We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel not good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #96 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Pistoia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good hotel not good location”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Nice and clean room.
Staff friendly and helpfull.
Located far from bus station or MTR.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vialactea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    907
    244
    39
    18
See reviews for
217
478
215
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The harbour view room is so great! Shuttle bus is convenient going to IFC mall, and getting to MTR from there is hassle free. Love the location cos its not too crowded.
Overall a low budget hotel that impressed me with their service. I got no complains.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chabuqueque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tornoto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Usually stay in the 4 or 5 star mainstream hotels around the world but this time wanted a more local neighbourhood away from the downtown core. I was blown away by this hotel - it delivered what it promised in terms of the room which was perfect for the three days I stayed there. The staff are amazing - as good as Shangri-La and Four Seasons. This is a serious gem and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Island Pacific Hotel is a gem. I can’t recommend the hotel enough for its excellent customer care, service and facilities.

SERVICE. The hotel prides itself of hygiene, generosity and courteous service. Apart from the easy check-in and check-out system, the helpful bellboys and the free shuttle bus transfers to select places, the hotel is truly a league of its own.

The cleaning staff made sure that our beds were made and our towels changed every day. They also restocked our daily supply of personal care provisions (toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and body lotion). A copy of the South China Morning Post made its way to our room each afternoon. We even had a complimentary bowl of fresh fruits arranged neatly on our mini-bar. Don't you find this just wonderful?

My sister and I were just so lucky to find vacancies despite showing up without reservations. We were so pleased that the receptionist gave us a tip on how to avail of discounted room rates. He booked us for one night only (on the day we showed up at 1035 HKD) and then advised us to reserve the remaining nights online. We were able to save 375 HKD per night on our succeeding stays by following his advice.

ROOM. We stayed at Room 1014 (a non-smoking standard room with twin beds). It was a quaint and cozy room with Western interior design and a fantastic view of the sea. My sister and I are petite, so room size was not a problem. In fact, we were quite impressed with the way the hotel utilized the space.

Our room was supposed to be the cheapest yet Island Pacific Hotel made sure that we did not miss out on our creature comforts. We had our own mini-bar where the staff replenished our daily supply of coffee, tea and sugar, an electric kettle, a refrigerator, a safe, an iron and ironing board, a handy multiple plug adaptor and a bathtub and shower (with good water pressure). We were also able to enjoy a variety of TV channel selections (including CNN, BBC, AXN and Discovery Channel) and FM stations.

AMENITIES. Of the hotel’s many amenities – swimming pool, gym and restaurant – we made the most use of the business lounge in the 27th floor. The rates are not the cheapest for internet use (40 HKD for 30 minutes), printing (2 HKD for every page) and faxing (5 HKD for every page), but the hotel invited us to enroll in the 98 HKD membership program which allowed us to use the computer and avail of free-flowing coffee, tea and snacks for the whole day.

LOCATION. The complimentary shuttle service is god-sent, but we ventured walking around the area and we were able to reach Sheung Wan MTR Station, Shun-Tak Center, Wing-On Department Store and the Macau Ferry Terminal on foot.

There are two 7-11 shops close to the hotel. One is on the same block but you have to make a U-turn to get there. The other one is a block away facing Watson’s. We weren’t able to check out the MacDonald’s branch but it’s actually on the same block as Watson’s (just take a left when you reach the corner).

The IFC Mall (which doubles as an MTR station) is just 21 HKD away by taxi.

The surroundings of the hotel have an “authentic” Hong Kong feel. If you want to experience Western comforts in an Asian atmosphere, then Island Pacific Hotel is certainly the place to be.

Good price, value for money and interesting location are reasons enough to choose Island Pacific Hotel. For us, the best deal maker by far was the hotel staff themselves. I wholeheartedly commend them for their warm, wonderful and very impressive customer care.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

A great hotel with excellent service. The only drawback I can think of is that it is not near a subway. However, if one does not mind changing from a tram to a subway or take the local bus, this hotel is accessible. From the airport, one has to take a taxi or take the airport bus to Sheung Wan, then take a taxi to the hotel.
Front desk staff generally speak English.
There is internet service in the room and is chargeable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiongbahru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki - Finland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Our family landed on Island Pacific Hotel based on a deal we got through webshop. For our stay the hotel provided us with the besic necessities we were looking for during our five day stay visit to Hong Kong.

The rooms are quite small even with Hong Kong standards. We upgraded our room to executive level room and there still was very little room for our 2 adults, 2 small children group. The executive lounge was certainly nothing to drag about, a small room with tea and cookies.

The view from our room though was spectacular towards the harbour and ferries leaving to Macao. But the rooms were worn to a level that could not be cleaned with regular housecleaning gear. The beds were unpleasant and hard.

There were some comments in TripAdvisor about the area and the smell of fish drying in shops. We have been in the area both during summer and winter and to our noses the smell was exotic to the most, but not unpleasant. The are around the hotel is literally filled with shops that sell dried fish, shark finns and other Asian sea-related foods and herbs. To us the area has a pleasant and certainly different flavor. The distance to the business district is easily done in a taxi in 5 minutes or a brisk 30-40 minutes walk if you dont mind the humidity.

Overall, average hotel with some disadvantages. But we could stay in the hotel again is needed, no biggie.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

If you are looking for a room for 1-2 nights, Island Pacific really impressed me. Very crisp and clean rooms. Good local eating places in the adjoining lane.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ask99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,701 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,195 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,157 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing