We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #94 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a fantastic location on Nathen Road with great connections for the MTR and local markets etc.

The rooms are quite small and basic. While in hong kong you expect small rooms there was nowhere for a case to sit. Still they are comfortable and well maintained. They make a decent base if you will not spend much time there.

The hotel itself is very confusing and has no real front door and can be a bit of a tangle. Hotel bar and restaurant were disappointing but there are so many great options for food in the local area there is no reason to eat at the hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    1,888
    508
    136
    70
See reviews for
794
1,452
333
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed at the Eaton Smart, Hong Kong, for 4 nights at the end March 2012. Hotel is in a fantastic location. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Rooms were small but clean. Defintely recommend booking the "club package".

Room Tip: Corner suite was very light. On 15th floor there was no boise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

good location to most attractions,MTR station, buses and restaurants. Helpful concierge with knowledge of most things to do with Hong Kong.

Room Tip: stay longer and get a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Well we arrived at 8pm from Australia.
Our room was ready turned down and ready for us.
Check in was a breeze - one receptionist taking our passport details whilst the other preparing the credit card deposit, room key and transport of our luggage to the room.
We got a large room - 3 person located on floor 16.
The room had 2 single beds and in a seperate lounge area was a sofa that pulled out to a small double bed sized bed.
The room was the largest that I have stayed in on the multiple trips we have done to Hong Kong.
The only real complaint was the carpets were a little worn in the room - other than that the toiletries supplied, the linen and beds were all of a first class nature.
This is compared to the Langham and Novotel hotels.
We used the E Club on level one - very spacious, relaxing, nice chairs and lounge area that couples as breakfast and evening cocktails area. It is open from 7am - 11pm - continually staffed with some awesome knowledgeable people that really make your time in Hong Kong a memorable visit.
From organising day trips, altering flights, altering transfers - all was done without any problems.
Marilyn who is a regular staff member in this area goes out of her way to assist you, make you feel welcome and ensure that your every need is met.
The food was great in the E Club - breakfast every morning had a different offering available. Hot breakfast, large array of hot fresh pastries, juice, good tea and coffee and a range of cereals and fruit to get you off to a good start.
Come 5pm - an open bar - drink what you like! Complimented by some great nibbles and warm food to make the day sweep past.
The Jordan railway station is a safe 5 min walk away.
The Temple Street markets are 2 mins walk away.
Some amazing restuarants and places to eat in close vacinity.
I would make mention of a trip to Mongkok - we found a great money exchange lady - not that difficult to find really - just head towards the Langham Hotel when you exit the metro (2 stops from Jordan).
Her address is 525 Shanghai Street - basically on the corner of Shantung and Shanghai streets - there are two banks on these corners and she is just south of them.
The rates were the best in Hong Kong - sometime 5% - 9% better than other areas on the street. She offered currency changes for all units of currency (commission free). We were lucky to get $8.04HKD for our dollar (Australian dollar). As we were leaving to head to Europe she happily changed our HKD and AUD to Euro for us at the awesome rate of $0.79 Euro.
Temple Street markets have a great variety of clothes, electronics (I would recommend the world traveller adapter that can be used anywhere in the world - pick one up for around $50HKD). Some great toys and souvenirs available as well. I actually think the quality and prices here are now better value than the markets in the Mongkok area.
The street food is the best food and tastiest that I have encountered in Hong Kong - from Cantonese, Chinese, Seafood, Indian and Japanese there was a variety to tempt your taste buds all at reasonable prices. Drinks were ridiculously cheap - local beers for around $3AUD for a 750ml bottle.
I would make mention about the lads at the concierge - arranging transport. luggage storage and general information about things to do and places to see - if Marilyn and her staff in the E Club didn't answer your questions then these boys did!
The pool is heated - on the roof top - with awesome views.
The gym is very spacious and have free weights, machines and all the amenities of any modern gym. The equipment is new and good standing - the shower and locker room large and great to use after a work out.
A great place to stay and at a reasonable rate of around $240AUD per night - breakfast and E Club included. This rate was offered directly by the hotel after an online enquiry directly to them.
They offered and arranged private transfers and communicated very well throughout our reservation process.
I will post some photos for you to enjoy.
Happy to come say hi again soon!

Room Tip: Suggest that you get E Club access - this is a great resource when you arrive and room maybe not rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gcrefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Booking as part of a air/hotel package the price was well justified for what was offered. We were upgraded to a club room which had wrap-around windows on the 19th floor. Eventhough it was a smoking room(the room had NO noticable smoking smells or anything to reflect this.) The amenties in the room were great from the flat screen TV, to the Coffee/Tea service, and the robes. Bathroom looked newly refurbished and super clean. Plenty of room for luggage people, relaxing. And when checking in and needed an adapter they were super friendly and helpful even with directions to specific locations where we wanted to go. (Only bout 2 1/2 blocks from nearest MTR station and free shuttle to Airport Express Train.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toper3_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent service from hotel staff from the moment we arrived until our departure. Location central, lots of shopping and good restaurants with reasonable price in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

MOST travellers are environment friendly nowadays and if you are a true-blue “Greenie” you must stay in Eaton Smart Hotel in a very strategic location along Kowloon’s busiest street. The street is Nathan Road and the hotel has just won the HotelClub Best Eco Hotel Award for 2012. Just 30 minutes from Kong Kong International Airport by the Hotel Shuttle bus which just costs HKD130 one way, the lobby of this high tech hotel has a very unique “Living Wall”. The impressive wall panel of 3,600 Sansevieria green plants reaches a height of 6m high by 8m wide! The plants purify the air of noxious Nitrogen Oxide and Formaldehyde and gives out Oxygen in the day! It is so ‘coool’ to sip a Lychee Mojito in the T Garden and admire the greenery. The avant garde lobby furnishings and floor are made with sustainable bamboo which can be harvested every 5 years without killing the plant.
Care for Tai Chi?
A bonus of staying here in the Eaton Smart Hotel are the complimentary Tai Chi classes conducted by Sifu (Master) Cheung. After indulging in gourmet food and wine, I simply had to attend. Not only informative, his one hour class on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays from 8am to 9am is really a barrel of fun and laughs! I can testify to that. Very informative too! He teaches Wu style Tai Chi in the open air T Garden and bamboo courtyard. What is even better, he even explains how to use Tai Chi for self defense when attacked.
Later, in the cool Spring afternoon I went to tour the Jade Market, serene Tin Hau Temple and Wet Market with the Concierge. The walking tour is not only good exercise but complimentary. You can buy “Jade” jewellery for 15HKD which means of course “caveat emptor” (buyer beware). Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables in the Wet Market like strawberries & Bok Choy from China. The alfresco Market is very different from those in Singapore as the stalls line the roadside. In the evening, I strolled to Temple Street to take in the sights, smells and sounds of the bustling “Night Market”. Shop and bargain for Mao Tse Tung watches and ‘Louis Vuitton’ and “Rolex” watches while keeping a close guard against pickpockets!
Accommodation
When it comes to the rooms, I recommend the E Suite with its own comfy Living Room where you can unwind, and do your work at the desk while enjoying a coffee. Yes, there are complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. The bed is really nice and the soft, fluffy feather pillows embrace you like the arms of a warm woman so I was asleep in seconds…
E Club guests also enjoy a Continental Breakfast from 7am to 10am at the E Club which is also a Business Center. Evening Cocktails are served from 5.30pm to 7.30pm and has Tim Sum, Smoked Salmon, Samosas and Cocktails freshly made to order like Black Russian and aromatic Pimm’s No.1.
The location of Eaton Smart Hotel for travel within the city is excellent. The hotel is right between the MTR stations of Jordan and Yau Ma Tei & it is a short stroll to the MTR stations. This makes it a snap to travel to anywhere in Hong Kong. For instance, I could get to Mong Kok in 5 minutes and to Lan Kwai Fong, famous for its restaurants and nightlife, in 10 minutes.
Food fabulous FOOD!
There are 7 Food & beverage outlets from Japanese at Yagura to Metro Buffet & Grill. However, when in Hong Kong eat as the natives eat which means of course Cantonese cuisine! This can be relished at Yat Tung Heen which has 1 Michelin Star. I enjoyed a ‘superbe’ dinner there. I began with über-crunchy mouth-watering chilled Whole Jelly Fish, plus their signature 15mm thick Char Siew marinated in a secret sauce and roasted to sublime perfection. I like that classic Cantonese Tim Sum of Pig’s Trotters in Soy. Try it with Casa Lapostolle Cabernet Sauvignon with its cassis & spice notes. Yummy! The second course of a clear tasty soup with Phoenix Claws (chicken feet) was most welcome as it was rather chilly outside at 12C. The next soup was a creamy almond soup with a smooth as silk texture. Vermicelli in Clay Pot with gigantic prawns was delicious especially with the Chef’s special XO Sauce made with Salmon instead of dried scallop. Sweets for the sweet! I adored the Osmanthus Jelly with Almond and the giant Sesame Ball was excellent too!
Keep calm & Exercise!
After all the gourmet food I had to go to the Gymnasium on Level 21, the highest floor, to work out. Very well equipped, just outside is a decadent Graeco-Roman swimming pool 11m long and heated to 30C. After a Calorie burning swim and work out, I felt energised and ready to…
Keep calm and Carry On Shopping!
Only a stone’s throw away at 345, Nathan Road is the famous Wing On department store where you can shop to your heart’s delight. I made a beeline for the Wing Wah pastry shop, practically a Hong Kong instituions to ‘tar pow’ the celebrated “Low Por Pheng” or ‘wife biscuit’ to bring home.
‘Greenies’ take note, next time you visit Hong Kong, get smart and stay in Eaton Smart Hotel. “Yat dong zhi jau dim” which translates as ‘take me to Eaton Smart Hong Kong’! Enjoy! {:-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThetravellingG0urmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#73 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,606 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,307 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#101 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,272 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Property: Eaton, Hong Kong
Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. Restaurants and bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing