We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Ranked #24 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good hotel and rooms were neat and clean. Only bummer we payed extra for harbor view rooms and were given the rooms on the 2nd floor hardly a view. We insisted on a higher floor room but were told the hotel is full. I asked to see the manager and while i was waiting. I saw another couple who came after us get a higher floor room ( same catagory) pointed that out to the manager and was told they had no kids (we have one) Instead were given free drinks coupons.

So the message is if you have kids you might want to go to another hotel. Great breakfast, great service otherwise.

Room Tip: worth paying extra for harbor view if you get a high floor or its a waste of your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikramvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear vikramvs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we appreciate your feedback on your stay, in regards to the rooming in the hotel, I assure you that we have many people stay with us who have children and are a children friendly hotel. In regards to the room categories our second floor are deluxe rooms and higher floors are premier rooms, I have taken up your review with the concerned staff who should have shown you a better level of service, for this I apologize.

We do hope that this will not discourage you from returning to stay with us. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Sincerely,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights during end of Dec 2013 (x'mas to New Year period).

The room had been refurbished, bed and pillow was really comfortable. Room size was just nice as of Hong Kong standard for 2 adults and a child (7 yrs old). However, the lobby of the hotel look dated. The design do not look modern as compare to the room.

Some staffs are really nice, helpful and cheery while some are cold with no additional smile or personal touch but are still considered as efficient in their job.

The M cafe served good buffet, we tried out buffet lunch. It have lots of variety (Chinese, Western and Indian) and food tasted good. They have very delicious pastries too.

The location of the hotel was good, near to the mtr sub station (5 mins walk) which is link to the main station (Tsim Sha Tsui) via the underground walkway.

There are also lots of eateries, restaurants, Char Chan Teng and etc. within walking distance from the hotel.

Overall, it is a good stay as far as room and location is the main consideration.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank babySpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear babySpore,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hong Kong; we appreciate you sharing your stay experience with us and the online community. We are concerned regarding the level of service that you received as we expect and instill in all of the team to be friendly and continuously smile; I assure you this has been addressed.

We all hope that you will return as we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stay at Intercontinental Stanford only one night during CNY 2014 but it was enough to enjoy
the premium quality and service.
Everything was in order.Check in fast,wellcome drink,room ready even 2 hours before regular
check in time.
My room really great,very spacious with comfortable bed and nice view.
There are a lot of restaurants inside the hotel offering different culinary experience but
a little expensive as near the hotel there are dozen of good restaurants.
Hotel is only few minutes away from iconic Peninsula and Star Ferry pier which gives
the premium location rankings
Recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asterisk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear asterisk1964,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your one night stay in Hong Kong; we appreciate you sharing your stay experience with us and the online community.

We all hope that you will return as we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It is one those hotels you start liking for its convenience, not for luxury. Mine was a sponsored visit. So, got picked up at the airport and was checked in a jiffy. But, scanned the lobby carefully. The staff has been extremely helpful even in a busy hour. The room was clean and furnitures placed conveniently. One does not bump into a furniture even at night. Breakfast and lunch menus at mezzanine floor was elaborate with plentiful of choice. Full of people was a sign of it's quality. Every Chinese loves to eat crabs.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear basaa,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Hong Kong; we are humbled by your very kind revue, we appreciate your sharing off your stay experience with us.

We all hope that you will return as we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel in March 2014. The staff are very welcoming. The rooms are really spacious with large beds and gorgeous crisp sheets. We arrived early evening after a long delayed flight from UK. After freshening up we decided to eat in the Hotel as we were too tired and hungry to look elsewhere. We decided on the buffet option, again because we thought this would be the easiest choice. MISTAKE! The buffet I am sure was very extensive earlier on in the evening, but it looked like it had been descended upon by a plague of locusts. A lot of the choices had run out and had not been replenished. Very poor for a Hotel of this calibre! Despite the lack of choice , we were still charged HK$500per head, which was just under £40 each.(just for the food) It was entirely our own fault. we should have checked the price.
Buffet Breakfast the next morning was much better. Mainly because we got there early to make sure we had options!
The location of this Hotel is good. Not too frantic or busy and some interesting local supermarkets. Just around the corner there are some lovely bars & restaurants which overlook the water. If only we had known this...it would have been SO much cheaper!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hythehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear loujones777,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we are pleased that you found your stay with us to be delightful, I am concerned regarding the buffet and assure you that this is not our usual standard, I have taken this up with the Food and Beverage department and also assure you we do not take it lightly. I would ask you email me to my email below.

I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you back.


Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms and decor. Location is perfect with great places to eat nearby. They definitely have the best breakfast in town, you just can't go wrong here. If you are an IHG rewards member, the wifi is free. So make sure that you sign up before you check out.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank jcrpo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear jcrpo1979,

Warm Greetings from the entire team at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the tripadvisor community, we are pleased that you found our rooms and décor to your liking as well as breakfast buffet.

I hope that you will return again as we look forward to welcome you both back. If I can assist with any arrangements in the future please feel free to email me at any time.


Best Regards,
John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having stayed at the "other" Intercontinental over the New Year's holiday, I decided to give this nearby location a try in mid-April. It was less expensive than the first, and tended to prove the truth of the old adage "you get what you pay for." Although the location is almost as good, and the staff is almost as helpful, most of the facilities and services were at least one step down from its sister property.

Examples include the fitness center and pool (tiny and cramped) and the executive lounge, where the selection of food and drink was far more limited and the cheese cut into tiny pieces instead of being left whole so that guests could determine the size of their own portion. The attractive lobby bar had a live band, but the music was greatly over-amplified and better suited to a teenage clientele than to the demographic that mostly populates this very well-located hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 563Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_W_Drummond, Manager at InterContinental Grand Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear 563Tom,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Grand Stanford as your hotel of choice while in Hong Kong for a few day, we thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us and the rest of the online community.

I read your review with interest on your experience and would like to get more information from you, if your time permits could you send me an email.

Best Regards,

John Drummond
Resident Manager
John_drummond@interconti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,203 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,707 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,032 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#40 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Address: 70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £134 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, being a member of Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), is an acclaimed five-star hotel that offers sophistication and heritage. Set against the stunning backdrop of Victoria Harbour, half of the hotel's 570 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites boost sweeping views of picturesque Hong Kong skyline and breathtaking Victoria Harbour.Located in the proximity of the world-famous Star Ferry and within easy reach of all major transportation systems such as the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) and Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train Station, the hotel offers easy accessibility within the city and entry into China. With complimentary shuttle bus service provided by the hotel, Hong Kong's largest shopping mall Harbour City is just within doorstep. InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong provides the finest selection of world-class dining outlets from famed Cantonese cuisine at Hoi King Heen crafted by award-winning native Chef Leung, passionately Italian cuisine at Mistral with finest Italian produce, to contemporary international buffet at Café on M and Tiffany's New York Bar, knowing as Capital of Whisky with the largest whisky capacity in town. The sheer flexibility of the hotel, with its ample choice of venues complement the state-of-the-art meeting facilities in a comfortable and stylish setting, caters for functions of diverse size. For three consecutive years between 2014 and 2016, the hotel was recognized as "Hong Kong's Leading Business Hotel" by the prestigious World Travel Awards and the hotel collects the ultimate accolade for its renowned service as 'World's Leading Luxury Business Hotel' and 'Asia's Leading Business Hotel' in 2016. Its refined services and facilities makes the hotel the ideal choice for the savvy business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing