We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experence !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I don't often write glowing reviews of hotels but this one was flawless. I was supposed to fly home on Saturday but my plane was full and I had to stay another night in Hong Kong. All this after I had been awake all of the previous night. I was literally sitting at the airport trying to find somewhere to stay when I found the Grand Hyatt on a search engine. I called them up told them what happened and they said “no problem we will organise a room for you head back to Hong Kong”. From the moment I showed up at the desk and gave my name everyone knew what had happened to me and was very sympathetic. They gave me a free upgrade to a Victoria Harbour room and expressed the check in process as they knew I was keen to sleep. I arrived in the room and needed laundry done as I had not planned on staying another night. It was 1 hour after the cut off time for normal service but they still came and got it and had returned it 6 hours later no extra charge. I went to sleep for a few hours then got up and went to the shop, when I returned 30 min later someone had come in and remade the bed! The room is massive by Hong Kong standards, the bathroom is bigger than most normal rooms in Hong Kong. The bathroom has a large bath and separate show with all the trimmings. The bedroom had a desk and chaser and still plenty of space. The bed was very comfortable and had a nice view. The location is slightly out of the way if you are thinking Wan Chai but if you are going to the convention centre it is literally attached to it. Although 5-10 min walk over the overpass and you will be in the centre of Lockhart road.

Really don’t have a bad word to say about this place and I will definitely return to it next time I am Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Never seen a normal room but the harbour view rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon F, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We were delighted to learn that the Team responded quickly to your request for accommodation, and that they were sympathetic to your situation. Please rest assured that we will recognise the Team for their care and efficiency. We look forward to welcoming you home to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong.

Best regards,

Gordon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,871 - 1,877 of 2,838 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I travelled to Hong Kong for a wedding. While weighing options for hotels, we decided to take the plunge and treat ourselves while in Hong Kong. The Grand Hyatt does not disappoint. We stayed on the club level, and while that was another option we debated (I don't actually drink), it was well worth it. Seems like it's own special hotel within the hotel. The staff take the time to get to know/recognize each guest and try to anticipate needs. The food was excellent, the rooms were clean and well maintained. The water pressure in the shower almost blew my face off - it was great! We didn't have a harbour view room, but being only one floor away from the club level allowed us to go and see the harbour light show when we were in the hotel. It is expensive, but well worth it if you want to treat yourself - and on this trip, we did!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimB_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon F, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Grand Club experience. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the attentiveness of our employees, the shower water pressure, and your dining experience in the hotel. Please contact me directly when you return as we would love to welcome you home to a Grand Club Harbour View room.

Best regards,

Gordon Fuller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My partner went for business and I tagged along for pleasure.
The hotel is welcoming, serene, well equipped, comfortable and very well located.
We had a run of the mill room overlooking the pool area and it was more than adequate for business and "tag along" purposes.
The only shortcoming was we had to pay for wi-fi. It's a personal pet peeve of mine.

Fantastic breakfast selection, really nice pool area with a variety of poolside food and drinks choices available. Only shortcoming here is that, at times, trying to get someone to take your order is quite a challenge.

All in all, not the best hotel in Hong Kong but I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon F, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please be advised that we extend complimentary wi-fi to all Grand Club guests and elite tier members of Hyatt Gold Passport. Please rest assured that we will consider your request to widen this benefit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback regarding our leisure facilities, and will take on board your comments regarding our poolside service.

Best regards,

Gordon Fuller




Fantastic breakfast selection, really nice pool area with a variety of poolside food and drinks choices available. Only shortcoming here is that, at times, trying to get someone to take your order is quite a challenge.

All in all, not the best hotel in Hong Kong but I would happily stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here on business but would normally stay on Kowloon side for leisure.
Hotel, staff, location are fantastic. A must have is Club Lounge access with breakfast and hapPy hour with Moët on tap. Fabulous appetiserS make it difficult to leave room for dinner. A special mention for Scott who works in the lounge and who could not be more welcoming. A great asset to the hotel. Star ferry to Kowloon is less than 5 min walk and so easy. All in all an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di5227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon F, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

We were delighted to receive your post following your recent stay in Grand Club. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Grand Club offering. Please rest assured that Scott will be recognised for the assistance extended to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Grand Hyatt is a lovely hotel - perfect for business. It reeks of 80s opulence - not necessarily a criticism - just showing that they have the attitude of "If it ain't broke, don't fix it".

It's very plush, very nice facilities, very good breakfast, great location, very attentive service. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before however having just returned wanted to share my thoughts. This hotel really does tick all the boxes but what makes it stand out from the rest are the superb staff. The location , rooms , restaurants are all fabulous but the staff are beyond any expectation. Most of them have been there for some time and the hotel runs like a well oiled machine. I only go twice or three times a year however they always remember me ( by name ). They know my likes and dislikes. Simple things like always ensuring I have a DVD player in my room ( asked for once years ago ). Also I mentioned that I did not like the brand of the amenities in the room ( still very good ) and now I always get Aesop. This is just 2 examples of what I regard as above and beyond customer service. These are all the small things but this small attention to detail is what really makes this to be one of the best hotels in the world. I stay at many and The Grand Hyatt is one of the few places I get excited about visiting again. The location is terrific being right on the harbour. Well worth the extra money to get a harbour view as little beats Hong Kong harbour at night. The additional cost to stay in The Grand Club - best $$ you will spend. This is a wonderful experience and the service provided by Scott , Danny, Maggie , Stephanie and Meg - well what can I say - they are legends and I now regard them as friends and look forward to seeing them again. The restaurants on offer was seriously good. The steak house has to serve what was one of the best steaks I have ever had, all backed up with a extensive wine list. Grissini the Italian has the best angel hair pasta with crab and The Tiffin lounge pan fries Foie Gras to order. There is also a Japanese , Cafe , Champagne Bar , Roof Top Grill and all as good as each other. They are renovating next year so with brand new rooms and the best staff this will make The Grand Hyatt unbeatable.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a Harbour view and even a little more and stay at The Grand Club, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janwholeboxndice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

GH HK has been around for quite some time and has a good and consictent service level .
Rooms are a bit worn out and on the small side compared with other top hotels in HK . You can stay at the MO for the same price in a renovated and larger room.
Lobby is impressive , the bar ok , the new steak house really with a visit.
Also would recommend to stay at a club floor as the top floor club lounge has very good service , perfect for breakfast and after work drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetlaggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,081 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road | Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £201 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing