We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and good restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Ranked #28 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and good restaurants”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very nice hotel on Kowloon side in Tsim Sha Tsui. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable and big enough. Nice bathroom wih seperate shower. The only drawback was the view of my room: I just looked at a illuminated concrete wall. OK, this might happen due to the fact that I got a quite low rate at his hotel. There are many restaurants around this hotel like Ruth Chris, italian, japanese, german, chinese.....

Room Tip: If you have the chance to upgrade to a Harbor view room you should definitely do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    887
    188
    38
    28
See reviews for
545
676
174
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
231 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Join the free IHG Priority Club membership before booking this hotel as it may get you a room upgrade, free wifi and a drink of your choice at the lounge. This was what I got. The Premium Twin Room on the 12th floor was recently renovated, spacious and well designed. It comes with iPod player. Beds and pillows were comfortable, showers were great. Front desk service was very friendly, and the concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. Even the housekeeping staff were friendly. My room looked out on to an ugly office building on Mody Road but that was ok, I still liked the room. The hotel has a good gym, but the steam rooms, saunas and jacuzzis are located in the Spa which you have to pay for in order to use.

It was rather pricey but less so than its more glamorous cousin just 500 meters away facing the waterfront. Location is not bad, although surrounding office buldings and hotels look old. It's convenient for visiting the Kowloon side of Victoria Harbour, the Avenue of Stars (with fingerprints of HK movie stars), and for watching the nightly 8 pm Light Show of major buildings on both sides of the harbour (it was disappointing perhaps because it was foggy that night, but I think it can be skipped). The nearest MTR station is about 8-10 minutes walk, and to walk to Nathan Road for the major shopping centers is too far (20 mins). Overall, a pleasant hotel that provides excellent service.

Room Tip: Get the Premium rooms which have been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights on a recent business trip. Very nice and newly renovated rooms that are maintained well. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly and willing to help. Only note I would make would be to travelers not familiar with dress codes or accepted wear while dining in the hotel retaurants. I ate breakfast the first morning I stayed there at the buffet. I went to the buffet in a nicer pair of shorts and a polo shirt and was greeted by some looks that made me uncomfortable. Apparently the accepted wear is pants at a minimum. While I wasn't inappropriate in what I was wearing, I did note that they and the other guests at the hotel have a minimum standard of wear in public. To be honest, I have to say that that standard was noted throughout my stay in Hong Kong and not just the hotel. I was just more comfortable and accepted wearing pants and not shorts nearly everywhere I went and stayed that way for the rest of the trip. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtaylor842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Nice hotel located in a busy area, close to shops, restaurants and cafes. My room was clean, modern, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was quite nice with a wide selection of food.

The hotel's chinese restaurant was already very nice. We had a late dinner there and the service was excellent and the food, delicious.

The only thing I did not enjoy was the fact that there is no room to sit in the lobby besides the lounge area where you can only consume hotel food & drinks. For a Starbucks fan like me, I had to go back to my room to enjoy my latte when I woudl have prefered sitting in the nice lobby. But no big deal really.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guizzi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Pros: Good facilities, for example the room was modern and clean, bed comfortable. Heated swimming pool on the roof (26 deg.C) was very clean and well maintained. Nice lobby area with drinks served in the lounge area. Excellent breakfast selection. All of the staff were very polite and offered good service when we needed it.

Cons: We had booked a room for 3 persons however upon arrival at 2 am the 3rd bed was not ready and there were only 2 bottles of water in the room. We had to wait a while for someone to deliver the bed, which was not very pleasant at such a late hour when we were ready to collapse. Our room was very nice however the view was poor, overlooking a completely enclosed space in the centre of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I come as a platinum member of IHG and the room seems said to be upgraded to renovated room. Even though they can't upgrade me to a harbour view room I am still satisfied with the room.

Checked in at 10pm and the staff is nicely greeted. There is a welcome fruit, night chocolate in place. The room is tidy and very clean. The bed is also very comfortable to sleep with. I like the smell of the body wash and everything is just so nice. Can get a late check-out at 2pm without any problem.

Had a welcome drink as well at the lobby lounge, it's quite pack and not easy to find a seat, though the cuppacino is nice too!

Room Tip: try to ask for a rennovated room, my floor is 12th
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joejoejoehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed once again at the Grand Stanford and was positively impressed by the new rooms (recently renovated). Modern look and very functional.
The stay was very good, with good reception service upon arrival and departure (got an upgraded room) as well as very nice breakfast service.
Got a room with a bay view, which was very clean, but instead of a double bed I had to get twins, since there was no availability. Room service was fast and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPFTVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,856 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,635 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Property: InterContinental Grand Stanford
Address: 70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, being a member of Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), is an acclaimed five-star hotel that offers sophistication and heritage. Set against the stunning backdrop of Victoria Harbour, half of the hotel's 570 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites boost sweeping views of picturesque Hong Kong skyline and breathtaking Victoria Harbour.Located in the proximity of the world-famous Star Ferry and within easy reach of all major transportation systems such as the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) and Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train Station, the hotel offers easy accessibility within the city and entry into China. With complimentary shuttle bus service provided by the hotel, Hong Kong's largest shopping mall Harbour City is just within doorstep. InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong provides the finest selection of world-class dining outlets from famed Cantonese cuisine at Hoi King Heen crafted by award-winning native Chef Leung, passionately Italian cuisine at Mistral with finest Italian produce, to contemporary international buffet at Café on M and Tiffany's New York Bar, knowing as Capital of Whisky with the largest whisky capacity in town. The sheer flexibility of the hotel, with its ample choice of venues complement the state-of-the-art meeting facilities in a comfortable and stylish setting, caters for functions of diverse size. For three consecutive years between 2014 and 2016, the hotel was recognized as "Hong Kong's Leading Business Hotel" by the prestigious World Travel Awards and the hotel collects the ultimate accolade for its renowned service as 'World's Leading Luxury Business Hotel' and 'Asia's Leading Business Hotel' in 2016. Its refined services and facilities makes the hotel the ideal choice for the savvy business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing