We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, busy and crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
Ranked #123 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Where to next?
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Big, busy and crowded”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is a very large hotel, so if you are one of those business travellers who does not enjoy the company of large numbers of tourists, you should avoid this place. There is nothing overtly wrong with the hotel, but nothing was excellent either. The main restaurant, which is where you have breakfast, was very busy and rather hectic. The gym is quite small, but the outdoor pool (which overlooks the harbour) is nice. internet access is ridiculously overpriced. One plus for this hotel is that it is right next to a subway stop, so getting around Hong Kong is pretty easy. I probably won't come back here as a business traveller; if I do I'll book a room on the club floor, so as to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    769
    352
    89
    61
See reviews for
348
428
116
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Located in a very convenient location – close to Hung Hom train station – and attached to a mall and walkway to the nearby university, this hotel is clean and spacious by Hong Kong standards. The lobby is always busy, with a restaurant and coffee shop area. I didn’t try the food, but the tea was served nicely. Travellers can also pose for photographs with large teddy bears, if so inclined.

The room itself was very comfortable; the furniture a little worn on the edges but still in good condition, and the carpets and bathrooms clean. Bedspreads were white cotton and washable, and the pillows were fluffy and comfortable. bed was firm and provided a good sleep. The view of the water is framed by a lot of buildings, but additional landscaping has been done below in order to make the view seems more natural. The room was also light and bright, and the bathroom clean.

I will certainly return to this hotel when visiting Hong Kong. It’s more expensive than some, but certainly worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Mimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed here for four days on the last part of our honeymoon in the far east. We were given a room with a harbour view because it was our honeymoon, which was great. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and the rooms were kept very clean. this is not the most central location in hong kong but there are busses between this hotel and the Centre going both ways every ten minutes untill very late so that was not a problem at all. I would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit hong kong

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igl_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I satyed in this hotel for 5 days and was quite satisfied by the room and room service. The staff members are poilte and helpful. You have number of facilities free to use such as gym and swimming pool. They have restaunrants and cafe inside the hotel. The hotel promises to give you rooms with harbour view and I requesnted one. But I was bit disappointed although I can see the harbour from my room as the hotel is situated bit away from the sea and otehr buildings restrict the view. So if you looking for a lovely sea view room this won't be the best choice. You nee to pay for the internet which is about 150HK$ for 24hrs reasonable as compared to other hotels but still don't understand why it's not free as in Hong Kong you can surf in many cafe free of cost. But location i sperfect just in front of MTR and Bus station

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vik_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

the rooms were very very small, no place to keep luggage, after keeping luggage no place to walk in the room one of the smallest room, i have ever stayed in a luxary hotel. no free wifi . no free drinking water on second day of stay (only two bottles on first day ,what is the logic?) they were charging for the plug convertor )required for charging flat pins to round pins) will not recomend. good thing free shuttle to nathan street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhashagarwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is very good Hotel But I find Rooms littel bite small.... But still I liked hotel. Very Convinent For Indian Traveler, Near To TimshaSui Business Center & Shoping Center.
Along with the hotel there is a shoping complex in the hotel and Staff is very very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vijaygupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Hotel is located right next door to Harbour Plaza Shopping Centre and across the right from Hung Hom Station. The rail system was so cheap and convenient that the location was not a hassle. We got a bus from the airport for HK$33 and it took us to Hung Hom station - so that was great. The hotel also had a free shuttle bus to the Kowloon Hotel near Nathan Road, every 20 mins. Great!!
We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Suite, which had a bedroom, lounge and kitchen and this was very comfortable for our weeks stay in Hong Kong. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Be aware that upon check-in they offer to upgrade your room (at a cost) and do not like taking no for an answer. (We think that they are given a commission to get you to upgrade because the girl was very cool towards us each time we saw her during our stay). Besides, that it was a beautiful hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kowloon City
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
#163 of 718 in Hong Kong
939 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,897 reviews
Kowloon Harbourfront Hotel
#184 of 718 in Hong Kong
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#119 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,453 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#82 of 718 in Hong Kong
445 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#48 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Metropolis

Property: Harbour Plaza Metropolis
Address: No.7 Metropolis Drive, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#103 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza Metropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 821
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour Plaza Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Metropolis Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing