We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a huge problem, but they went out of their way to try to make it up...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

unfortunately my air conditioner broke. There were no other rooms available, and it was incredibly hot in the room.

The manager went out of his way with me, giving me a complementary day and a lot of Hyatt Gold Passport Miles.

Beyond that, a great hotel. Little bit of construction going on around it causing a bit of noise, but that is not their fault.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassportAlwaysOnHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,066 - 2,072 of 2,928 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for 15 years now and simply would not stay at another hotel if its available. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong location is located right on the Hong Kong Harbour and connected to the convention center. Although the rates here are not cheap its for good reason. If you have a harbour facing room you feel like you are in the water looking at all the beautiful sweeping skyline. The rooms may be a bit small (so is everything in Hong Kong). But the quality of the bed and size of the restroom with walk in shower (high powered) and sunken tub makes up for it. And where else can you open your curtains and see this amazing skyline of the IFC tower and Kowloon.

The pool area is top notch with drink and food service. The fitness center has all of the amenities that you can imagine. All of the restaurant food is high quality. I especially enjoy the Japanese restaurant and outdoor barbeque in the pool area. Also my girlfriend would always go to the hair stylist located in this hotel as he is considered one of the best. Located in Wanchai it is convenient to go to central, across to Tsim shatsui on the ferry or just walk around the bars of old wanchai.

Having said all of this what really makes this hotel special is the service. This is why I would rate this particular hotel one of the best in the world not just Hong Kong. The concierege is able to get you into clubs that normally are impossible to access. They can help you find an area to fix your laptop or recommend a place to find a particular item. I've also had some unlucky incidents of getting sick or injured and the hotel has always been able to get me a doctor on a moments notice.

Highly recommend booking the Grand Club. The views from their lounge are stunning and the service is impeccable. Always look forward to coming back here.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view and high floor if booking online in the comments section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthBaySurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt early and late June on our way to and from Europe. My watch was returned to me personally by a member of staff on our homeward leg. I had no idea I had left it there and had given it up as lost! I was blown away by this show of honesty and follow up.
In addition EVERY one of the staff in the Grand Club made everything happen for us no matter how small. We will return based on concierge SERVICE and of course the HONESTY alone.
The breakfasts are as good as any we have had in the world and the new Steak House was a sensation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steph1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The suites are about to refurbished, so at the moment they are a bit dated but still they are as comfortable as ever. This is a large hotel which is excellently run. The service is seamless. The Club Lounge maybe the best the world. However, the crowning glory is always the mesmerizing harbour views. For a large hotel it is highly recommended although inevitably the swimming pool area is crowded. The spa was up to standard. Hotel car transfers are worth it if you have a lot of luggage. It was very difficult leave, a few days extra here would have been a very good thing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Excellent hotel in hong kong. Nice view good location. Very best service from hotell staff. No.1 hotel in hong kong.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 신짱구
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Beware loud construction down on street level....constant banging....hotel is somewhat dated. Overall nice but perhaps not worth the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmkweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hotel might be getting a little bit old, but the strong maintenance and upgrading has kept the hotel in tip top shape.

There was some minor hiccup with the room aircon not working and blowing out hot air - but they worked tirelessly for 3 hours till it got fixed. I will give them credit for their excellent service to fix the problem.

The room was clean and spacious. The hotel gym is very big, with plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

There was an amusing incident on Friday June 25 evening 6pm at the hotel taxi stand about 20 people waiting in line) - where a female hotel staff was chatting up a Caucasian hotel guest, and helped him "cut queue" in front of all other hotel guests. One hotel guest got angry, but the fermale staff claimed that the Caucasian was going to Kowloon - to which another hotel guest said that he was also going to Kowloon. She quickly apologised then ran away. I thought that was very unprofessional. I hope she got his phone number, because she got a lot of people in the line very angry.

Otherwise - a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,234 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,202 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,451 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road | Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £197 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing