We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red light hotel??”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #282 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Red light hotel??”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

When you enter the Kimberley Hotel the lobby looks fantastic. New, clean, shiny.... Unfortunately the rooms are not quite the same. The rooms look a little old and tired but all in all a good size.
We had booked and paid for 3 nights at this hotel but we left after 2. This was not due to the staff - who were friendly, or the room - which was pleasant enough.
On the Sunday morning we awoke at about 8:30am to a lady yelling and screaming in the corridor. Wondering what was going on I went to have a look only to see a naked Chinese prostitute yelling at a door down the hall demanding more money for her services. She was there yelling outside this door for about 10 minutes and verbally abusing any other hotel guest that had come out to see what the commotion was. The door of the room finally opened and the lady's clothes were thrown out the door along with some money.
While this was happening not once did the hotel staff come up and sort the situation out. No doubt they would have known as there is CCTV throughout the hotel. This makes me wonder if this is a common theme in this hotel and if it is actually a red light hotel.
We decided that this scene was not for us so packed up our things and left that day to find another place even though we knew that we would lose the money that had already been paid to the hotel for the rest of the stay.
Upon check out we were qurried about why we had decided to leave early and not stay for the full length that had been paid for. When we told the staff what had happened they didn't even look surprised or offer any apology.
I know that this part of Hong Kong is known for its red light area but this hotel was marketed internationally as a 4 star hotel and this is definitely not what I want to see in a 4 star establishment. I will never stay in this place again or recommend it to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank RitchieSachdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    366
    398
    128
    81
See reviews for
233
250
95
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As with all hotels in Hong Kong, rooms are small and public areas well maintained.
The room needed attention. There was a leak in the window frame with a towel underneath to catch the drips. No rain fortunately. Just don't put your computer on the desk.
Breakfast was good with good range of food. Lounge very comfortable.
No free wifi! That's not good enough nowadays, especially in a world city like Hong Kong.
Hotel well situated right near Nathan Road and MTR. Across the road is the Knutsford Terrace with excellent restaurants. Hotel was reasonable value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our fifth stay at this hotel which was for two weeks this time - we received an upgrade to superior room on 17th floor. Great location, good sized room, even for the longer stay, love soaking in the bath, staff were very attentive, quick check in/check out, buffet breakfast was up to usual high standards. Easy access to taxis, trains, ferries, buses and of course the shops. Have checked out other hotels in the area but keep going back to the Kimberley. Nothing we don't really like about this hotel except for leaving.

Room Tip: From past experiences, preference for higher floors away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

nice location, value for money, very nice staff. all staff were willing to understand our requirement and also explain us were to go, eat, etc. Nice staff very friendly. rooms and bathroom are bit small but its ok as we were out the whole day

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankaj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a wonderful experience, manager SIMON was the wonderful person, had lost by bag @ airport. He handle the case so professionally nd got my bag next day morning. Place is near to MTR and indian restaurant . Hotel staff took interest in guiding us to all local attraction in Hong Kong . Definetly going to stay here again. Room are , v clean nd enough spacious.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikrambafna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

PROs: if you stay in Kowloon, it's a great location in TST for a good price. close to the metro, walking distance from the harbour and in the middle of one of the liveliest parts of town, while still being quiet.
having booked directly through the hotel I had free wi fi access and bottled water. a nice touch.

CONs: maybe I was unlucky but my room was very old and dirty. dusty carpet and curtains. large stains on the sofa and bed frame upholstery. the batrhoom was clean at least. the room itself was quite offputting.
gym is a joke: it's a tiny dirty room with one old treadmill and bike.

Room Tip: don't choose one here, look around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianpippero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was on a business trip to Hong Kong and this was one of the 2 hotels we stayed. This is right in Tsim Sha Tsui area where it's a walking distance to a a lot of shopping areas. The hotel though not new but acceptable to me as it is very clean and as the staff were very efficient. In fact, this is the one thing i noticed about Hong Kong, everywhere one goes, it is fast and efficient. It is not a new one but the pricing is okay as Hong Kong is a very expensive place to stay.

I commend all the people working there, efficiency is their rule. Whatever you require from the concierge to check in, you just need to ask for it and it will sorted out very quickly. For the price to pay and if one do not fancy all the nice trimmings of big hotels and more expensive ones, this is a good leisure and business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,594 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Empire Hotel Kowloon
#119 of 718 in Hong Kong
621 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#264 of 718 in Hong Kong
736 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#43 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,374 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
B P International
B P International
#147 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: No.28 Kimberly Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Hotel is centrally located in the bustling shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui in Kowloon with 45 minutes drive from the airport and 15 minutes from the Hung Hom Train Station & Kowloon Station. The MTR station, Star Ferry, Avenue of Star, Hong Kong Space Museum, Cultural Center and major corporate offices are within walking distance. At the Kimberley Hotel, the three elegant restaurants and Bar are on offer to guest, as well as a business center, gym and health spa for your recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hong Kong
Kimberly Hotel Hong Kong
Kimberley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing