We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #16 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to HK to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and selected this hotel since we had a deal on our credit card. It turned out to be an excellent choice. Great location in terms of access to local sights, shops, the ferry and so on. The concierge is helpful and so are the other staff. They even sent us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our silver anniversary. The room upgrade due to the Hyatt card was useful too. All in all a great place to visit.

Room Tip: For best harbour views, ask them while booking. We did not have this, but the room was still lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirsty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear thirsty7

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. Delighted to know that you have had a pleasant celebratory trip in Hong Kong. Congratulate again on your 25th anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,755
    590
    134
    44
    22
See reviews for
367
557
168
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed club service for our 3 night stay. The breakfasts were fantastic as was the view from the lounge. The cocktails and appetizers were amazing. The room was spacious, clean, stocked with everything we may have forgotten/need and they provided a rollaway for our son at no charge. We asked for a harbour view room and they complied - fabulous views. The pool and gym were excellent. The ferry to the Kowloon side was a 5 minute walk. The best part was the staff- helpful, friendly, efficient. We would definitely come back here again and highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Dawn C

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. We appreciate your encouraging comments, we will relay it to the team.

It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Grand Hyatt Hong Kong was my "go to" hotel for many years when I lived and worked in Asia and I was looking forward to visiting it once again, particularly to see the renovation. To say I was disappointed would be a massive understatement. The lobby still has it's grandeur and the food at Grissini is still excellent but the rest of the experience was a let down. The noise, even on the 26th floor, was a constant disruption. I ended up working with my earphones and music on as it was the only way to deal with the incessant noise. The renovated room was merely Ok and certainly not worth it's price tag. Lots of marble, almost clinical in its ambiance and was not somewhere to which I looked forward to returning after a day in the office. I will be going back to Hong Kong in a couple of months but not to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank The_bald_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear The_bald_gourmet

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your compliments for our lobby and Grissini Italian Restaurant though we are disappointed to hear your less than perfect experience re the noise. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back as our guest on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Constant noise from renovations. The hotel should be closed cown for a year while renovations are carried out as happens at top hotels around the world. Rooms are tiny and even a newly renovated room felt shabby and was not set up for working at a desk. There was a constant foul smell from the blocked shower outlet and the breakfast waiter did a passable impression of Manuel from FawltyTowers. Don't even consider staying here !

Room Tip: Book a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallmall600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Pallmall 600

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn about your disappointing experience. We would like to look into the smell issue in the room that you have stayed. Please may I request that you write to me direct with your registered name and peirod of stay, so that we can follow up with the Engineering team? My email is gladis.young@hyatt.com.

Thank you for your support.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The Hong Kong Grand Hyatt has been a tremendous disappointment. First, don't even consider staying until the renovations are complete. There is ear-splitting, migraine-inducing noise from 9am to 5pm. We were warned of "noise", but this was beyond the pale.

Even if the noise hadn't made our arrival awful, our shabby treatment was a huge disappointment. We had communicated our 2pm-ish arrival, and we're a bit later, only to find that one of our rooms was not ready. In the end it was nearly 4pm - over an hour of the horrible racket mentioned above - before we could settle in. This chewed up a considerable amount of our short visit. Calls to the front desk and the manager produced a small fruit basket and nothing else.

Later, at 9:10pm, as our tired children were going to sleep in one room, the doorbell started frantically ringing -- it was the turn-off service, ludicrously late.

The rooms are acceptable but nothing special -- a little tired. The location is awkward, and we're zero for three on taxi drivers knowing how to get here.

I don't know if they are off their game because of the renovations, or if this is just an outlier for a usually dependable brand. Avoid it until things change.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank gnetwerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear gnetwerker

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear about your disappointing experience. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back when the renovation is completed.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Renovations are noisy, rooms have no amenities including no coffee except instant, no shop in hotel for incidentals and not convenient location. I stayed in club room and was expecting same level as other hotels but was disappointed. Lots of accommodating staff but they just cant make up for lack of offerings.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodystephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear jodystephens

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn about your disappointment. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back when the renovation is completed.

Regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda Co Louth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

It is convenient for getting around but the drilling that is going on at the moment really leaves a lot to be desired. It was awful. The food was good but expensive.
The hotel is very convenient for the Convention Centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear RCoyle

Greetings. Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for your compliments. Sorry that the renovation noise has caused you inconvenience. We would truly appreciate your understanding.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Property: Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing