We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel at a reasonnable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #92 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel at a reasonnable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was my first visit to Hong Kong. I hesitated to come as I just had an accident that left me partially unable to walk. After two weeks stuck in my room, I was a bit anxious to start a 10 days business trip in the region. Yet, right upon my arrival and until having completed my check in at the airport, everyone at the hotel demonstrated a true sense of service. I arrived in a wheelchair and left with only one crutch, thanks to the support I received during my stay. The staff pays great care to make you feel special, always with a smile. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I was on the 20th floor and could hardly hear the traffic. It looks like rooms at lower levels could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Dominique S,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    885
    236
    35
    18
See reviews for
208
463
210
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed a night at the Island Pacific during a trip to Hong Kong recently. We contacted the hotel in advance through e-mail to book a shuttle from the airport and got prompt replies. Upon arriving Hong Kong Airport we went to the Sinohotels desk and told them we had arrived. We then were seated and about 20 minutes later a man came and followed us to our bus. Quite convenient, but it is probably easier to just get a cab.

The check in was smooth and we got a room on the 20th floor. The room was quite small but had everything you might need; flatscreen tv, free wifi, a nice looking bathroom and a decent bed. The best thing about the room was the view; we could see both the harbour as well as the surrounding city. Very nice.

The area around the hotel is also decent, since we only spent one night I can not really comment about convenience, but we found restaurants (Sister Wah which is very close had great dan dan noodles), shops, supermarkets and lots of taxis just outside the hotel.

The only less good thing was the full English breakfast we had before our check out, in the Sino Cafe. It was a bit bland, small portions, quite expensive and one item advertised was missing. That said, for the price we paid for our stay I was really satisfied with the Island Pacific, could definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Pakk,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities within our guestroom. The Victoria Harbour is indeed beautiful and mesmerizing!

We appreciate your valuable comment on our English breakfast, which has been shared with our F&B team. We also discussed and worked out the ways for improvement.

We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was our family's first time traveling to Hong Kong and our 7-day stay in this hotel was a pleasant experience. The receptionist offered us an extra bed for our kids and it was set up very quickly by a courteous staff. The room we had was quite small but it was fine since we spent most of our time touring Hong Kong anyway. The room was clean, nice view of the city and part of the harbour, the only thing fell short was the air-conditioner was not cold. A staff with the name Man was very helpful to provide city information, offered the emergency contact card of the hotel in case our kids got lost in Ocean Park, and helped us with our luggage, we were very impressed with the superior service! We had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on most of the time, but had requested the housekeeping staff to clean up twice during our stay, she was the most outstanding housekeeping staff we had ever met! Knowing that we were going to leave the room soon, she did her best in getting her job done and wore smile on her face. We also liked the shuttle service of this hotel. Once the shuttle was fully occupied, leaving a couple behind, the staff immediately drove another van to bring those along. We strongly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Countourblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Countourblessings,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Good size room for Hong Kong, great view of the harbor. Really really professional and friendly hotel staff. The food in the buffet restaurant was AMAZING! Worth the money, if the b'fast is not included in your room booking. So is the lunch menu. The only problem is the hotel is slightly off location from main tourist areas. The MTR station is a good 15 minutes walk. However the hotel does offer a free shuttle bus service to the central station (it's also the same station for airport express) from 7am till 8pm.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msameer_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear msameer_04,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesaieed, Qatar
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Located at corner of Des voux street . Very nice location it s easy to get taxi, tram, bus, close to macau ferry port, seung wan MRT. Staff very friendly and willing to give you any information about city. Room look bit old but clean, nice harbour view from my room. Room AC seem not cooling enough even when setted to 10 deg it s the same temperature arround 24 deg probably they set this for energy saving.They have shuttle bus to tram peak, hongkong station and some destination. It s affordable hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Setyabudianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Setyabudianto,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights having stayed before about 5 years ago. Opted this time for a Deluxe Full Harbour View room - well worth it for the extra space compared to the standard rooms (which I stayed in before) and the good view. Only minor comment is that the bathrooms are starting to get a little bit dated. The local area outside is less polished (a good thing!) than the more central areas, though it's not far away, gives a nice contrast and is a good opportunity to use the excellent (and cheap) trams. The outdoor pool is a nice bonus and the overall level of service was very good (aside from the pool attendants who weren't very helpful/interested!). For us, it was really excellent value for Hong Kong and we would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Bendy_Man,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and taking time to post a review about your stay. We value comments from our guests.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed there for 1 night as I had to head to HKU the next morning. This hotel is not really near the MTR (nearest being Shuang Wan) and it is about a 10mins walk to Shuang Wan and 20 mins walk to Central (i walked all the way from the hotel to Central for dinner). But there are lots of buses, minibuses and tram that you can take right outside the hotel to get you to the MTR or Central which is quite convenient.

Lots of local eating places around the hotel as it is situated in a very busy residential area, so no issues with looking for food.

I was given a non smoking room as per my request and the room was a good size (bigger than the ones in Mongkok area) and it even had a small desk for me to do my work. The design of the room is a little old but it is well maintained. It even had an iron and ironing board which was what I needed.

The room also had the other usual amenties like complimentary drinking water, kettle etc. Shower was good and they provided all the usual amenties like toothbrush etc.

Bed was comfortable and I had a good night rest. Didn't hear any noise from the streets but I was on the 9th floor so that might have helped,

I also made use of services at the business centre to print some notes and the staff was efficient.

overall, a very good stay, esp for the price as HK hotels are known to have crazy prices. The only issue will be its proximity to the MTR which is what would make me reconsider if I am returning to HK for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySnappyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear HappySnappyC,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and taking time to post a review about your stay. We value comments from our guests.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#57 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#48 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#138 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing