We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staycation with a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Ranked #16 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great staycation with a few niggles”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stay here every year on a package. Staff in every part if the hotel are excellent: efficient, courteous and they really know the hotel services. Rooms have been renovated, open plan and apparently slightly bigger, I quite liked the old design but the new configuration is very nice.
Only slight design issue we had was there isn't a small toilet switch so if you need to go during the night you have to switch the whole bathroom on and as it's open plan you'd wake anyone else. A small low light would be good there.
Lunch by the pool was excellent, great service and it's seafood heaven, prices are higher than before it's about 800 hkd with free flow sparking wine, it's now in the same price bracket as places like Zuma who offer real champagne ..but the service and setting is lovely. Pool staff excellent, handing out water etc and the area is really well kept.
Had room service lunch the next day, very nice, great presentation and service there too.
Breakfast is a real highlight with an amazing selection of western, Korean and Cantonese food there. The afternoon tea is always worth a visit but we didn't go this time.
Wife was an issue, we used the free one and the speed is just terrible, things don't download , it took about 4/5 minutes to get a decent connection. Shame as outside the hotel the wifi speed is much faster. To get a document I simply stepped outside the hotel, picked up my signal and came back in. This was brought up at check out. We didn't have to work over the weekend so no big issue there. Otherwise it's a lovely hotel, not flash or trendy but very classy, classic and the service is probably the best in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear TadgeHongKong

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Delighted to see that you have enjoyed the Grill's lunch by the pool, room service and breakfast selection. Thank you for your comments re wifi and the addition of the low light in the toilet. We will reflect this in the works meeting. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,808
    603
    136
    44
    22
See reviews for
378
570
172
1,196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Staff was very warm from the time we pulled up in our cab. They immediately opened the doors for my wife and I, tended to our luggage, and personally escorted us to the front desk for check-in. Since our flight arrived at 5:00 A.M., thus our early arrival at hotel, we had the opportunity to have an amazing buffet breakfast before our immaculate room was ready. The views of the harbor were breathtaking, the room touched every sensory detail imaginable, location to ferry was two blocks away (took to Kowloon), the gym was laid out very nicely, and the evening cigar/drinks at Waterfall Bar capped a very special two-day trip to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: If available, ask for room facing the harbor. Peaceful views when taking it down at night and invigo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Rodney J

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Delighted to see that you have an exceptional stay. The Waterfall Bar is also my personal favouirte as it is unique and the ambience casual and yet elegant. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Have been visiting regularly over the past 10 years. Always first class service. A real bonus is the Club on the 30th floor where breakfast and cocktails are served in a very comfortable environment. When the weather is good (as it is today!), excellent view over the harbour.

Rooms are well appointed and always very clean. Swimming pool and gym facilities also excellent.

Only slight drawback is the location (Wan Chai) so not as convenient as some hotels to the Central business district. However, in my opinion, the plus points above more than compensate.

Room Tip: 30th floor upwards, quieter and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear MJCH2013

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. We truly appreciate your continous support for Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. Thanks for your compliments on our guestroom and Club lounge. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Have just stay at 'Grand Hyatt' HK and truly were blown away by all it has to offer. The smooth seamless transfer from airport to Hotel.. check in .. allocation of room ..the room itself had absolutely every amenity you could think of. Bed & linen quality 10/10 - location of room 2207 was excellent 'king dlx city view' - magic view especially at night. We were travelling with our adult children and their families a party of 11 in 5 rooms. The main reasons for choosing 'Grand Hyatt' they have interconnecting rooms...swimming pool .. closeness to transport (MTR). We will definitely stay here again . Everyone in the family from adult to youngest grandchild commented positively on the hotel . My daughter used the Babysitting service .. Helen the sitter was so lovely .. the children were very happy and well cared for. Buffet breakfast was the best, most delicious I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 76elizabethp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear 76elizabethp

Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. Happy to learn about your pleasant experience. How delightful it was to travel with a big group of friends or families. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming all of you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A great escape amount the bustle of Hong Kong. In these beautifully renovated rooms this hotel is luxury. Staff exceeded every exception and were so friendly to engage with. A nice grill at the evening by the pool made you forget you were in the middle of Hong Kong. The weekend I was there it was hot a weekend by the pool was bliss...although a few more umbrellas would of been good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nadina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear 77nadinas

Greetings. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Delighted to know that you have enjoyed our newly designed guestrooms, the Grill's dinner buffet and our swimming pool. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Grand Hyatt is my hotel since over 30 years whenever I visit HKG. They have never let me down. The quality of service is high, friendly and outstanding every time. I'm seeing the same people again and again. They remember my preferences and are there for me day and night, whenever needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bruno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Bruno R

Greetings. Thank you for sharing your feedback. First of all, thank you for your continuous suppport for Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We are truly appreciative of your compliments and encouragement. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I am staying at the Grand Hyatt and although I can imagine this hotel is good under normal circumstances, it is currently unbearable to stay here. DRILLING between 9am-5:30pm (they take a break between 1:00pm and 2:30pm). Not just some drilling, constant drilling to the point where I feel like I am living in a nightmare that won't end. I have had a headache since I arrived and it will not go away. You cannot get any work done in this hotel under these circumstances. Trust me, if you're coming to relax or on business and know that you'll be doing activities in the hotel, go somewhere else... Do yourself a favor, and call first to see if they're still renovating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MER79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gladisyoung, Director of Marketing Communications at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear MER79

Greetings. Thank you for letting us know your feedback. Disappointed to learn of your less than perfect stay. We concerned very much the impact of noise on our guests. Months before the project started in January 2013, we have started to make an effort to inform guests, who have booked with us, of the renovation and the noise concern, so that they had enough time to change plan if they wanted to. Also, we have straightly limited the construction noise to 10:00am and 5:30pm on weekdays and only permit intermittent noise on weekends and public holidays. We hope that this particular stay does not affect your faith in Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Gladis

Gladis Young
Director of Marketing Communications
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,847 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,623 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Hong Kong

Property: Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong is located along the waterfront of Hong Kong Island commanding views of the harbour. The hotel is directly connected to the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel is only 5 minutes by car from Central and Causeway Bay; and 40 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong features 542 luxurious rooms and suites, nine acclaimed restaurants and bars offering a fabulous range of cuisines including Chinese, Italian, Japanese and international fare, in the heart of the Wanchai district. Located on the 11th floor of the Grand Hyatt, the Plateau Spa offers privacy, seclusion and an escape from the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Grand Hyatt Hong Kong boasts extensive entertainment facilities such as a 50-metre outdoor heated pool and a 24-hour fitness studios and a 400-metre jogging path. Please be informed of the waterfront promenade project that is currently undertaking outside the hotel. The project is at times visible from and audible at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hyatt Hong Kong
Hong Kong Grand Hyatt
Hong Kong Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing