We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
Ranked #118 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is located in a convenient location.Very near to Hung Hom MTR station. Free shuttle from Tsim sha shui was helpful . We were given a partial harbor view room that was a suite with seating area & kitchen. Breakfast was good with variety of choice including Indian menu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChetanaBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Plaza Metropolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Price / Service relation for hong kong in this Hotel is still good and the house is recommendable.

We (2 People) have been there for 4 weeks in January 2014.

--- Quality and Service ---

it is recommendable to book rooms un the upper floors (starting at approximately floor 15) as the hoten then offers a wonderful view to the entire Skyline of Hongkong Island, just like in catalogue photographs!

Service and Quality of the rooms is in mid-range, proper communication in (Tourist) English is only possible with higher staff.

Meanwhile this Hotel is aimed to short-trip Chinese Holiday tourists and not so much to European/American/Australian etc. travellers.
Thus, for example european travellers should Claim justified whishes regarding the Hotel to their traveller's agency as direct communication with the Hotel staff can be difficult.

--- Location and surroundings ---

Not directly on the water front but there are foot bridges that lead you either to the front, or to the colloquial area of Kowloon and there is also a shuttle bus (every 15 minutes and no Charge) to the front end of Nathan road, one of the busyest streets on the kowloon side of HK.

opposit the Hotel there is a railway Station (Underground so no noise) called Hunghom that offers many Connections by Train and subway; behind that railway Station there's also a large bus Station with even more Connections, this Station is also reachable by a foot Bridge. So all in all i recommend this Hotel to people who intend to stay longer in HK and whish to explore the surroundings.

The Quality of the spa (Sauna + pool operated summer and winter) is mediocre; the Service staff does not care much for gygiene and tidyness but just security in the pool etc. However nice that it is operated in winter because many other Hotels do not provide their pools at this time.

Room Tip: starting from the 15th floor upwards - direction towards Hongkong Island. As Long as the constructi...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is updated and with clean rooms of a good size. The free Shuttle to nathan road is great - leaves every 20mins. The gym and pool area is lovely - just wish the pool had a bar!
It would be good to have options to include the wifi at discount if it's bought for your entire stay, or free if your stay is more than 5 nights. It's such a useful thing when you travel these days, and it should be standard for business travel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IscaScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to joining our cruise ship. Nice clean hotel air con extremely cold, staff offered pashmina scarf to the ladies in The Point Cafe in the lobby which shows they care for clientele. Fantastic 3 storey mall with great shopping and shuttle service to the city. Overall a good experience (if only they'd turn down the air con).
Anna

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We checked in quite late and had to find our own way to the storage cupboard they told us was the room which we had pre-paid some months before arrival. We had stipulated a trundle bed for our young son, but it was not in the room on our arrival. We called the front desk and some time later, a very willing but clearly over-worked member of the house-keeping staff turned up with the bed. My son did not get to bed until after midnight and this made the next day difficult.
The wi-fi is a rip off at HK$130 per device per day, when it is free in many cafes, malls, etc in HK. Be especially careful of signing on to HPME Public as well as the HPME in your room - you will be charged twice ! If you receive any complimentary drink vouchers on arrival, understand they are next to valueless. The bar-staff will tell you all about the 'conditions of use'. Basically, you can get a soft drink, or a can of 'house' beer (brand & origins unknown).
The dinner & breakfast buffets, hmmm......... Visualise a large 'all you can eat' set up, but with staff steering you towards the dessert counter - so you can conclude your meal quickly and make way for the next diner. Eat there if you like being rushed. Don't bother calling the hotel concierge for a restaurant recommendation, they only seem to know the hotel operated restaurants within the Metropolis complex. Don't try using the pre-dial service buttons on your phone - most will give you a recorded message and when you do get through to the front desk, they will redirect your call 2-3 times.
The front-desk staff all look busy, but not with serving their customers. They seem busy with paperwork and talking to each other. In fairness, they may have been helping each other out because they seem to have a lot of trainees or new starters. When we checked out the guy behind the front desk asked if I had any mini-bar and I advised I would have liked some bottled water, but there wasn't actually a mini-bar in my room. He didn't seem very knowledgable about his own hotel.
We have experienced hotels in provincial cities in mainland China, where the staff are new and their English is very limited. They were much better than the Harbour Plaza Metropolis in terms of customer focus and service ethic.
Positives ? It's near the station.
We had a bad experience at the HP Metropolis and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JumboJetJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

1. 在港鐵打電話詢問shuttle bus資訊, 打了3次皆是電話不斷轉來轉去然後被掛斷; 電話服務人員竟還講shuttle bus的接駁地點!
The service desk transferred the phone calls over and over, hanged up total 3 times while i was calling for asking shuttle bus information at HK MRT; and delivered wrong information about their shuttle bus pick-up location!
2. 前台服務人員態度不佳, 且CHECK IN時, 說因住客太多, 主動詢問可否接受有障礙設施的房間, 強調房間比較大和比較好, 結果一進房發現連浴缸都沒有...
The service desk asked me whether accept to changed to the handicapped room, the room is bigger and nicer. But I found this room is no bathtub after step in
3. 後來換了房間, 房間格局依然不方正、枕頭扁塌有些潮濕、連熱水都不熱是溫的
Finally changed the room, the room looks not square, the pillows are flat and a bit humid, the hot water is warm, not even hot enough for taking a nice bath

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christy0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

As a family of four we have stayed here a couple of times, it makes sense for us to stay on the 20th floor with access to the lounge as you have free wifi and happy hour (2hrs). This stay my 20 year old twins tried the spa, my daughters manicure consisted of just having her nails filed so she refused to pay, then my son went for a back massage where they put a towel over his shoulders and nearly rubbed his skin off - he also refused to pay. However it's a great location near the station I just think for us it's time to try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#54 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,946 reviews
Kowloon City
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
#162 of 721 in Hong Kong
958 reviews
Kowloon Harbourfront Hotel
#173 of 721 in Hong Kong
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#116 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,467 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#82 of 721 in Hong Kong
454 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#47 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Address: No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £81 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza Metropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 821
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour Plaza Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing