We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"no hot water and tiny room"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bishop Lei International House
Ranked #151 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"no hot water and tiny room"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Harbor view Suite is composed of 2 rooms of rouglhy 4sqm each... for just 1000HKD without breackfast.
For the harbour view, I guess 17th floor was not high enough. Nevertheless the view is not too bad and the only positive point I can find in this hotel.

WORST was that NO HOT WATER in the bath room! Just check other reviews saying the same thing on different websites. When claiming to desk at check out I only got the mineral water bottle fee waived (32HKD)... knowing that this is free in any other HK hotel...

I definitely recommend to spend a very little more money and go in a real hotel with professional service and staff, or to spend less and you get what you expect.

Cleanliness: dust on the TV set
Location: not bad, up the escalators
Rooms: No HOT WATER. Harbour view suite is really tiny, even for HK.
Service: mistake in my first room allocation (smoking, 5th floor)
Value: 1000HKD is a joke for such a place and service.

P.S: they answered by email to my claim for reimburmsent with deepest apologies and promised a discount for my next trip... lol

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airdus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    464
    228
    52
    29
See reviews for
112
250
175
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

GREAT LOCATION on Robinson road! So close to the midlevel stairs that you can just tumble into Hong Kong's Central. And on the way you pass through lovely eateries in Soho (try Phuket for good Thai food!) and the always happening Lan Kwai Fong (go to the top floor of the Lan Kwai hotel and dance overlooking the harbour!), then straight into all the malls so you can shop til you drop.
Rooms are TINY, but cozy. Blankets are super soft. FREE wireless internet. FREE frequent shuttle to town (goes to admiratly, hong kong station etc). The staff is helpful but could be a little more knowledgable/concierge-y. and the elevator is sterlised every hour it says. No swine flu fear here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadianceLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

I don't mean the rooms, we got the Harbour View Suite and it was wonderful--spacious, with a wall between bedroom and living area that gives a real sense of privacy and peace. The hot water does not get hot enough but that would be my only suggestion to change the room--otherwise the harbour view suite is the way to go.

I'd like to rate this hotel as "poor" except for the caliber of the rooms. Those are awesome!

HOWEVER, the service here leaves a lot to be desired. Room service and housekeeping are awesome--great job. I am just referring to the front desk and their lack of professionalism. Without going into too much detail, they botched a birthday weekend planned in HK--they tried to pawn us off on a 3rd floor "harbour view" at the same rate and you can't even see the harbour at all from that level! Mostly you see an ugly schoolyard. I had told them in advance that it was a special occasion (birthday) and also mentioned it when we checked in and they didn't even say happy birthday to my friend. When I saw the room I said something and they moved us to the 7th floor. This just proved that they had the room and just didn't want to give it. I don't know why, we were staying 6 nights so you'd think they'd be pretty nice to us and we booked a month in advance with a request for a view. On top of it all none of the regular daytime staff ever cracks a smile. They don't even look up when you approach the desk. Felt really bad, not at all like you are a welcome guest. Left an ugly taste in the mouth and because of all this would not stay here again.

One other note--I did not at all like the location as one other guest did. I suppose that is a matter of personal taste but for me, being up here on mid-levels was horrible--totally out of the way and not near any stores, restaurants, etc and in the middle of yuppie expat land. If I were you I would stay in Kowloon, we had a great time at the Yesinspace even though the rooms were tiny.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Well located, but the rooms are like pigeon holes.

I reached the hotel at about 4 pm, and was asked to wait as the room was not ready.. even though the check-in time is supposed to be 2 pm.... well, they did arrange a room in about 15 minutes... then came the shock.. as we entered the room, we were amazed, the bed room area didnt exceed 8 ft by 8.. and the loos maybe some 4 ft by 4.... it ws very very uncomfortable.. you hardly had place to move fif there even 2 people in the room. well maybe thats Hong Kong...

about the positives, its pretty well located about 2-3 kms from the central station and major business centres and about 10 minutes from SOHO and hollywood road.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

SG
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

I have stayed for a week in Bishop for my holidays. Out of so many hotels I have stayed, this is truly one of the best in terms of pricing, value add and facilities! They must be one of the only few to offer free broadband internet in all rooms and its speed is lightning fast! Most hotels require you to pay for such internet access.

The plus:
1. Swimming pool with spectacular town view - must try!
2. Regular timing free shuttle bus to town and mtr! and shuttle bus does take u to the central airexpress mtr station
3. Next to Mid-levels escalators and is just few minutes walk along mosque street (I used it daily!)
4. Next to Soho restaurants, lots of eateries, 7-11, macdonalds, wellcome supermarket, Lan Kwai Fang via the Mid levels escalators
5. So far, price is definitely the cheapest for a 4-star hotel.
6. 1 tram stop to go to Ferry terminal to go Macau!!
7. daily changing of towels and bedsheets

The minus:
1. Location is a bit out of town/mtr but shuttle bus and mid-levels escalator solve this prob. if you are one who likes nite market, this might be a disappointment for late-shoppers
2. Quite unfriendly staff who do not smile or greet but relatively polite folks
3. no newspapers during my stay except for one day
4. basically hotel is at the tallest end of the hill! forget abt walking if u miss the closing time of mid-levels escalators at 12am daily. but cabs are relatively cheap..abt 20-30hkd. there are several buses to go town too outside the hotel.
5. the airbus A11 cost 40hkd from airport and u need to alight at admiralty mtr, and can take free hotel shuttle bus to the hotel at exit A of the (citybus)mtr. pity that most hotels are within walking distance from airbus bus stops.
6. out of so many hotels i have stayed, this is the smallest as I took the standard rooms. basically no extra space for your luggage and the lcd tv is on top of dressing table and chair...u can't even walk if someone sits there!! u can put 3 single beds and that is the width of the room! toilet is nice and new but the water heater doesnt provide constant temperature...you turn on to max temp..it is then hot....turn to middle, it will be too cold...turn up a bit, it stays ok temp for a while, then becomes too cold..then u need adjust up a bit...then it becomes too hot!! Staff did not both to explain anything unless u ask him.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend and decided to pay a little extra for a Harbour View Suite. After checking their website direct, I noticed that they offered Grand Harbour View Suites for just HKD40 extra per night. When we arrived in our top floor corner room we were greeted by spectacular 180+ degree views of the Hong Kong skyline, Botanical Gardens and harbour which became awe-inspiring when the sun went down. Once we had taken in the view, the room was excellent, clean and very large with a separate living room with floor to ceiling windows, a well stocked mini-bar and plasman TV. The bedroom had a firm but comfortable double bed and floor to ceiling windows round two walls of the room. The bathroom was small and the shower would intermittently run cold, but sometimes a cold shower was needed in order to fully appreciate everything else, so we didn't mind! The hotel provided a host of services, but we only really took advantage of the free Internet access which worked flawlessly.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely recomment a room upgrade. It is well located close to shops and restaurants, the mid-levels escalator is just along the road, there is a bus stop outside the front doors with cheap and frequent transport to Central and there is a frequent free shuttle bus operated by the hotel to numerous drop off and pick up points.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LongFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

I wanted to say in Mid-Levels near the escalator and the location is perfect for exploring Central. I booked a standard room the first night. What a shock. It was a tiny cubicle with two child-size beds. more like a ship's cabin than a hotel room, facing into apartments across the road. Claustrophobic even for one person. There was no room to unpack, no desk, just a ledge too tiny to perch my laptop. At least it was clean and tidy. Since Hong Kong is all about the view and it was my last night in Asia I asked to change rooms and splurged (double the price, about US $140) on a harbor-view suite on a high floor for the second night. Now you're talking. The bathroom was still small, but now I had a nice little sitting room with desk and small sofa and a comfy bedroom, both with magnificent views. Overall, Bishop Lei a good place to stay in Central -- especially if you like stair climbing, shopping and exploring small alleys -- at way lower prices than, say, the Mandarin Oriental. The hotel restaurant has good buffet breakfast and nice meals at reasonable prices. I liked the small pool on the second floor. Wireless internet spotty... much better in public areas than guest rooms. Quiet, helpful staff, especially concierge. Good place for single people traveling alone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellens25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#150 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#94 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#137 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Lei International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Lei International House

Property: Bishop Lei International House
Address: No.4 Robinson Road | Mid-Levels Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Lei International House 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views of the city's skyline, Bishop Lei International features an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. It is a 10-minute walk from Soho and offers free shuttle services to and from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express Station). Bishop Lei International House provides value-for-money rooms with flat-screen cable TV and a work desk. They are bright with floor-to-ceiling windows, and have a tea/coffee maker and a safe. Guests can make use of the well-equipped gym or the sun loungers around the pool. For a quiet afternoon indoors, there is a reading room at International Bishop Lei Hotel. The Sky Terrace Restaurant provides an international breakfast buffet daily. Meals are accompanied by sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, and can be enjoyed on the terrace or in the privacy of guest's room. The Hotel is about 5 km from Hong Kong Ocean Park and only a stroll to Lan Kwai Fong entertainment area. The hotel offers scheduled shuttle services to and from Central, Admiralty and Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in Wanchai. Mid-Levels is a great choice for travellers interested in nightlife, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop Lei International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Lei International House Hotel Hong Kong
Bishop Lei International Hotel
Hotel Bishop Lei International
Bishop Lei International House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing