We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option for Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
Ranked #120 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent option for Hong Kong”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A large hotel in Kowloon was very well located. It is a 25 minute walk along the harbour side to Ferry Terminal, but you are on the Metro, so only walk if you want to. We upgraded to a harbour view room. Although rooms are small, this was worth it. It included access to the 21st floor business club area. This was really excellent. Superb breakfast buffet and coffee etc all day. A wonderful view over the harbour from the open terrace. The best however is an early evening buffet,complete with wine, which we used as our evening meal on a couple of nights. Staff could not have been more helpful. Even learned a few phrases in Cantonese !

Room Tip: Harbour view - and expect small size unit. Go for upgrade to enjoy 21st floor lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermott q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    764
    349
    88
    60
See reviews for
346
425
117
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Excellent Location, being close to the MTR station and restaurants.

We had booked the hotel for New Year. The Check In process took forever and the reason was not long queues but the Check In personnel were quite dumbfounded. We had booked a Superior Suite, firstly because room size was good and secondly for the kitchenette.

After waiting for long for the Check In, we were finally told that room is not ready and we will get it after an hour or two. We were getting late for Disneyland so left our luggage there and left.

After coming back from Disneyland, we checked into our room. The room was very spacious and had a well equipped kitchen. The living room and bedroom were of decent size too.

The best thing about the room was the view. Whereas at Harbour Grand Kowloon( where we stayed for a night), the room offered clear Harbour Views, here at Metropolis, Side Harbour view was there, but the Symphony of Lights show could be seen very clearly. So that was a big plus.

In terms of amenities, location, hospitality, I will rate this hotel very high. But they really need to work on their Check In process.

Room Tip: Take the Superior Suite on the 9th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajatSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I went through a MakeMyTrip package deal.

The hotel 'Harbor Metropolis Plaza' experience was plain AWFUL. There was no complimentary water in the room, the staff's behavior bordered on the arrogant, they wanted to charge us $100 for a charger-adaptor, there was no free wi-fi in the lobby area (and the internet in the room did not have an hourly package, only a 24-hour long one).

a. Water: First day, we had two bottles of water as a part of the package, the next two days we needed to pay $20/bottle. Seriously? In this day and age? And if that was going to be the case, why did they/MakeMyTrip.com not inform us of this silly rule so that we would have got the water from outside the hotel - not a pleasant feeling when you get back to the hotel at 11 pm in the night and are curtly informed that there's no complimentary water in the rooms. Yep, they were quite rude too.

Once, one of the guys from our group (from the MakeMyTrip group) went for breakfast and after completing the breakfast, took a step outside the breakfast room before realising he wanted to drink water. He was refused entry into the breakfast room to have a glass of water. They said: "Once you have had your breakfast, you cannot step back in even to drink water."

That's plain ridiculous.

b. Internet: Charging $130/day for internet is a joke. Most travellers want to use internet for 15-20 minutes, a maximum of 1 hour in the day so even if you want to charge for it, there needs to be a hourly package. Most hotel lobbies have free internet except for this one.

c. Charger-Adapter: We were going to Hong Kong for the first time, as were most others. How on earth are we supposed to know that the charger adaptor is going to be different from the one in India. The guys at MMT did not inform us about it, and that was followed by the hotel wanting a lot of money to hire an adapter.

They wanted $108 for the adapter, which is the biggest joke I have heard in a long time. It took me 45 minutes to calling and visiting the reception and talking to different people of the staff to finally get what the adapter from the hotel itself.

Firstly, the adaptor outside cost $10 (which we later realised and bought) but at that time in the night, at around 11-11.30 pm, the shops were all closed. And when we did get the adaptor after almost 45 minutes of talk with the hotel guys, we saw it was clearly mentioned “for hotel use only” on the adaptor. So when they say 'hotel use only', do they mean it's not for the guests? Or do they mean it's not for Indian guests?

It was a feeling of helplessness when neither my laptop, nor my mobile phone could be charged because of this.

d. Check-in: The check-in experience was the worst ever. I understand that there check in time is 2 PM but that doesn’t mean that they speak rudely to us if we arrive early. For everything that we asked them, the standard reply was "ask the tour guide". The tone was so rude that I thought that most immigration officers are more polite than this.

There was no proper place to sit in the lobby, just some make shift kind of chairs. No-one offering us water, let alone any welcome drink.

I do not know whether this is how they treat every guest or if this kind of a treatment is reserved for Indians alone but one way or the other it was the worst ever from a total of around 25 I have stayed in the last four or five years.

Room Tip: Preferably avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyanka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

At check in we thought we were in for a great experience, but once you leave the desk it all falls into a screaming heap. No offer of assistance with luggage or finding room. Rooms are so small we could not move past each other unless one sat on bed. Bathroom was clean, however we had to wait up to 5minutes to use toilet as the flush was so slow refilling. Shower had no pressure and hot water ran out after couple of minutes and did not reheat. Unable to control air conditioning which made it vey uncomfortable. Housekeeping was only bright side to our 4night stay here. Sorry won't stay here again

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is well-located. Close all kinds of public transport. The hotel runs a frequent shuttle connecting to Tsim Sha Tsui.. very useful.

The hotel reception is like New Delhi railway station - buzzing with people. Everyone including the people at the reception are too busy to spend too much time with you. But they are efficient. Similarly, rooms are adequate (I was travelling alone on business). But I could jump from my bed either into the shower or onto the miniscule work-table. Had to fight occasional claustrophobia.

I paid about HKD 100 extra for a "Harbourview" room, and the view between two skyscrapers was just worth that much... not even HKD 1 extra. Again very efficient... cannot complain! Don't expect too much service anywhere.

The breakfast in the restaurant is kind of nice but the menu during lunch, etc. is a nightmare for vegetarians. Fortunately, the shopping mall right behind has a nice Indian restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aalochak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beawar
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Please don't go by photographs , check in time too long , concierge & receptionist are arrogant , non helping , rooms are too small like cabin of a cruise only good thing is breakfast .please don't opt for this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deetee1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A few hits and misses by this hotel. stayed for a total of 3 days and 2nights.

I arrived at 7am and was able to check in immediately as the hotel wasn't full, and was given a room on the 18th floor. Pretty good view. However, not too sure if it was the early hour but there wasn't a bellboy in sight and the counter staff didnt seem intent on signalling for one. oh well, saved myself a tip there.

Hotel staff was very prompt in replenishing the complimentary bottles of water but the water had a funny smell, small issue here. bought and boiled my own water instead.

Stay was ok and more or less in line with that I expected, but my main gripe was during checkout. I chose to settle my room by cash but was informed by the checkout staff that 1000HKD notes are not accepted due to counterfeit notes being circulated. Since when did that become my problem? Had no issues using 1000HKD notes at the shopping malls, in fact, even the MTR station has a device to verify the authenticity of the note upon purchase of an Octopus card. Can't believe that a supposedly 4star hotel did not invest in such a device.

Was rushing for my flight thus did not attempt to escalate the matter then. Once I was back I emailed the Guest Relations Manager and was brushed off with a very standard template saying thanks for my feedback.

Will not stay here again unless I have no choice. it's quite far from TST, even with the scheduled buses going to Middle Road. It also seems like the hotel has no intention of capturing repeat guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kowloon City
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
#165 of 718 in Hong Kong
929 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,872 reviews
Kowloon Harbourfront Hotel
#191 of 718 in Hong Kong
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
436 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#114 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,441 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Property: Harbour Plaza Metropolis
Address: No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#101 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza Metropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 821
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Plaza Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing