We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still my favourite hotel”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Still my favourite hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed four nights in mid July on the way from Australia to England. this was our fourth visit - our last being three years ago. The last couple of times we booked a club room and did so again. When we arrived we were asked whether we'd like to upgrade to a suite on the 39th floor. We are so glad we did. Having that extra room was great for me since I tend to wake up early in the morning and I could go into the lounge room and just stare at the amazing view. This is not the most luxurious hotel I have stayed at. What makes it so special are the staff. They go out of the way to make sure you have a fantastic stay. This time we chatted to some of the other guests in the club lounge. Hi to the women who showed me the photos of the most amazing cakes I've ever seen! Didn't end up finding the place to buy the cake equipment but will definitely find it next time. And I do recommend the rose pillow. I just hope they have a great deal on their suites the next time we travel since we've been totally spoiled! This hotel meets my every need.

Room Tip: Go for a club lounge room on the higher floors. The club lounge is great for snacks, drinks and ambi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,653
    1,382
    249
    68
    35
See reviews for
1,476
2,181
462
1,243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently stayed here for 6 nights in a Club L room and it was well worth the extra cost. The staff were attentive, friendly and seemed genuinely interested in what we were doing. The food was fantastic; available from early morning until late in the evening. No matter what time of day it was a range of delicious snacks was available from fresh pastries to dim sum to cupcakes and the open bar was greatly appreciated. The food was so good that there was little need to eat outside the lounge, however, we did venture down to the highly rated Ming Court restaurant where we enjoyed the beautiful 7 course degustation. The room was very comfortable, with amazing views and the bathroom was well appointed. The roof top pool has panoramic views and the gym is well equipped. The hotel is a distance from the harbour, in a busy part of Kowloon, but accessing other parts of Hong Kong was simple using the MTR underneath the adjacent shopping centre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gengen599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I started by giving them a five then dropped it to a 1 . Issues:
This is a crowded property. Akin to marriott in times square, a LOT of people. Concierge grumpy. Check in ok but often barraged by other guests asking questions (unlike 4 seasons, etc where check in is done in your room).
One day (we were on the 30th floor) there were fans going all over the hall and it smelled horribly of a gas leak. No one in the hotel seemed to acknowledge this or even tell guests what was happening.
We had 2 rooms, the "less expensive" room was a cracker box with no view. The bigger room on the 30th floor had nice views.
Other issues: room service, if you want it, takes forever. So does the service in the upper level restaurant.
Toilet ran constantly. Forgot to refill coffee in room. SInk overflowed. TV did not work. Bed really uncomfortable.
However, management did attempt some remediation so I gave a bit of a better rating.
This hotel is in the middle of NO WHERE granted, attached to a mall, but there are better malls to shop at.
The area around it is pretty scary - red light kind of place.
Metro stop is across the street.
I guess my big issue: I had two rooms for 8 days. My company is a strong supporter of this place. However, you would not know that by how we were treated as invisible guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here twice in July - our first trip was for 7 nights and then 1 more night on a stopover back to London.

The hotel is located within a mall and is conveniently connected to Mong Kok MTR station.
We had booked the Studio Place room (Floor 12) and it is large compared to many other hotel rooms I have stayed in in HK. My friends booked a Essential Place Plus (Floor 31) which is a smaller room but adequate. Other than the size, the main difference between the two types of room are that you get a printer in the Studio Place Plus but in the Essential Place Plus - you get an iphone 4 to use for local calls and browsing the internet. We found this to be super useful when looking up local information when outside of the hotel. Our printer had run out of ink (we wanted to print out boarding tickets) but the hotel has a Business Center you can use. They did not charge us for the print outs as I explained that our printer in the room had run out of ink.

Our bookings came with free wifi which was of decent quality. There was also a happy hour between 5pm-9pm in the Portal Bar every night but it was only 2 for 1 on selected wines. This is stop us going on several nights though! (hic!!)

The hotel has a great rooftop pool and a well equipped gym (with amazing views over the city).
The service at the hotel was always very helpful and courteous. You cannot beat the location especially if you're travelling to the New Territories as well as over to HK Island. it's a perfect base for both. The location is a very busy area but it's the hustle and bustle that makes HK what it is.

We didn't try any of the restaurants in the hotel so cannot comment on them. We did try some of the places to eat within the mall and they were all great! If you're a fan of Ippudo Ramen then you're in luck - there's one building. Yum!!

We only had one gripe with this hotel and that was them reneging on an agreed late check-out time. We had left some shopping at the hotel after our initial 7 days as storage and we had enquired at check-out if we would be able to have a late check-out when we returned the following week. The lady on reception said it would not be a problem as we have very late flights out. Unfortunately, we had to argue for it when we checked in again, and then had to resort to asking for the manager before the guy serving us, relented and let us have the late check-out we had already requested!

Annoying as that was, I don't think it will put us off staying there again in the future.
Till we meet again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimples2710RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This was my second hotel on this trip to HK. Having stayed on Hong Kong Island, we moved to Langham Place in Kowloon, the two hotels could not have been more different. Langham Place was great. The service is great. The rooms are clean and well designed. The internet was included in my hotel reservation and worked well. The complimentary water was replenished in the morning and evening.
Breakfast was also included in my reservation and was excellent lots of choice. It might be a minor point, but the juice glasses were a proper size, no repeated trips to get your juice fix.
The Backyard restaurant is good and does have some offers for food and drink.
The hotel is also convenient for the Mong Kok tube station, although it involves winding your way through the shopping centre and several escalators.
A really good hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner in a club L room which was well worth the extra. We had a dual aspect room on 37th floor and access to club L lounge on 36th. All the staff were so friendly and attentive without ever being intrusive. Food was excellent with a good selection and snacks throughout the day. I loved the dim sum in particular!! Nice pool and spa area on the top floor for a relax as well. Hotel is well located on MTG line so it's easy to reach the attractions. Definitely going to come back to this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarr_mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Langham place offers a great hotel with great facilities in a good location. Staff were fantastic- very helpful throughout stay. One of the best city centre hotels I've stayed in boasting a fantastic gym and rooftop swimming pool offering amazing views. Rooms were of very good standard with a brilliant wifi service... Connected to great shopping centre with a wide range of places to eat and very near Mongkok train station with regular service into town...I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,723 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,832 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,897 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing