We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "Go-To" place in Hong Kong!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Ranked #24 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stay at this property every time I am in Hong Kong, and for good reason. The location is hard to beat... just across the harbor from a world class view of the stunning Hong Kong skyline. Minutes away from the Avenue of the Stars and the TST MTR station. Neighborhood abounds in shopping and restaurants. It's only minutes away from the Nathan Road shopping complexes. Finally, the airport express that drops you off at Kowloon has a free shuttle to and from the hotel.

Check-in is always pleasant, with smiling faces and respectful recognition. The hotel lobby is impressive and wide open in architecture.

Rooms are spacious and if you are lucky to be on the harbor side, the rooms have a magnificent view! Comfortable beds, nice amenities in the decent sized bathroom. Rooms are quiet and you can certainly enjoy a relaxed night's sleep here.

Hotel feels welcoming, secure and very comfortable. The bar is cozy and has quite a nice collection of single-malt Scotch. Bartenders are friendly. I have not eaten at the restaurants in the hotel.

It's not cheap but it's worth the premium that it commands. And it's certainly cheaper than other hotels I would consider to be its peers. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would readily recommend this well managed property to anyone in this price range.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor-facing room on a high floor if possible. Worth paying a small fee for the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bn1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear bn1511,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we are pleased that you choose us your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong. Your highlights on our location, property and amenities are appreciated as is your observation on our staff.

I hope that you will return again soon, please email me before you return.

Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,718 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

For some reason, they just decided to upgrade to us to a room with a view. An the view was spectacular. It was like a front seat show to Harbour View and it so beautiful you would not want to leave your room.

Their chocolate cookies which is a part of their welcome drinks are so good. It's enough reason to stay here again.

Service is quite good. Although I would appreciate if internet was free.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexbonife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear lexbonife,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we share all reviews with the team and your review is showed us that the little touches make a difference for our guests.

I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you both back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.


Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for business in February. I was a bit sceptical as I usually stayed at Sheraton in TST being a Platinum SPG member. As I was only a gold with IHG I thought I would give this hotel a try. It turned out to be a rather nice experience.

My arrival was via MTR from Kowloon on the free airport bus. My advice is don't take the bus from Kowloon but rather the taxi as it's not that far. The free airport bus stops at about 5/6 hotels before Intercontinental and if the traffic is bad, it takes more than an hour to get from Kowloon.

The hotel is located in East TST and the building is quite grand. There is a main road that runs at the back of the hotel facing the harbour which can be a bit noisy, I didn't get a harbour view room but one that's facing the front of the hotel. The road in front of the hotel is not a busy one. The view is another shopping/office block which to me is fine.

The check is was good. The lady at the Reception speaks very good English. I was given free internet and drink coupon for being IHG Gold member. My room is quite nice and spacious, think I was upgraded too. The bed is clean and comfortable. The bathroom has all the amenities. Nothing to fault in terms of the room.

The location is to me a little away from TST. It's a 7 mins walk to East TST station but bearing in mind that is the entrance of the station. It then takes about 10 mins walk to the trains! That's what Hong Kong stations are usually like. The underground passage are huge and takes forever to actually get to the train station. The opposite direction takes you to Hung Hom station, again a good 15 mins walk. Directly opposite the hotel, hidden away is a pedestrianise area with lots of restaurants and places to shop. Also a few bakery.

I like the hotel and might stay again but may try another closer to the action of TST, Kowloon

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundancekid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear R L,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong.

We appreciate your detailed review, which we are sure will help other travelers.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a perfect harbor view... awakening to the view every morning for a week, enjoying the view at night with the lights , in a very well appointed room with all the comforts. The service was friendly , helpful , excellent staff. We were given tea /etc while we waited for our room at 11 am, early arrival and they had the room finished within minutes. We were a few minute walk to the MTR, got a week long senior pass and thoroughly enjoyed our week in Hongkong. The tour desk/Grayline, was very helpful as was the concierge desk. Getting a taxi took seconds. We relaxed in the bar , happy hour inc entertainment. A perfect view, awesome room, great service , what more could one ask ? Stay here!!!

Room Tip: Full Harbor view... well worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allipali62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear allipali62,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong for a few days we are thankful also for your feedback on tripadvisor.com, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

We appreciate you enjoyed awaking daily for a week to the harbour view, not forgetting the lights at night; we agree that it is spectacular. In addition we thank you for the feedback on the staff and service, especially our tour desk.

Here at the hotel we hope you will return as look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for a friends birthday. We had a wonderful time thanks to the care and attention by the manager John Drummond and his excellent staff team. We found all the staff from the concierge, front desk, room service, housekeeping and the restaurants to be professional, polite and helpful. The hotel has a traditional feel which is welcoming and well maintained. We had lunch at the other Intercontinental and found this to be large, contemporary and impersonal so it does depend on your preference.
We had a room overlooking the harbour (as booked). The room was modern, spotless and contained everything a traveller could possibly need. We appreciated the nightly turn down service. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel on a heartbeat so I can thoroughly recommend it to others. The breakfast is up there with the best that we have ever experienced (and we travel a lot). An extensive buffet all freshly prepared and well displayed - fabulous. We were able to visit all the sites on our agenda using various modes of transport quite easily. The concierge were very helpful in providing maps,directions and making recommendations. All in all a great stay - Thank you

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank soozysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Soozysue,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your preferred hotel for your Hong Kong visit. We are delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to share your experience with other travelers online.

I appreciate you highlighting our staff’s helpfulness in making your stay more memorable.

We all hope that you both will return for the next birthday celebration as we look forward to welcoming you back. At any time in the future I can assist with any arrangements please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Wishes and Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived in the afternoon and had a very nice reception at the Ambassador check in. I was informed that even as a Royal Ambassador that since I was using a free night cert that no real benefits would apply, only paid nights. This is within the terms of the program but a good reason why I stick with Hilton as my first choice in hotel programs. As we proceeded with check in the agent informed me that being my first stay they could upgrade me to a suite but it wasn't ready yet so we could check in later or take a regular room, we elected to go shopping and take the suite upgrade.

As we started to explore the area around the hotel it is an area that we were not familiar with despite being regular visitors to Hong Kong and we liked it a lot. Plenty of shopping and varied dining options in the immediate area and just a quick walk to the main shopping areas of Kowloon. They did mention something about a shuttle but we just walk as it is not really very far.

Once we returned another agent immediately knew who we were and had our room key ready and off to our room we went. Despite the room upgraded which we appreciated it was very dated décor even though it was well kept and clean.

As this was only a one night stay the only dining we did in the hotel was room service breakfast which was a great value we thought since room service at any hotel can be very expensive but it was reasonable here especially considering the quality and the quantity of food.

I am not sure I will stay at this property again given the rooms as I can easily get rooms like this for a lower price in Hong Kong but I will say that I have never had service this good at any Hong Kong property so that does count for something.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear mcgahat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and with the online community.

We are delighted to know that you have chosen us as your preferred hotel whilst in Hong Kong. We are also pleased that our staff recognized you upon your return to the hotel, I would like to recommend that on future visits you try our Premier Harbour view rooms, I assure you that you will not be disappointed as these rooms have just been recently renovated.

Here at the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The best customer service I have ever experienced in this wonderful hotel. The staff are so willing to help and nothing is too much trouble - it absolutely puts the UK to shame and I can't imagine what people from Hong Kong must think when they visit.......

My only complaint was about the breakfasts not being hot enough but this was put right after I spoke to a manager and then received personal service for the next three mornings.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Michaelbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Michaelbristol,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we share all reviews with the team and your review is touching, on behalf of the entire team thank you.

We are also pleased that our staff were able to rectify the breakfast for you, showing us that our service recovery does actually work, I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you both back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.


Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,597 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#6 of 725 in Hong Kong
763 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#43 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Address: 70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £142 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, being a member of Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), is an acclaimed five-star hotel that offers sophistication and heritage. Set against the stunning backdrop of Victoria Harbour, half of the hotel's 570 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites boost sweeping views of picturesque Hong Kong skyline and breathtaking Victoria Harbour.Located in the proximity of the world-famous Star Ferry and within easy reach of all major transportation systems such as the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) and Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train Station, the hotel offers easy accessibility within the city and entry into China. With complimentary shuttle bus service provided by the hotel, Hong Kong's largest shopping mall Harbour City is just within doorstep. InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong provides the finest selection of world-class dining outlets from famed Cantonese cuisine at Hoi King Heen crafted by award-winning native Chef Leung, passionately Italian cuisine at Mistral with finest Italian produce, to contemporary international buffet at Café on M and Tiffany's New York Bar, knowing as Capital of Whisky with the largest whisky capacity in town. The sheer flexibility of the hotel, with its ample choice of venues complement the state-of-the-art meeting facilities in a comfortable and stylish setting, caters for functions of diverse size. For three consecutive years between 2014 and 2016, the hotel was recognized as "Hong Kong's Leading Business Hotel" by the prestigious World Travel Awards and the hotel collects the ultimate accolade for its renowned service as 'World's Leading Luxury Business Hotel' and 'Asia's Leading Business Hotel' in 2016. Its refined services and facilities makes the hotel the ideal choice for the savvy business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing