We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for shopping”
Review of Eaton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eaton, Hong Kong
Ranked #100 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed for 5 nights but actually used the room for 7 days. We arrived early at 8am and our room was ready, we asked for a late check out and were given till 1pm at no extra charge. We then paid for another 3 hours at only $55HKD an hour which is less than $10 AUD per hour. Get your breakfast included in the tariff as it includes everything you could want to fuel you for the day. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. You can get the A21 bus from the airport which pretty much stops out the front of the hotel and costs only $33HKD, so less than $6 AUD, its air conditioned and very comfortable. You can catch the same bus to the airport but you will need to cross Nathan Rd, we managed with heavy suitcases. The hotel is well maintained and close to the Jordon MTR, only a 5 min walk. The room is small but was cleaned everyday and the bathroon included a bath and was a good size. Didn't have time to use the pool but we did check it out and it was beautiful, the gym also was fully equipped. Temple street markets just across the road, 5 min walk and so is the Jade market and Mongkok markets just a quick bus trip up Nathan Road. Excellent location for shopping, easy to catch a bus or train. We used public transport to cross the border into Shenzhen and also into Maccau.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustraliaKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,238 - 3,244 of 4,103 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed in a standard room for 13 nights - it is smaller in general than Western hotels, however we found the room big enough for us and our stuff, the bathroom was lovely and had a bath, aircon worked well and not noisy, bed was very comfortable and as we spent the majority of our time around Hong Kong, or using the decent gym and small pool in the hotel we didn't find the room too claustrophobic - but if you like spending a lot of time in the room maybe opt for something a little larger.

The staff were always very friendly and the room cleaned superbly every day. We didn't try any of the restaurants as we were on a bit of a budget so ate out in small local restaurants of which there are numerous nearby. We got the normal bus service to the hotel and it stopped within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel - and is only $33HK so very cheap. Jordan metro station is within 5 minutes walk and Temple Street night market and a fruit and veg market very close. Would highly recommend this hotel - we got an excellent deal through wotif as a secret hotel - only $440HK a night and considering everything we felt it was well worth it!

Only slight downside was the cost of in room internet - $130 for one day for the most basic package - although the connection was fast unless you want to do personal banking etc (which we did) the rest of the time we waited downstairs by the main street cafe where they have 4 computers with free internet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Stayed in a deluxe double room with a view which was a bit smaller than expected but just right for 2 people. Modern facilities, very clean, comfortable. Hotel had a rooftop pool which was small but it was still nice & we never had a problem finding a space to swim or sit. Free internet access at hotel cafe. Metro Bar & Grill restaurant on hotel 4th floor is recommended. Hotel location was excellent, right on the main road Nathan Road in Kowloon, seconds away from shops, restaurants and a couple of minutes away from the Jordan MTR train station. The hotel looks exactly like the photos on their website!!!

Only issues with hotel was;
1) We found the staff and the food on the lower ground Main St Cafe in the hotel were below standard & let down the rest of the wonderful hotel facilities & service. The service at Main St Cafe was terrible because the staff didn't seem to want to be there & were rude & unhelpful on more than one occassion. The food in particular the mushroom chicken pie was very dry, tasteless & gave us food poisoning. We asked them to warm up the pies and the pies were still cold so we had to ask again. The muffins were also dry and tasteless. We recommend the Starbucks cafe which is 10 seconds away from Eaton hotel around the corner. The staff there are friendly, efficient & the food is better than the Main St Cafe - wouldn't say its the best Starbucks food we've had but it is good.

2) On our last day when we paid for a late checkout room wasn't cleaned or towels at least changed even though we requested it AND we were woken up at 5 am in the morning by a hotel staff member banging on our door by mistake even though we had the do not disturb button on.
3) Hotel has free umbrellas however umbrellas are on a first come first serve basis and most guests failed to return umbrellas at the end of the day so we waited 5 days for an umbrella. To ensure fairness for ALL guests we suggest hotel has a procedure put in place for umbrella usage and return so all guests can have equal opportunity to obtain an umbrella. Otherwise bring your own.

*** Travel tip: catch the airport express train from Hong Kong International Airport to Kowloon station for $70 Hong Kong dollars per person. From Kowloon station Eaton Hotel is only 5-10 minutes away so you can either take the free K1 route connecting shuttle to the hotel OR a taxi. Note the free K1 shuttle took at least 1 hour because Eaton Hotel was the last drop off. However a taxi should cost $30-35 Hong Kong dollars and is the quickest option.
**Travel tip: the MTR is fast and easy to use. $4 Hong kong dollars per trip for an adult.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravellingKiwisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Beautiful interior, fresh, clean & good sized rooms. Really comfortable beds with fresh white linen each day. Located in a main road in Kowloon so always easy to find - even named at exit in tube station nearby. Free internet access in hotel cafe. Beautiful roof pool (not big but was quiet with plenty of free sun loungers. Small but functional gym. Several restuarants but with usual hotel prices. Good tv selection in room with ipod docking station and internet access point for laptop.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to hong Kong.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottishTravelScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely hotel, excellent staff, excellent food, especially the breakfast ( Thank You, Lorraine, Head chef, for the duck eggs one morning!!) Spotlessly clean hotel, comfortable room and recommend the E service. My partner enjoyed the cocktails in the bar too! Nicely situated and near to the market. Great shopping! Our first trip to Hong Kong. A wonderful , memorable holiday. Would certainly return and definitely stay at the Eaton.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilFox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights with our young child, in a small (deluxe) room - the desk took up so much of the space we were unable to keep our bags open and had to fold up our buggy each time we came in our room. there was no bath in the bathroom was it didn't score well for a family room ! We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast is a buffet style with everything you could want. There was a rooftop outdoor swimming pool but unfortunately we were unable to use it as it was closed because it was raining. For the night markets this is a very good location (5 mins Temple St Market) and there are plenty of restaurants near by as well as convenice stores. We'd recommend a Chinese restaurant called Cheers around the corner (don't be put off by the name) good value for money very tasty chinese - the fish are taken live from a fish tank straight to the kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank royalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We went to Hong Kong and Macau on a whim from Sydney for a couple of weeks of snap hols. Booked the Eaton which was on Nathan Road because they had a great special, it came to around $AU90/night for the five nights were were there.

For that price we didn't expect much, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small (but all HK hotels are) but very comfortable with great comfy bed and even a courtesy international power adaptor plug. The room was the standard (lowest) for the price, so we only got a small CRT TV.

The bathroom was large and very clean.

And it's in a great location in Kowloon near Jordan MRT, near the Temple st markets and right on the Nathan Road shopping strip (although you should head to TST or the other way to Mongkok for more shopping).

The rooms were very well insulated from the noise of the neighbouring rooms too.

The swimming pool and gym on the top floor were good too.

We would highly recommend the Eaton. It didn't surprise us when we found out it was part of the Langham group.

The only minor let down was that the hotel's reception is on the fourth floor and so the ground floor was just a series of lifts, minor but it just didn't look much like a hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TN2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#95 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,337 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 730 in Hong Kong
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,392 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,223 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton, Hong Kong

Address: 380 Nathan Road, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Eaton Smart Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £77 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the very heart of Kowloon, Eaton, Hong Kong is only a few minutes' walk from Jordan MTR station. Look no further for some great complimentary activities including a Tai Chi Class, led by our Resident Tai Chi Master, and our exciting tours of the Jade and Temple Street markets as well as many other fascinating tourist hotspots. The rooftop swimming pool which is heated in winter, this place is a perfect spot to relax and sip a cool drink while our 24 hour Exert Fitness Centre provides you with extensive training equipment. The Hotel also offers a wide variety of dining options. Restaurants and bar including an extensive buffet restaurant, a traditional Cantonese restaurant and an al fresco bar, you'll find something for everyone's tastes. You can also stay connected at Eaton, Hong Kong as all residents can enjoy complimentary hi-speed wifi for an unlimited number of devices. With a clever, modern design and a spirited "Can Do" attitude, Eaton, Hong Kong offers everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in this the most vibrant of Asian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eaton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Smart Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Eaton Hong Kong
Eaton Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hong Hotel Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing