We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We just returned from a Christmas trip to HK, staying at the Grand Hyatt in Wan Chai. The lobby and Christmas decorations were impressive, and we were dealt with swiftly upon check in and upgraded to one of their new refurbished rooms. The rooms are well appointed with all the usual 5* amenities including Nespresso, black out blinds, marble bathroom, nice toiletries etc.

Staff were generally helpful in hailing taxis and assisting us with our 1yo however, upon asking for some milk for my daughter, we were charged $73HKD which I found completely outrageous and would expect 200mls of milk would be give for free to a paying guest. They were also very unhelpful when we asked about the kitchens washing our bottles, and we were told to do it in our room which again, I would not expect at a 5* hotel. Other 5* hotels we have stayed in have done this with no problem.

Some building work was ongoing while we stayed but it didn't really bother us much. Breakfast was not included but we had it on Christmas day and I was very impressed with the quality and selection, however, again, the prices were simply eyewatering - over 350HKD each!

I would say this is definitely more of a business than a leisure hotel - unless you book a harbour view room you have very disappointing views of the back of buildings, and I don't think they are used to dealing with families plus the location next to the convention centre suggests it is better for business travellers.

Overall we had a nice stay but I had a more pleasant stay at the Peninsula HK.

Room Tip: Pay extra for harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDangerousBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear The Dangerous Blonde

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. Hope that you have taken some photos with our Christmas tree as the backdrop.

I understand that travelling with young children, you will require milk bottles cleansing. My apologies if we did not offer to lend you a bottle steriliser. Please may I request that you write to me directly at gladis.young@hyatt.com with your stay's registered name so that we can remark in your profile that you travel with young kids? Hope that the next time on your return we can try our best to accommodate your request. Thank you again for choosing to stay with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,973 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have just returned from a two day stay at the Grand Hyatt in HK. We enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay again. The service was impeccable. Very personalised service, we felt well looked after. They are currently undergoing renovations, updating the rooms, this did not bother us at all (noise was minimal). Our room overlooked the convention centre/harbour, with fantastic views. They are however also doing construction work just at the back of the convention centre which was just in front of our room. Given we were out and about all day, this did not bother us either. Short walk to city centre, and/or taxi trip. Short walk to ferry terminal. A number of restaurants located in the hotel itself. Would highly recommend breakfast and the Steakhouse.

Hotel offer a transfer limousine service to and from the airport, cost 980 HK each trip, would highly recommend, definitely worth the cost. Once again the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hap43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Hap43

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. Happy to know that you have enjoyed Grand Cafe and Grand Hyatt Steakhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Wishing you a wonderful 2014.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communciations
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I can't enthuse enough about this hotel. It has been a truly wonderful visit. The reception area with its massive Christmas Tree is stupendous (although sadly that has now been taken down - 28th December). The staff wonderful and very helpful - special thanks to Ling and Jack in the Tiffin area who looked after us so very well during our short three night stay. Rooms brilliant, pool lovely, gym very well equipped and great to use. The service second to none in our view. Everything you would expect in such a hotel. I had the pleasure of staying in the Mandarin Oriental here some 20 years ago (and I remember it will with much affection) but our stay at the Grand Hyatt is on par - if not better!!. I hope the Grand Hyatt Management appreciate how well and hard their staff work to make guests' stays so welcoming and stress free in our view. How can you sum it up in one word?? - I can't I'm afraid - just brilliant, superb, excellent, amazing etc. etc. We are at the beginning of an around the world trip from the UK and Hong Kong was the first stop - absolute perfection. Many, many thanks to all the team at Grand Hyatt, Hong Kong, China.

Room Tip: At the moment, if you stay for three nights or more you are guaranteed an upgrade to a Harbour View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Richard83

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We truly appreciate your compliments and will share it with the team. I would like to wish you a fun and exciting round-the-world trip while we also look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Wishing you a wonderful 2014.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is the fourth time I've stayed here and this time I got to stay in the renovated rooms- I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, the quality of the rooms, the fantastic breakfast buffet, the wonderful and helpful staff. I would always stay here by choice in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Of course watching the harbour makes harbour view rooms so wonderful, you don't need the TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCalvert2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Sarah2708

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. We truly appreciate your continous support. We will convey your compliments to the team. Happy to learn that you have enjoyed the newly designed guestroom. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wishing you a wonderful 2014.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A large hotel, but one with very personal service, which made for a wonderful stay. On arrival, we were checked into a plateau terrace room - a lovely Japanese style room on the spa floor with a terrace and harbour and Kowloon views, which were perfect for watching the sun go down and the lights come on. The room itself was a great size, and the Japanese influence meant it was pleasantly different to the standard hotel room, with nice sculpture throughout and a great oversized bathtub. Staff were attentive and eager to help and the hotel is convenient to Wan Chai, but also close to the Central area. The hotel is being refurbed, and separate building work is going on outside, but neither of these posed an issue. Would certainly stay here when next in HK on business or leisure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear MarkReynolds

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Plateau Spa. Hope that you have also found it an urban sanctuary for a quiet escape. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy festive holidays.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grannd Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times over the course of the last few years and are booked here again for Chinese New Year's. We had the option of booking here or at the Mandarin Orient. Hyatt is better by far. Harbour views are extraordinary, service is excellent and the Club Level Lounge is not to be believed. Great breakfasts (downstairs breakfast is also a veritable feast for the eyes and stomach). Cannot say enough good things about this hotel, its service and amenities.

Room Tip: Harbor view upper floors have spectacular view. Club level floor even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brukze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear BrukzE

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. We appreciate your postive comments. Will definitely share it with Grand Club, Grand Cafe and the chefs.

Thank you for your continous support. We look forward to welcoming you back in Chinese New Year.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed in a Harbor View King room, and the view was fantastic. The window is the full width of the room, and it's a 360 view of Hong Kong Harbor and Kowloon: beautiful by day and night.

The Wan Chai neighborhood, where the hotel was, was a little distant if your business is in central. It's either a cab ride or a long-ish walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, director of marketing communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear dmcqb

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. Delighted to know that you are impressed with the views as much as we do. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,329 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,246 reviews
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,165 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Harbour Road | Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £203 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing