We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #99 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great place it is good value for money. Beautiful pool which was great after a long day in the heat. Pool attendants could be more helpful as they seemed bored and disinterested. Piano player in bar is very talented. All in all I had a good time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank markscura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear markscura,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the live performance at The Bar. We also are sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience which happened during your visit at the swimming pool. We have reminded all related team members, along with your feedback, that “guest first” is the core value of hospitality and we should always extend care to our guests.

I am grateful to you for sharing your open feedback with us so that we are able to monitor our operations more closely and to take corrective measures for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit.

Best regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    895
    240
    39
    18
See reviews for
212
469
213
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked the hotel because of the price and location basically. The price was very low and we could walk to downtown in less than 5-10 minutes or we could take the tramp which arrived and departed just outside the hotel. In addition the view was incredible, especially at night (room at 7th floor). There was also a nice sheltered pool on the roof - which was extremely necessary in July :).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kasper B,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Was a hotelier in Singapore and I am looking forward to stay in Island Pacific, ranking #68 in HK the time I booked.

Arrived at the hotel by the pick up bus at the airport. Was at the opposite side of the hotel. It was unexpected that one of the porter sudden came to me and carried my luggage. Even though I was a little taken aback, I'm really happy your staff to be so proactive! Didn't get his name though. A young, slim & tall guy.

Check in and check out was swiftly done!

Although the location is abt 10-15mins walk to the MTR(Sheung wan), but I think it's still okay. You can arrange the free shuttle bus anyway!

Along the way to MTR, there is this famous dim sum restaurant called 莲香居. Whereby you should give it a try!

Overall the stay here is valuable for money.

Only cons I would say is the cleanliness of the room. Bed sheet was not clean and tables are quite dusty.

Room Tip: opt for the harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear TammyHong,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed our service. Your comment on the room cleanliness has also been taken note and we will make endeavour to improve accordingly.

We would like to express our gratitude to you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
284 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the Tsuen Wan district, which in my personal opinion is slightly off the beaten track. So unless you find yourself having some business in this district, you will not find its location very attractive. Traveling to the shopping area of Central is convenient though with Hong Kong's efficient public transport system.

The room size is comparable to most hotels in Hong Kong. It is neither too small nor extensively large. It boasts only one food and beverage outlet, so you will pretty much have to venture outside if you do not fancy dining in. Ask the concierge for recommendations for you may not be familiar with the surrounding area. Ask for a room facing the harbour, for it offers a magnificent view to wake up to in the morning. For health nuts, the gym is accessible round the clock with the room key but the pool is only open from 7am to 8pm.

Good for a short stay, but anything more, I would suggest some place more centralised.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CCHSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear CCHSingapore,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel! Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to hear that you have a comfortable stay. Your comment on the opening hours of our swimming pool has also been taken noted, we would adjust our schedule according to guest’s request and our operation capacity,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for sharing your feedback with us so that we are able to improve and serve our guests better.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Island Pacific Hotel on your next visit.

Best regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was my first visit to Hong Kong. I hesitated to come as I just had an accident that left me partially unable to walk. After two weeks stuck in my room, I was a bit anxious to start a 10 days business trip in the region. Yet, right upon my arrival and until having completed my check in at the airport, everyone at the hotel demonstrated a true sense of service. I arrived in a wheelchair and left with only one crutch, thanks to the support I received during my stay. The staff pays great care to make you feel special, always with a smile. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I was on the 20th floor and could hardly hear the traffic. It looks like rooms at lower levels could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Dominique S,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed a night at the Island Pacific during a trip to Hong Kong recently. We contacted the hotel in advance through e-mail to book a shuttle from the airport and got prompt replies. Upon arriving Hong Kong Airport we went to the Sinohotels desk and told them we had arrived. We then were seated and about 20 minutes later a man came and followed us to our bus. Quite convenient, but it is probably easier to just get a cab.

The check in was smooth and we got a room on the 20th floor. The room was quite small but had everything you might need; flatscreen tv, free wifi, a nice looking bathroom and a decent bed. The best thing about the room was the view; we could see both the harbour as well as the surrounding city. Very nice.

The area around the hotel is also decent, since we only spent one night I can not really comment about convenience, but we found restaurants (Sister Wah which is very close had great dan dan noodles), shops, supermarkets and lots of taxis just outside the hotel.

The only less good thing was the full English breakfast we had before our check out, in the Sino Cafe. It was a bit bland, small portions, quite expensive and one item advertised was missing. That said, for the price we paid for our stay I was really satisfied with the Island Pacific, could definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Pakk,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities within our guestroom. The Victoria Harbour is indeed beautiful and mesmerizing!

We appreciate your valuable comment on our English breakfast, which has been shared with our F&B team. We also discussed and worked out the ways for improvement.

We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was our family's first time traveling to Hong Kong and our 7-day stay in this hotel was a pleasant experience. The receptionist offered us an extra bed for our kids and it was set up very quickly by a courteous staff. The room we had was quite small but it was fine since we spent most of our time touring Hong Kong anyway. The room was clean, nice view of the city and part of the harbour, the only thing fell short was the air-conditioner was not cold. A staff with the name Man was very helpful to provide city information, offered the emergency contact card of the hotel in case our kids got lost in Ocean Park, and helped us with our luggage, we were very impressed with the superior service! We had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on most of the time, but had requested the housekeeping staff to clean up twice during our stay, she was the most outstanding housekeeping staff we had ever met! Knowing that we were going to leave the room soon, she did her best in getting her job done and wore smile on her face. We also liked the shuttle service of this hotel. Once the shuttle was fully occupied, leaving a couple behind, the staff immediately drove another van to bring those along. We strongly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countourblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Countourblessings,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#80 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#61 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#128 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#57 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing