We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way is this 7th best in HK”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“No way is this 7th best in HK”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I have to disagree with those that rave about this place. Having just visited the Langham in Chicago, I find this place art down in many ways. The main gripe is the building and location. NOTE: this is MONGKOK. For business and tourist travellers alike, you are far from HK and not even in Tsim Sha Tsui overlooking HK. While there is a local authenticity to the place, it is simply not a 5 star setting or building. For example, there is a busy bus terminal right next to the hotel entrance (see photo). The rooms are perfectly decent but not up to the high standards of their other properties. All the more puzzling as this is a Chinese chain so HK ought to be a flagship site.

No way does this compare to the Island Shangri-La, Mandarin or even the Conrad or JW Marriott. Moreover you are nowhere near the HK Express train stations so it is a bit tedious to get to on arrival and departure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,662
    1,384
    248
    69
    35
See reviews for
1,479
2,184
463
1,247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Situated in heart of Mongkok. Very clean and modern hotel with direct access to Langham Place shopping and food plaza, and restaurants, without stepping outside. MTR directly over the road and then take steps into the underground subway station. Walking distance to all Mongkok attractions, e.g.markets, electronics, etc. Stayed with my husband and 2 children ages 6 & 8 in a club suite, 2 single beds and one king size bed. Strongly suggest paying extra for Club Lounge access. We started each day with hearty breakfast from the extensive buffet or freshly cooked eggs. After a day of sightseeing we would go to Club Lounge for a coffee or cold drink and a snack. This was particularly useful for the children, who would often be exhausted by 5.30pm. The children would eat all manner of food, i.e. quiche, sushi, dumplings, cheese and biscuits, sweet tarts, mini cupcakes, etc, etc and this would be enough to satisfy them for dinner. This was great, as finding food that aussie children would eat, apart from steamed or fried rice, can be a bit challenging. Must mention the massage chairs in the Club Lounge as these were a hit with the kids! Directly across from the Club Lounge was a children's play / leisure room fitted out with playstation, televisions, video games, jars of lollies, bowls of fruit, and potato chips to help yourself to. The children would eat at the Club Lounge then wander over to the play room whilst dad and I relaxed and caught up on the newspapers in the Lounge. The roof top pool was beautiful and an attendant was always there ready to provide you with a clean towel and welcome. The gym was fantastic, with a vast array of up-to-date equipment and a brilliant view of Hong Kong. The staff were happy, communicative, friendly and most accommodating with any requests we had. House keeping always had our room restored to a brilliant tidiness on our return from a day out sightseeing. Fresh bottled water was provided daily. We loved staying here and could not fault one thing. We would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Book a club suite with access to Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in Oct and would like to commend the staff for their great service. They waited for us to check in and presented us with a wedding anniversary surprise (chocolates and champagne). As what other travellers have already commented, every little details is indeed important to them. They strive to provide good service and always with a sincere smile.

The hotel is situated beside a mall and linked to the Mongkok MRT (subway). You can obtain a card from the concierge which gives you the location of the hotel and other nearby attractions (Ladies' Market, Goldfish Market, Temple Street Market).

We love the rooftop pool and breakfast. We will be back in Feb 2014 :-) Thank you to the staff and management of Langham Place for making our stay in HK truly memorable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigemuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kells, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and the service on the first four were exceptional, on the last day the room was not cleaned/serviced to as high a standard as the previous days.
The location is great and room is amazing, we stayed in a suite and couldn't fault the room. Access to the club lounge was great, food/drinks available night and day, staff friendly and helpful. We have stayed here before and no doubt if we return to the area will stay here again.
The hotel offers a free guided tour of the local markets, I took this tour with my 2 children and it was wonderful and the guide was very informative.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We are not normally five-start travellers, but after a lengthy tour of Europe, we were looking for a bit of quality and comfort from which to explore Hong Kong on our way home. The Langham Place certainly provided this, and did so without appearing too pompous or elitist, allowing us to enjoy friendly service, great food options and genuine relaxation. All of which was needed, as the hotel is located within the hustle, bustle and heat of one of Hong Kong's most populated areas. Apart from the various local markets, the majority of things to see in Hong Kong require a cab ride from the hotel (The walk to the Harbour is long, hot and offers little but 'mostly' undesirable shops), but the hotel staff were excellent at pointing us in the right direction.

Room Tip: This is a tall hotel, and the 'cheaper' rooms do not get the full height. However, it is sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed twice in this amazing hotel....great place ...every little details is important for them....the concierge service is excellent...they all try their best to make every guest feel comfortable and relax....
Breakfast and brunch amazing....chocolate fountains for the kids and for the adults are paradise...highly recommended...as it so close for a shopping center complex with cinemas....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Would you like to stay at a luxury hotel in Chinese Hong Kong? Then stay at the Langham Place in Mongkok. This hotel is situated in the heart of the residential area, next to the Langham shopping mall, woman's market, electronically shops, local markets, restaurants and MTR (subway) Mongkok. The area has been cleaned-up and is nothing like the former red light district from 10 years ago. Just 40 minutes from the airport and only a one hour walk (or 10 minutes by subway) along Nathan Street down to Victoria Bay and the Star Ferry Pier. The hotel offers all facilities that you might expect from a 5-star hotel, including a heated swimming pool plus whirlpool on the roof of the 41st floor. Absolutely value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller3_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,845 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,908 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing