We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #97 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a room on the 19th floor overlooking the harbour - terrific particularly at night. Room a little cramped with two suitcases but was clean and well equiped. Good sized bathroom. Excellent staff, very helpfull. Though the hotel is a little outside the centre of Hong Kong it is a stop for the free bus shuttle from the airport express train and the has its own bus which does a regular run to the Star Ferry, Peak Tram and the airport express station. There is also a tram stop about 5 minutes walk away providing access to Causeway Bay. Many small restaurants in the immediate area. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear noelandmaxine,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    902
    241
    39
    18
See reviews for
214
474
215
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was super friendly and could help me with every question I had (taxis, information about the hotel and the town,...).
The room was quite small, but this was OK for a solo trip where I spent most of the time outside either way. The rooms were clean, and I can't complain.
The location was good. There is a tram station near it which can bring you to the metro, and at night taxis from the center of Hong Kong island were still very cheap. It would have been nice if the swimming pool would have been open on the one afternoon I wanted to swim.

I would go there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tim G,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

Regarding the opening time of the swimming pool, please be advised that the swimming pool will be temporarily closed upon the hoisting of Amber Rainstorm Signal, Red Rainstorm Signal, Black Rainstorm Signal or Thunderstorm Warning Signal by The Hong Kong Observatory, which is being adopted as a safety measure. Thank you for your kind understanding.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
267 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

With a great view of the harbor on the 20th floor my kids were happy. Rooms are small but clean , friendly staff . Great breakfast buffet , room service was great also . Not far from central in a taxi . All in all a good hotel .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Fiona F,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Nice room with great buffet selection.

Location is a bit far from the partying but nice little restaurants to walk up to.

Internet was terrible at first but they gave a free upgrade. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Asia N,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We value comments from our guests.

We are grateful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have to travel to Hong Kong to visit family and this is a great place to stay. The rooms are great - especially if you get a corner room. The breakfast is fantastic and the pool is great. What more could you want from a hotel on the island!
It is a little away from the action but is a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloWorld12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear HelloWorld12321,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is hotel which was prime in its time but is now dated and honestly in need of revamping if it is to be an attractive hotel in its own right, rather than an hotel that gets occupied simply because Hong Kong is short of hotel space. Location is not optimum and other more modern, better priced hotels have better locations and a better value proposition if one looks. The room we had was ok but the fittings were clearly dated with marble bathrooms (who uses that these days?) and electronics similarly dated. Given their prices which this hotel aims to achieve (top), there is clearly a big disconnect with the value that is actually delivered.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floors due to road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear David1676,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We appreciate your valuable comments and will make endeavour to improve accordingly.

We would like to express our gratitude to you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For a budget hotel, this is proper luxury, with spacious bedrooms, clean rooms and very friendly staff. We got upgraded to a Harbour View room, and the whole view of the harbour was worth the price and choice of hotel.
the staff is really friendly, polite and will help you with getting a taxi or using the shuttle which is one of the most useful services as the hotel is a bit far from the metro stations but a stone throw from the picturesque tram. The swimming pool is nice and the gym could do with better equipment, but we didn't go to Hong Kong to stay at a hotel's gym.
Internet wifi was super fast too.

I would definitely stay there again if I return to Hong Kong

Room Tip: chose the harbour view, as the city view faces some horrible towers, but the harbour view faces vict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andresSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley_Sam_IPH, General Manager at Island Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear andresSW1,

Warm greetings from the Island Pacific Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Island Pacific Hotel on your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

We are grateful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will continue our endeavour to improve our services and facilities for our guests. In the meantime, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Shirley Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,682 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,165 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,138 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing