We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & Nice lounge”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
2 reviews
“Great place & Nice lounge”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I stayed a week in here. We were staying in a club suite room. The price was a little huge at about €400 a night (may be busy season in November). The club lounge have a very nice city view of kowloon. The staff helped us out as much as they could. Apolo and Jason gave a lot of information for restaurants and places to visit. Hotel is in a great location and close to the subway (easy to travel around HK).

Room Tip: request for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,574
    1,364
    245
    68
    34
See reviews for
1,446
2,151
457
1,221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Devon, UK.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked this hotel as a real treat having spent 26 nights in a 4WD camper van in Western Australia. It was the perfect way to end a wonderful but quite tough holiday. We booked the club level and were not dissapointed - it was truly fabulous. They gave us suggestions of what to to see and how to achieve it without necessarily having to book a "tour". The club level lounge was so very comfortable - the nibbles and snacks really tastey and always fresh. If you wanted you could use one of their iPads and wifi was free. We were only in Hong Kong for 2 nights - the first we ate out the second we tried their wonderful buffet. Nothing was too much trouble and one of the waters spent quite a while with me describing the various sorts of sushi - great to be able to make such informed choices and it was really yummy.
The hotel is in a great area - opposite a shopping mall - walkable from the Star Ferry terminal and there are a lot of places to eat around there. There is an MRT station in the next street - so getting to all parts of HKG is easily done.
We both had a massage there which we really enjoyed - lovely ambience there. Really lovely we would highly recomend The Langham Place - very classey without being too stiff which is a very hard balance to achieve.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarasnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have been to HK a few times have never stayed in Kowloon. Decided to give Langham Place a try since my other fave hotel, Excelsior, though in a great location is a tad rundown. I had two connecting non-smoking Prime Place rooms on the 25th floor with lovely views of the harbour. The rooms are not huge but are comfortably sized. The bathrooms are simply beautiful!

Staff of the hotel are all young and very eager to assist in any way they can. A very charming young lady, Nicole, checked us in and even sent us a message later with her recommendations for hot pot (claypot) rice, complete with directions and map! Check in and check out was a breeze. There were no long queues and I didn't encounter a crowded and noisy lobby during the many times I came and went.

The hotel's location is just great. Its connected to the MTR via the mall that is connected to the hotel via a bridge (my mom who has trouble with stairs was very happy about that). There's a wide of shops to appeal to kinds of shoppers from high street boutiques to street markets. And oh the glorious food in and around the hotel location!!!

Overall, a wonderful stay in the hotel; I would not hesitate to stay at Langham Place again. It would have been perfect if they offered free internet access in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YelloJelloSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We have stayed here for the sixth time over the last 3 years yet this hotel has never disappointed us. Minor issues at check-ins have been ironed out over time and now you will be greeted by a staffer who will ensure that you won’t have to wait too long or otherwise, they’ll get you a seat somewhere or warm towels.

I won’t talk much about the room as others have already commented on it. The room is always clean to my picky standard, and the maids seem to be working 24/7 so you can pretty much have them cleaned your room at anytime of the day.

The spa and gym facilities on the second top floor are just amazing. The gym is extremely well equipped with high-tech touchscreen operated cardio machines and for weightlifters there’s more than enough weight plates, dumbbells and bars for you. Given that it’s on the top floor, you can also enjoy 180-degree view of Kowloon. The view is so amazing that even if you have no interest in working out at all you should head up there just to have a look.

The Concierge “Club X” is extremely proactive at assisting you with anything you have from booking restaurants or suggesting places to eat and shop nearby, keep in mind that the neighborhood (Mongkok) is a bit local and can be difficult to navigate around.

The buffet breakfast selection is a pretty limited in comparison to other top Hong Kong hotels and can be a bit pricey if not included in the room rates. There’s no good breakfast alternatives around the area either, unless you don’t mind basic fast food offered at a mall that’s connected to the hotel lobby.

To sum it all up: reasonably priced, great location (connected to a metro station), and extraordinary service. Will recommend friends to stay here. Make sure you book this hotel with free Wi-Fi access, if not the charges could be quite high.

Room Tip: Higher floors can be annoying at times when you have to wait so long in the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonnellato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a very nice hotel in Kowloon. It's right next to Mong Kok station which has metro trains into Central in Hong Kong which take about 5-10 mins. It is also very close to the markets of Kowloon and if you are feeling energetic isn't not a very long walk down to the harbour and it's a straight road.

The hotel is very plesant inside. The rooms are very clean and reasonably big. The staff are super friendly and very helpful.

The hotel also has a nice bar and lounge area and has a business centre.

The only downside is the internet isn't free for all of the rooms. However, there are computers there which you can use and as a nice touch they will lend you an ipad while you are there to surf the internet and it comes loaded with local information. This was a fun touch.

Also the hotel has lots of pieces of art around the hotel and you can borrow an ipod and take a tour of them.

There is also a spar and pool / hot tub on the roof.

Overall, it's a lovely hotel and I would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Had a 3 night stopover between NZ and UK and I think this hotel would have been hard to surpass in service, ambience and rooms. Quite quirky in approach - as in modern and lively rather than traditional and stuffy - a hotel I'd certainly recomend for HK.

Booked a 3 nights for price of 2 suite deal and thought rate seemed good for what we got. The room itself was excellent with great views (albeit not of main HK), lounge was very comfortable with all you needed, cloakroom, comfy bedroom and great bathroom. There seemed to be a multitude of complimentary bits and pieces - almost every drawer had something in - be it yoyo, ice cream, stationary or whatever - great fun to discover the next thing - I imagine could be a bit annoying for regular visitors not having everything in one place.

Club L was one of the best exec lounge set ups I've had the pleasure of visiting for a while - better than Shangri La, equal, but different to the Ritz Charlton. We found staff very pleasant - not over friendly but good at their job and personable. The food and drink was nop notch - the breakfast and hors d'oureuves especially - tried quite a few things I would not normally and thoroughly enjoyed. Alcohol served almost all day, and proper champagne in evening.

The Spa was of a high standard - Club L benefitted by extra 30 min treatment thrown in so thoroughly enjoyed a 30 min salt scrub and 60 min massage, post treatment relax room lovely and ambiance spot on, excellent thearapist. Slight niggle being when you're relaxing after the sales pitch to try and get you to buy a "recomended" product - it appeared that all users got the pitch - cheapened the experience a little.

Rooftop pool looked good - unfortunely too cold to use when we were there (the outside temperature in low 20's). Pool warm enough.

A couple of surprising things were the icing on the cake, so to speak - the housekeeping was high standard and the chambermaid on our floor (37th) was the most delightful happy lady you could have asked for - inconspicious but always a smile and hello. Also I would highly recomend the art tour - I did the self tour with an i-pod - the introduction is that this has been reviewed as an art gallery mascarading as a hotel (or something like that) - indeed it was - but great to have the chance to listen to discriptions and have a good look at the art.

Hotel is not amongst other hotels, rather a shopping centre and markets, and better for that - more an area of locals than tourists but feels very safe. Easy to get from airport - Express train to Kowloon, then taxi or taxi direct.

I would heartily recomend this hotel and area to stay. As a first visit to HK had great balance between the bussle of the area and oasis of hotel. I would recomend taking the time to take the Metro a few stops to Diamond Hill and walk to the Nan Lian gardens and nunnery - another oasis in HK, and the Conceige even sells the Metro cards so no need to get tied up on first trip on Metro. The Octapus card worked for Metro, busses, trams and Star Ferry - convenient and cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
192 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was a great hotel experience. We decided to spend our two week holiday in Hong Kong at two different hotels. The Langham Place Hotel is in the heart of Mongkok which is one of the most densely populated areas in the world. The hotel rooms are high up in the tower of Langham Place and views over Mongkok can keep you occupied for hours. From dawn to dusk the place is alive.

We walked into the hotel to get a reservation at the front desk and were helped by a charming and efficient young lady called Azalea. We would never have got such a good reservation without her help. Our room was on a Club Floor - 37th - and was a corner room. Amenities were excellent and the servicing of the room top class. We unpacked and put our "way too many" clothes into the closet and explored the hotel. On our return to our room the room service lady arrived with more hangers because she had noticed I needed more. I always have to phone the service centre to ask for more when I go to a hotel.

The staff at this hotel are young, vibrant and obviously love what they are doing. This has to come from the top. They work as an efficient team to make your stay the best they can. The Concierge are called the X-Team and experts they are. We were remembered daily by Eddie of the X-Team who arranged many things for us, always with a smile. He never seemed to forget anything about us.

We had access to the Club Lounge which has magnificent views and on our last night we sat at the window and looked at the full moon while we had a drink. Oh, and they have a jar of gummy bears there if you like gummy bears! You can have breakfast in the Club Lounge if your room is a Club room but we chose to have it downstairs at "The Place". The breakfast spread is probably the best I have seen. The chefs cook fresh eggs, omelets etc. There is a lady who is just in charge of making toast and she keeps an eye on the fabulous pancake-making machine. When you arrive at The Place for breakfast you are asked if you would like a newspaper, shown to your table and taken care of.

Why can't there be more hotels like this? No pretentiousness, just great comfort and excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,627 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,773 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,849 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing