We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST OF THE BEST - WILL BE BACK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Ranked #23 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Where to begin, from the moment we arrived and walked into the foyer we felt we were at home; it was that welcoming and comfortable.
We booked a Harbour View Twin Room, we were offered an upgrade to a Suite (at a cost, which was reasonable) but we did not take the offer - and quite honestly we are greatful for it as the room we had was perfect. We were expecting the side Harbour View Room but were pleasantly surprsed to get the front on Harbour View Room - just check your booking to ensure it is front on.
We stay at the Intercontinental in WA a lot, so we were already expecting service and amenities of a high level but compared to this hotel the one in Perth is a 1 Star.
I find it hard to find anything negative to say or even advise to better the service, positive are:
Doorman was very nice and helpful with our luggage and there was always someone at the door when we were going out and coming back.
Check-In was efficient and painless, the woman was friendly and helpful.
Everyone was english speaking, also with comprehension was what was being discussed, I found that was the same in Beijing.
Breakfast was - WOW - catered for every ethnic requirement, which we even tried.
Buffet Dinner was also great - loved the scissors for the crab.
Service in the Restaurants was impeccable.
The Room - devine, nothing else is necessary to say about the room - except as a fussy sleeper the bed was perfect.
When we turned the TV on it has a Welcome addressed to us - just a little touch that made it special.
Room Service was great - had Fish & Chips (I know it was boring, but first meal played it safe) - loved the "I" stamped into the butter - another small touch.
HouseKeeping women were even nice.

Could go on more about the hotel but I think my opinion is clear, if going to Hong Kong stay at the Grande Stanford Intercontinental and not the one at the Boardwalk as it is over priced and quite honestly the Grande is in a great location, you can either:
Walk down to the Boardwalk to the Ferry or just an evening walk to the light show, you can even stay in your room and watch the light show.
Walk down to the Harbour side; there is a Cafe strip - best food I have ever had and the best service ever, and I mean ever.
Walk down Mody Street to Nathan Road (15mins only), the Hotel does have Shuttle to Nathan Road but we enjoyed the walk and the countless shops on the way.
The shopping accross the road from the Hotel is never ending, alleys and shopping centres the many.

My opinion is clear - Go to Hong Kong and stay at the Grande Stanford.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 2,668 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2009

The location of this hotel is not the best - but, our overall experience was positive. We stayed on the club floor. Check-in was super fast and efficient, our room was large, the bed was comfortable (had the most wonderful pillows I've ever slept on!), comfortable chair with ottoman and reading lamp, nice bathroom amenities, The club lounge was terrific - a wide variety of well prepared foods with friendly and helpful staff, with a beautiful view of the harbor. The main lobby is a bit boisterous, and I wouldn't describe the decor as understated.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stay 4 nights . Hotel, room, service , breakfast all is super. Highly recommended !!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOGAB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Went to Hong Kong with my Mum in February 2009 and it was absolutely amazing! Would love to go back some day. The people are friendly, the food is fantastic and there is so much stuff to see and do you are never bored!

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
Thank SarahL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I stayed with my family : brother , sister in law and small nephew.
Rooms , service etc were excellent as being a luxurious 5 star hotel.
Best I like was its swimming pool which was having a very nice view of the sea. Having a breakfast near the pool with this view was just out of the world experience.
Would love to stay again here on my next trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sumitsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong was quite a disappointment and unsurpassed by any other Intercontinental hotels I have visited. I didn’t find the five-star hotel environment promised neither the friendly staff. The check in was not the most pleasant experience and the room we stayed in for two days was rather old and unpleasant. It may be perfectly located, but we did not enjoy the hotel to the same extent as we did in other Intercontinentals around the world.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

The hotel is magnificent and one of the best in Hongkong. Service is incredible and you will find all friendly staff. Overall extremely Luxurious hotel to stay in Hongkong.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Biyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,065 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 723 in Hong Kong
6,024 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 723 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Address: 70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £148 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, being a member of Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), is an acclaimed five-star hotel that offers sophistication and heritage. Set against the stunning backdrop of Victoria Harbour, half of the hotel's 570 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites boost sweeping views of picturesque Hong Kong skyline and breathtaking Victoria Harbour.Located in the proximity of the world-famous Star Ferry and within easy reach of all major transportation systems such as the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) and Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train Station, the hotel offers easy accessibility within the city and entry into China. With complimentary shuttle bus service provided by the hotel, Hong Kong's largest shopping mall Harbour City is just within doorstep. InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong provides the finest selection of world-class dining outlets from famed Cantonese cuisine at Hoi King Heen crafted by award-winning native Chef Leung, passionately Italian cuisine at Mistral with finest Italian produce, to contemporary international buffet at Café on M and Tiffany's New York Bar, knowing as Capital of Whisky with the largest whisky capacity in town. The sheer flexibility of the hotel, with its ample choice of venues complement the state-of-the-art meeting facilities in a comfortable and stylish setting, caters for functions of diverse size. For three consecutive years between 2014 and 2016, the hotel was recognized as "Hong Kong's Leading Business Hotel" by the prestigious World Travel Awards and the hotel collects the ultimate accolade for its renowned service as 'World's Leading Luxury Business Hotel' and 'Asia's Leading Business Hotel' in 2016. Its refined services and facilities makes the hotel the ideal choice for the savvy business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing