We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overpriced hotel with crap facilities!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #265 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
“Overpriced hotel with crap facilities!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've recently stayed in this hotel over Xmas and do not recommend staying there if you can avoid it!

Only good thing about this hotel is its location in Nathan Road. Otherwise:

-they are rude (people at the front desk need a hospitality course on how to deal with clients; one piece of advice: SMILE, SMILE, SMILE)
-Gave us an exhorbitant price for new year's eve (I understand they charge "a bit more" but not huge amounts) and when you want to cancel the room and threat to leave they say it is up to you as the whole price needs to be paid anyway. WHO DOES THAT??? never seen anything like this before.
-I booked a triple room and instead of getting 3 beds (like any other hotel will do), they gave us an extra bed, which they charged for of course. We had to spend 4 days crammed up in a room with no light and a horrible noise from the aircon that could not be switched off.
-Charge for the internet after 20minutes. Even in shopping centres, airport etc, you can get better coverage and it is free.

In summary overpriced hotel with crap facilities!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you. Due to not enough information, we cannot located your staying period.

Customer Service is always our core training topic in our hotel. We will continue to enhance this training to our staff. Perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our recent room assignment did not meet your expectations. The core guestroom renovation plan had been set in 2014.

From your comments, I assumed you have pre-booked our hotel under a advance purchase program which has the terms & conditions bounded for no cancellation and no amendment during those festival seasons. And, this were all hotels in Hong Kong also did, but not only to our hotel. We always emphasized to our guests to book directly with free WiFi in room or sometimes with free room upgrade to the new renovated room.

If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    240
    229
    94
    93
See reviews for
152
103
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Asked for a 3 bed room, got a 2 bed room with an extra bed squeezed in. No storage space for clothes, only hanging space with only 3 hangers. Lived out of suitcases for duration. Room smelt of stale smoke. Stayed 5 nights room wasn't cleaned once, towels changed but were in very poor state of repair having been patched. Beds very hard, mattress on top of a wooded base. Staff mostly unhelpful & unfriendly. Only good thing is location, right in the middle of the shopping & restaurants area & close to underground. Holiday inn only two doors away & Sheraton close by. Great area to stay in don't be fooled by the pictures. Room on side of hotel, no view as the next building was only a couple of meters away & was very dark even on a bright sunny day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. Due to not much information provided, we cannot located your actual staying period in our hotel.

Perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our recent room assignment did not meet your expectations. We will certainly tighten our control of the Triple room request. The core hotel guestroom renovation plan had been set in 2014. Our hotel also cooperate with the idea of Environment Protection Program. If guest stay more than 2 nights, they can select not to change the bed sheet daily, unless you have place the Green Card on the bed to indicate you need to change the bed sheet. We have always emphasize our staff Customer Service Training, and this will continue in our core training program. I would be interested to learn if you enjoyed the convenience location of our hotel?

If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Even with free wifi in room, and a room change, one would never want to return to this hotel ever again. Bed is as hard as a rock, not for slping condition. Room is not sound-proof, when ppl close or talk outside, able to hear in the room. Worst then any other hotel. Enough said.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

Perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our refurbishments did not meet your expectations. The core bathroom and guestroom have not been fully refurbished as yet, however we do have plans in 2014 to upgrade these areas as well. I would be interested to learn more comments from you.
If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spend 5 nights at this hotel , paid more than $180 a night . the location was great but the rooms are very small with very rude staffs , none of their staffs has any smile on their face when they deal with the customer. no one is bother to give any help when I wanted to ask some directons .

The beds are moving , they didn't even fix the beds properly.

But love the location , its next to Chun King Mansion and close to star ferry also MTR .

I would never stay at this hotel. there are plenty of hotels near by for $180 a night

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you, perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our Front Office staff did not meet your expectations. And the bed in your room was not fixed well. We have a detail renovation plan for the hotel in 2014. Also, we always provide the on job training to our staff. In order to improve their service standard. If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

In terms of location, the place was good as it is near the mrt, attractions and shopping areas (except during the night! there are bystanders near the hotel that freaked us out! We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and for 3 nights they were there as well..some looked drunk others are offering people something!) The rooms are not so clean.. We had to request for another room upon check in cause they gave us a smelly room. The front desk were helpful. But I don't think I'll go back at this place anymore...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstravelandstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your experiences with the reader of TripAdvisor! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel excellent. However, for those people you have seen around the hotel which they were come from the next door ChungKing Masion. Although we have no right to stop them to stay around the street, we have wrote letters to the Police Station & District Council request their help on this matters.

Perhaps, it is disappointing to see that our recent room assignment did not meet your expectations. The core guest rooms have not been fully refurbished as yet, however we do have plans in the future to upgrade these areas as well.

If you do wish to provide any further feedback regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly by email eam@imperialhotel.com.hk.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last week and we love the location, our room 1713 is ok but i dont like the view. Staffs are kinda stiff but ok when approached.
We were given a room that we have requested a non smoking room, room with window, and early check-in. You can leave your bag in the lobby for 5hkd per bag.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel excellent. As you can notice during your stay that our lobby size was not too big, so that we have to control the number of storage by storage fees. It is normally do in the same class hotel in Hong Kong.

Our team work very hard to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and treated like they are at home. It is great for them to see feedback such as yours.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial hotel
eam@imperialhotel.com.hk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

It was our 1st stay here and find the hotel‘s location right smacked in TST, the nearest MTR exit is a mere 3 mins away. Thus making it very accessible to attractions like Avenue of Star, Star Ferry, Harbour City Mall, 1881 Heritage and a few Museums. Food shops are galore too, even at the wee hours! Additionally there is a mosque within walking distance and A21 stops in front of the hotel. What more to ask.?
We stayed at 12xx and find the room reasonably sized (I have stayed smaller units hotel before..) good enough to accommodate luggage and stuffs. The toilet is complete with basic amenities. We also find the beds reasonably clean and comfortable. Only pity is that not many tv channels are available, and our room has hardly any window view. The hotel offers quite attractive buffet breakfast for travelers at HKD$50, did not try it as there are already so many interesting food options around.

The dislikes; hotel lobby is small/cramped and there are quite a few touting just near the hotel entrance.

We have read fellow TA’s review of the hotel and we personally find it pleasantly better than we have expected. For free-and-easy travelers like myself location and accessibility is definitely more paramount than all else. We will probably stay here again if the package is attractive priced!.

Room Tip: Request for a Nathan Rm fronting rm so there's good st view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J&S_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialHotelHKG, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us. Isn’t it amazing being able to take some time out and enjoy our beautiful city & tasty food? For those of us who live here we sometimes take it for granted and we are pleased to see that more and more visitors are taking the opportunity to be “tourists in Hong Kong”.

We hope that you had a wonderful stay with us and we are honored that you chose our hotel to stay. Please feel free to contact with me directly at eam@imperialhotel.com.hk. And we will arrange an room upgrade to our newly renovated room for you.

P.S.
Hotel will provide free WiFi access in the lobby in next January and if you book directly with our hotel website. Also will include free WiFi in room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Gary AU
Executive Assistant Manager
The Imperial Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#157 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#141 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#125 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Xi Hotel
Xi Hotel
#169 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#275 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: No. 32-34 Nathan Road | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel guests were mainly from South East Asia & PRC. Due to our Convenient location, our guests can easily go around Hong Kong for Sightseeing, Shopping & Dining. Also, It was a perfect location for business travelers. Cause we were just in the Central HUB of all transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hong Kong
Imperial Hotel Hong Kong
The Imperial Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing