We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hospitality at the Intercontinental Grand Stanford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Grand Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Ranked #27 of 715 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality at the Intercontinental Grand Stanford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here on the 29 December 2013 and back again a few days later. We stayed on the Club floor and it was amazing. The staff were fantastic. The staff could not do enough for you and they were always there to help. The people in charge on the club floor were unbelievably kind, and would do anything for you. This includes making or changing your reservations, helping you book tickets to any show or trip around HongKong. The food was one of the best we have had in the IHG. It was well worth while paying extra money for the club floor, as you have breakfast, afternoon tea and a light dinner, including the alcoholic drinks. They had a very good range. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel in HongKong. We will be returning again in April. Many thanks to the all staff who work in the club floor. We appreciate all your kindness and assistance. Many thanks to the chefs who preps the food for the club floor as they made some amazing food that was just absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Book a club floor room so you receive all the benefits that go with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Cyrus22,

Many thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor.com, we are very grateful that you chose to spend your trip to Hong Kong staying with us.

It is lovely to hear that you had a great time and thanks for your compliments about our Club. We are indeed very proud to have such passionate team members working with us.

Please ensure to contact me personally before your April trip and if I may assist with any future needs please let me know, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    847
    175
    35
    27
See reviews for
503
626
162
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This is an upscale hotel with a terrific location that is near restaurants , subway and shopping.It is also very convenient for business and has a great business centre with at tentative staff and and comfortable meeting rooms.The staff are fantastic and restaurants have a broad selection of tasty foods.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlKayvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Lance K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trip to Hong Kong and for taking the time to write and give feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

We are pleased you found our location, meeting room and staff to be to your needs and liking, we appreciate the feedback.

We hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I selected InterContinental Grand Stanford Hotel due to its location. I read several reviews made by guests of this hotel in Tripadvisor and it seems that the common complaint is the rudeness of the hotel staff. As this is HK, I am not surprised (I have visited HK more than 6x and customer service in HK is practically nil/inexistent though it has substantially improved throughout the years). However, I was taken aback by the efficiency of the hotel staff and the care they showed us as guest of this hotel so I am making this review. We arrived in the hotel at around 10 am and we were allowed to check in. The housekeeping staff also made sure our room was clean every time we entered our room (It was a first for me that our room got cleaned more than once a day without any request and I've stayed in quite a number of five star hotels). A day before our check out date, a hotel staff asked us what time we wanted to check out, our flight and transportation details and if we needed a wake up call. This is another first for me. Kudos to the hotel staff of Intercontinental Grand Stanford for making our stay in HK quite comfortable.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TessSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear TessSo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trip to Hong Kong and for taking the time to write and give feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

On behalf of the management I thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the recognition of our staff, I am pleased that you left us with a positive impression, sharing your review with our team put big smiles on their faces, for this I thank you, there is no greater motivator than the feedback from our guests.

We hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights on business from Dec 18-23, 2013. The hotel lobby is well-appointed and I was greeted very enthusiastically. My room was on the 10th floor overlooking the harbour. The room was a bit small, but it had everything I needed. I could also tell that the room/floor was recently renovated. I love the dark wood that is used in the room and the hallways.

The location cannot be beat - only a 15 minute walk to the star ferry or a 10 minute walk to the subway station.

I ordered room service probably 5 times and ate at the breakfast buffet twice. All was excellent.

Housekeeping came twice daily and always made my room up perfectly. I also really appreciated the complimentary bottles of water.

I am in the travel/tourism industry and this property truly lived up to my expectations.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyMatthewCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Seattledude01,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your 5 nights stay in Hong Kong and for taking the time to write and give feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

We are delighted to read your review and that you found our location, room service, breakfast buffet to be excellent. We are glad that we lived up to my expectations.

We hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

service is great

hotel is a decent value for HK but............

food in the Club Lounge is just atrocious (horrible) and they stopped serving Champagne, they now serve some crap prosecco

the Lounge is why I stay there and it is looking dirty + tired despite the great view

they did a nice job refurbishing the rooms and the service is above average but they are definitely cheapening their product in the lounge - big disappointment

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numberoneson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear numberoneson,

Thank you for taking the time to write and give feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

Whilst we are pleased that you found our service to be great, I am very concerned that you found the food in the Club not to be of good quality and in addition the serving of Champagne, we currently offer a choice of both Champagne (Moet) and Italian Prosecco, I would like to hear back from you if you could email me as to how this service issue happened as this will help me further rectify any shortcomings in how it is offered to our guests.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have a personal preference for IC hotels and during my trip to Hong Kong I had the chance to experience both IC properties which are relatively close to each other.

The Grand Stanford might not be as big as its sister property - the IC HKG, but what it lacks in size it is more than made up by wonderful service and a superb club facility in an intimate setting. From the minute that we were checked in at the club, we felt like valued guests by the attentive and proactive staff. The club facility was elegantly appointed and felt inviting. There were wonderful views of Victoria Harbor from the tables and I had the opportunity to have breakfast here the following morning. The food display was sumptuous with items that catered to a wide range of tastes. Staff was always courteous and welcoming.

As for the room, we requested a harbor view room and it did not disappoint. The view was lovely and the decor was contemporary and spacious. The bed felt comfortable and it was a pleasure to find the Ambassador extras like water and fruits upon entering the room. Unable to sleep at around 4A, I decided to go down to the lobby and take some pics. One of the staff members (perhaps security since he was not in uniform and was in business attire) stared at me for a few seconds which made me feel slightly awkward. Perhaps a casual greeting or acknowledgement would have been more appropriate. I stayed for a little while and then returned to my room.

Overall I had an excellent stay here and will return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear jetsetpanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write and give feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

We are delighted to know that you found our service in our Club lounge to be excellent as well as the product we offer there, we also appreciate your feedback on photo taking, I will certainly look at this area.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed 4 nights on business and this hotel was in the budget as it was considerably cheaper than the other intercontinental or the shangri la . When i arrived, they offered me either a double with no view or a "small single with a view over the harbour". The small single turned out to be very spacious and a fantastic view over the harbour. The breakfast was one of the best i have had in a hotel.
Hotel is a 15 minute walk from the ferry - but what a walk!

Room Tip: The view over the harbour makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew-jerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear andrew-jerusalem,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on the hotel, regarding your recent four night stay, we appreciate your kind review.

We hope you will return again soon as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,693 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#41 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 715 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Property: InterContinental Grand Stanford
Address: 70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, being a member of Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), is an acclaimed five-star hotel that offers sophistication and heritage. Set against the stunning backdrop of Victoria Harbour, half of the hotel's 570 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites boost sweeping views of picturesque Hong Kong skyline and breathtaking Victoria Harbour.Located in the proximity of the world-famous Star Ferry and within easy reach of all major transportation systems such as the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) and Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train Station, the hotel offers easy accessibility within the city and entry into China. With complimentary shuttle bus service provided by the hotel, Hong Kong's largest shopping mall Harbour City is just within doorstep. InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong provides the finest selection of world-class dining outlets from famed Cantonese cuisine at Hoi King Heen crafted by award-winning native Chef Leung, passionately Italian cuisine at Mistral with finest Italian produce, to contemporary international buffet at Café on M and Tiffany's New York Bar, knowing as Capital of Whisky with the largest whisky capacity in town. The sheer flexibility of the hotel, with its ample choice of venues complement the state-of-the-art meeting facilities in a comfortable and stylish setting, caters for functions of diverse size. For three consecutive years between 2014 and 2016, the hotel was recognized as "Hong Kong's Leading Business Hotel" by the prestigious World Travel Awards and the hotel collects the ultimate accolade for its renowned service as 'World's Leading Luxury Business Hotel' and 'Asia's Leading Business Hotel' in 2016. Its refined services and facilities makes the hotel the ideal choice for the savvy business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing