booked a "suite" which for the extra money was well worth it as we ended up with a separate lounge room and bedroom. It's not much to rave about but it's comfortable, clean, conveniently located and in comparison to other hotels in HK, pretty reasonable on the pocket!!!

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Under renovation
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luxury_backpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

The hotel is in a great location at the top of the escalators and is good value for your money in Hong Kong. However, the receptionist desk staff are hard to communicate with. We had to cancel our last night (due to airport problems in Bangkok we had to change flights and plans), but trying tospeak to the staff about this was very difficult. We had to insist on talking to a manager as we kept being told no to getting our money back for our cancelled night (minus deposit). We were told a manager did not work on Mondays so my husband had to raise his voice to ask for a manager, then one suddenly appeared and helped us sort out the problem.
On our second night we came back to our two rooms (on same floor but different sides of building) to discover that our soft comfortable beds had been replaced with hard smaller beds. Once again we had problems getting a manager to sort out the problem and to get an explanation. They told us that one of the beds had a stain so they changed all the beds?????? Not sure why really. Absurd!
Otherwise rooms are clean and well maintained and serviced.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashpackers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#151 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#99 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#136 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing