We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£350 pn Smokey room....poor show. Needs a manager....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silka Seaview Hotel
Ranked #171 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Truro
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“£350 pn Smokey room....poor show. Needs a manager....”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We orders a £350 per night suit to arrive to a missable welcome. The lady in reception had a dust mask on and was trying to sleep with her head on desk. Very funny, we then got to our room it was clean but I forgot to ask for a smoke free room this room had strong arroma of fags. Breakfast was the biggest joke boiled eggs,black yolks,egg fried rice, frankfurter, sweet corn and orange squash. This hotel was a joke, but great location for local street food. Great atmosphere outside the hotel....do not go

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleBirdseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    384
    297
    82
    46
See reviews for
169
209
123
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Yes, the rooms are tiny, but its very clean and you're a 5 minute cab ride to kowloon station (airport train) and a 5 minute walk from an mtr station. We paid 200 cad a night when every other hotel was 450 cad a night. And they didnt give us any problems when we had to cancel our last night.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mtlglobetrotter1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhilai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

hotel in located in the second best happening area of hongkong after central.it has a huge massage centers and shopping area around it. the rooms was a bit small than we r used to but very clean and well planned.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauravk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Overall, good location, nice room. However the hotel staffs doesn't know how to smile!! Day duty manager and receptionist not friendly and helpful, but night manager- Mr Foster very helpful anf friendly service. I would give him 100% being hotel staff.
If you willing to pay for HKD55/pax for b'fast, please don't do so(served-fried noodle(noodle only, no others ingredients), congee, toasts, sausages, fried eggs and beverage only. Very limited selection, not a friendly staff in the restaurant. Rather go out to have a economy and friendly restaurant or Mcdonalds for B'fast.
Good location, near Temple Street (outside the hotel-this market selling things cheaper then Ladies market,make sure bargain), Ladies Market(5 to 10 mins walk). MTR station(5 mins walk). Jade market(2 mins walk). Morning Market( 5 mins walk). Nathan Road to Kowloon-Clock Tower (20 to 30 mins walk-depend on you).
If you stay in Hong Kong, make sure get a Otopus card(Get it from any MTR station- Deposit HKD50, Top up value HKD100-Total HKD150), when you leaving HKG, you can go to any MTR station for refund balance and deposit. This card can use at 7-eleven, all public transportation(tourist destination also) and etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here...forewarned about the size of the rooms thanks to TA so was okay with the size of our room which was well set out, modern and clean. While the room is small, the bathroom was fine and the shower was very roomy. The room has tea/coffee making facilities and the TV had a good selection of stations. Our request for a non smoking room was met. The location is good as it is about a 3 minute walk to the Yau Ma Tei MTR station and about 10 - 15 minutes to the Goldfish Market and the Ladies Market while the Jade Market is literally in the street next to the hotel. However, I experienced considerable frustration with the exceptionally slow lifts (I know, sounds petty but we were on the 16th floor and while it's okay for the first few times, it does get tiresome after a couple of days). But my greatest frustration was the WiFi. While there a 2 computers in the breakfast/restaurant room (level 19) which you can use for free, WiFi in your room is very expensive and is offered on an hourly basis which is not cumulative ie. if you purchase 1 hour, you need to use it continually, not over several sessions. Having purchased 1 hour for $30 HKD I was very annoyed to find that the internet stopped working after 10 minutes as 'the server was not responding'. This happened two nights in a row. While the staff agreed to waive the cost of both sessions it was very frustrating and using the common room computers was not an option as it was late in the evening. I am surprised that the hotel has such antiquated arrangements regarding internet access and I would find this a real impediment if I had to be there for more than a couple of days or use the place for business.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattsdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

i went to hong kong on 19 Oct and spend 4 nights in this hotel.i noticed by previous review that the room is small and some other bad comment. so it makes me beared in mind of lots of things. however, i was surprise by its location which is in the middle of few primary shopping areas and its was a great place for accessibility to MTR, or even walking. the location is great and we are able tovisit everywhere with the MTR.
the staffs were so helpful when we requiring a non smoking floor. they were helpful enough to offer us the non smoking floor. while the room is small as told, but ok for short stay and most importantly, its "CLEAN". i stay in some other hotel in guang zhou, zhuhai and shenzhen during this trip as well and the hotel's room were terrible.
so i would definitly recommend this hotel for those who only require short stay and do not require luxuries. otherwise, this is not the place for you.
P/S: there are no more renovation job going on.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mintie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

great location but rooms are typically small. was given a smoking room and dirty room upon check in , we complained at the hotel reception and they transferred us to a non smoking room. better than the first one given but rooms are still small. not good if you are claustrophaubic . breakfast is ok but they serve the same stuff everyday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnlagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#190 of 717 in Hong Kong
437 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#167 of 717 in Hong Kong
650 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#205 of 717 in Hong Kong
804 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#111 of 717 in Hong Kong
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Seaview Hotel

Property: Silka Seaview Hotel
Address: No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silka Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Seaview Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Seaview
Silka Seaview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing