We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #96 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The Island Pacific Hotel is just outside the hussle and hassle of Central, but still close enough to be a few minutes away from the action. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the staff are both helpful and knowledgeable. They were very willing to help me book a spa day at a local salon. I spent 14 nights there in an executive room which was a generous size and had a huge bathroom by Hong Kong standards and the view was fantastic looking over Victoria Harbour and the Tsing Ma bridge. Both tram stops and bus stops are approx 50m away and I never had to wait any more than 2 minutes for a bus. Taxis were plentiful and the concierge team never had a problem hailing a taxi for me. In the vacinity there was a Vanguard convience store, Japan Home Centre, Watsons and a Wellcome supermarket at the top of the hill. The hotel's swimming pool is small but clean and well maintained, likewise the gym facilities. The hotel restaurant was buffet only and a bit overpriced but room service was very reasonable. There is a lack of restaurants in the direct area, but in exploring I did pass a McDonalds 1 block away. I didn't use the internet facilities at the hotel, they were expensive and there's free use of terminals in some of the coffee shop chains like Pacific Coffee. If you are out all day and are using the hotel as a place to sleep I can't think of anywhere better in Hong Kong island. I would definitely stay here again, and would even put the Island Pacific as my number one choice, especially with some of their advance booking discount rates of up to 30% off.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallas2Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

This hotel is not in the greatest location, about Hong Kong $20 to get to the IFC where more of the sites are, nor do you get much of a room for your money. Our room with two beds was extremely small, the farthest we could separate our beds was about 2 feet. In addition, we paid (hong kong $300 for a week) for wireless internet during our stay but we could not pick up the signal on either my computer or my friend's ipad unless we were right beside the door to the room, which was just bizarre. There was no free wireless access, even in the lobby.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
Thank nickw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Room were cosy, a little small but comfortable for 2 persons stay. I think our room was delux room with part view of the harbour, full glass window added to the beauty of the view. Adjacent room had better view obviously for a slight higher price.

Sheung wan MTR is at 15 minute walk from this hotel and it was wonderful to walk through the lanes and stopping by some real local food delights on the way for bfast and lunch etc. Lots of local shops selling dried fish and a few pawn shops. By a cab the hotel is around 10 mins from the main city.

The pictures on the website are a little deceiving. The hotel can be described as great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The location of the hotel is strategic. We booked the hotel extra early and got a great discount. But they put us in a smoking floor but good thing the rooms don't smell. The rooms are clean. There are food stands across the street and they sell good food and they're cheap too. There's a Seven Eleven and a Watson store nearby. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Not really wheel chair friendly because of the small space. If you wanna take the MTR, you have to take a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. You can ask the staff for directions. There are a lot of taxi cabs passing by so you won't have a problem getting a ride.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elite_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights (18 July - 21 July). The hotel was in the western part of the city but not really an issue. Right in the middle of all the local markets, so if you like seeing where the locals shop, this is a good location. Taxis were cheap, so the hotel being a little west was not a big deal. The rooms were very clean (bathrooms spotless as well). Small by American standards, but not tiny. Employees were courteous and helpful. The hotel touts itself as a business hotel. True. We did not use the Internet, which they charged quite a bit for. The only negative was at the very end of our trip, the conceirge put us on the wrong shuttle. It took us to the train station instead of the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ems622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The Island Pacific is a clean, well run hotel. There was a large breakfast buffet and the staff were friendly and helpful. At the back of the hotel you can jump on a tram that will take you to the nearest metro station in less than 15 minutes. It's worth paying the extra for a room at the front of the hotel because you will get a good view of the Kowloon and the water. The Island Pacific "does the job".

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenlanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

A fairly nice hotel but only stayed one night. Chose it because it is close to the docks to get a ship to Macau. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable.

The actual area doesnt offer much other than Hong Kong ambiance but from high up in my room the view was very nice.

Over all a good hotel which if you intend to get a boat in the morning this is the place to stay otherwise get something in a better location.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_attree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#60 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,754 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#76 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,284 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#61 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,385 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#55 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,202 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#105 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £74 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Pacific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing