We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in hong kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Ranked #72 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 95Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,737)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 4,737 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Elia C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 21 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It's all about the location with this hotel. It is a nice hotel, room is not huge but it is ok. They really do need to look at internet - other places include this in the cost. I didn't eat here as - well you have so much to choose from that's so much cheaper than the hotel, why would you!. Staff are friendly and helpful.

This is the second time I have stayed and am happy, it is convenient to get to using the airport train and shuttle bus. Close to the MTR, night market, Nathan Road shopping...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend took the Airport Express train from Hong Kong Airport to Kowloon Station (HK$140, approx 20 minutes). We then took the free Airport Express Shuttle Bus from Kowloon Station along the K1 circular route to Eaton, Hong Kong (stop 6, 40 minutes). From Eaton we walked left at the end of the street into Nathan Rd, then left into Saigon Street for the hotel (3 minutes).

It was a confusing check-in as we walked in via the ground floor (street level, Novotel call it Lower Lobby), but were then pointed up an escalator to floor 1 for the check-in desk.

Myself and friend stayed in twin-bedded room 1226 for four nights.

Pros:
-Fast check-in.
-Four lifts to all floors, apart from ground floor. I loved the whacky lift music.
-Key card entry (one per person) to solid door with bedroom containing two single beds, one bedside table with built-in room controls (lighting, air-con, alarm, radio, TV), telephone, bedside reading lights, curious hospital-style bed table on wheels, floor lamp, upholstered chair & footstool, telephone, writing desk & chair, lamp, power sockets (including two UK 3-pin mains sockets), recycle bin, normal bin, hotel information pack, wall-mounted Sony flatscreen multi-channel TV (English language channels include BBC World News, AXN, Fox Sports), suitcase area, tea/coffee making facilities, 2 free bottles of water, fridge (contents chargeable), electronic safe (it could comfortably an 8-inch tablet), wardrobe with sliding door (shared with bathroom) with hanging space plus shelves, iron & ironing board. Large single blind (no curtains). Effective, but noisy air-con. Sliding door (shared with wardrobe) into en suite bathroom with walk-in shower, sink, lotions, toilet.
-Free newspaper - South China Morning Post - by first floor lifts.
-The Square restaurant - 1st floor - I ate there on the first night and had smoked duck HK$178 (plus 10% service charge). A pint of Tsing Tao is HK$ 72. Breakfast is served 6:30-11am there as well. Free copies of the International New York Times and USA Today available if your early enough.
-Tasca Bar - 1st floor - lunch, afternoon tea, happy hour, live music entertainment nightly.
-Travel desk - 1st floor.
-Gym - Lower Lobby. I took my running shoes and exercised in the nearby Kowloon Park. Turn right out of the hotel entrance/exit, use the Subway to cross Nathan Road, then turn left and walk along Nathan Road for 10 minutes until you see steps up to the entrance of Kowloon Park on your right-hand side.
-Concierge - Lower Lobby. Umbrellas available for loan.
-Checkout 12 noon.

Cons:
-WiFi chargeable, but free in the Lobby area 20 minutes at a time. Prices in-room start from HK$68 for 2 hours. However, the 20 minutes in the Lobby also worked fine in my room on the 12th floor.
-Bedside table with built-in room controls located on one side of one bed, so is out of reach of the other guest. Why can't they locate it between the beds, so that both guests can access it?
-Huge headboard (why so big?) contains a built-in light strip around its edge. Ceiling lights would have been more practical and not taken up as much precious space.
-Bathroom and wardrobe lights both come on at the same time. Therefore light floods the bedroom during darkness.

Notes:
-There's a 7-Eleven convenience store across the road from the hotel.
-Kowloon Park is 15 minutes walk down Nathan Road.
-The Concierge (Lower Lobby) can supply a free map of Hong Kong and use it to circle relevant sites, restaurants, MTR subway stations etc.
-The nearest MTR tube station is Jordan. Turn right out of the hotel, left into Nathan Rd, then left into Jordan Rd.
-I used the MTR tube from Jordan to Tsim Sha Tsui (HK$4.50 single journey ticket) for the 'Avenue of Stars' (tribute to HK movie stars including Bruce Lee statue), 'Symphony of Light' 13 minute show (8pm daily, underwhelming) and the Star Ferry Pier (for Hong Kong Island). An Adult Tourist Day Pass (valid 24 hours) for MTR tube costs HK$55 from a ticket counter (there's one at Jordan).
-Take photo ID (e.g. passport, driving licence) as once you are on HK Island you can go to floor 55 of the Two ifc building - located within the ifc mall near the Pier - for free for great views over HK. To enter once inside ifc mall, walk past the Apple store, head to the yellow coloured Lobby and ask for further directions.
-I took Bus No.15 from Exchange Square to The Peak (396 metres above sea level). Alternatively, take the Peak Tram.
-I took a taxi to the Macao Pier, then a TurboJet (HK$159 one-way) the 1 hour to Macau. Don't forget your passport! I then took a free shuttle bus (each casino offers their own shuttle service) to the Venetian Casino.
-The same guy in Saigon Street hassled me to buy a bespoke suit every time I left the hotel. Other 'offers' in HK included watches/jewellery/bags (fake and excessively overpriced) and massage (I dread to think).

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review and your compliments on the hotel decor, amenities, staff and the speedy check-in services.

As mentioned in the previous reviews, besides offered in the lobby, free WiFi is also available in the Executive Premier rooms. Meanwhile, you can enjoy free WiFi at any of our Accor properties once you sign up to become a Le Club Member.

For the rest of your remarks, our rooms are the typical Novotel rooms, with dual-purpose doors designed to maximize space. The beds featuring a giant upholstered headboard is a typical Novotel feature, designed to give good support.

We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Went with three other ladies with the objectives of shopping and eating. So the fact that it is near many recommended eats is fantastic. Most were within walking distance for us. The hotel daily buffet breakfast was very decent considering we were not there for hotel food but it sure was better than expected. The room were clean but not as big as I would like. We asked for an adjoining room with the adjoining doors opened. Very glad they were able to meet the request as many other hotels somehow couldn't seems to be able to do it. However, having stayed in Causeway Bay area previously, I missed the proximity to shopping! Given a choice, I may just choose Causeway Bay over Kowloon next time just for the shopping!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daffy_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your experience with us.

We’re delighted to read that you were satisfied with the room arrangement and would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your generous comments on our breakfast buffet and cleanliness.

Yes, the area is a haven of many interesting local street food and restaurants that Hong Kong is most renowned for. Great shopping is on the doorstep and is only 5 minutes walk from the famous Tsim Sha Tsui shopping area offering a great variety of local and international branded stores, or simply take the MTR from Jordan MTR station which is only 2 minutes walking distance from our hotel. Our concierge team on the ground floor can also provide suggestions of special events when you next visit Hong Kong.

We’re looking forward to welcome you to the Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon again, hopefully very soon for another great shopping adventure.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very disappointed during check in and check out. Although there's priority check in counter but no one stand by there. Already complain to duty manager , she promised to rectify but it happened again when check out. They treated everyone the same, member or non-member , no need to hold Accor Advantage Plus Card!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chalermpol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

According to our records, we were experiencing high occupancy with a sudden increase of check-ins and outs on both days during your stay. We have made our utmost efforts in dealing with the peak hours on this occasion by increasing the number of staff so as to shorten the waiting time for guests. We may not be able to predict the sudden inflow of guests and we believe that this was just an exceptional case. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and your understanding is highly appreciated.

Thank you informing us of your concern, we hope that this experience did not affect your good impression of this hotel and it will definitely be our pleasure if you can grant us a chance to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotels overall good, coz of its central location. The staff at the reception is terrible, annoying and uncourteous. Would not recommend anyone to stay here only coz of the attitude of the front staff. IMPROVE or you will fall down!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inadmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#100 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,956 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 721 in Hong Kong
898 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#98 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 721 in Hong Kong
539 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon

Address: No.348 Nathan Road, Kowloon District, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £86 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon is conveniently located on bustling Nathan Road, in the heart of Kowloon, the famous shopping and commercial district. The Hotel is proximity to the city's most convenient MTR system and a short distance from Temple Street Night Market, Ladies Market, and Jade Market, makes exploring the city's sights enjoyable and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nathan Road Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Novotel Hotel Hong Kong
Majestic Hotel Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing