We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value hotel in HK but small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #58 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value hotel in HK but small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

The room is very small. I was given a smoking room at the beginning but reception replaced the room for me later on.

It is clean and near to Tin-Ho MTR station. And the view from roof pool is very good. It is good value for the cost. (US 100 without breakfast).

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    917
    198
    36
    9
See reviews for
359
867
167
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

I only stayed 3 nights, I couldn't fault it in anyway, and the view from the roof was simply stunning.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel for our first wedding anniversary and it was amazing. We went in February 2007, which was a good time of year to visit Hong Kong - warm but not too smoggy. Also it was the Chinese New Year celebrations, which were a spectacle to behold! We would highly recommend this hotel.
Location
Great location on Hong Kong Island. Handy for the metro or the tram. Breakfast was not included in our stay, but on the same street was a 7eleven and a lovely bakery. There was a big leafy park across the street and a large public library a few mins walk away with free internet access.
Room/General
Majority of the rooms have an unobstructed view across to Kowloon - brilliant for watching the new year fireworks. The room itself was large, comfortable and modern. It also had a nice bar area with a complimentary drink on arrival (and people doing hilarious chinese karaoke!).
Service
The staff were very friendly and had good recommendations for things to see & do. They looked after our luggage on our day of departure so we could have some extra time in the city.
Negatives
Can't think of any! Perhaps that the pool was closed while we were there - but it is on the roof, and so only open in the summer months!

  • Liked — View from the room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

The hotel is in an excellent location, a stone's throw from Tin Hau MTR, tram and bus stops plus only around 10 minute walk through Victoria Park to Causeway Bay with Times Square shopping on your doorstep.

The standard rooms are light and airy but are pretty small. Beds are queensize and there is only just enough room to walk around them. Bathrooms are a good size though - no bath but nice shower and plenty of fluffy towels and goodies.

As you long as you get a habour view room, it's good value for Hong Kong. I can imagine a room at the back overlooking the flats won't seem so much of bargain though.

The staff were lovely, nothing too much of a problem. Concierge extremely helpful. Recommend the airport bus which costs around HK$120 and also an Octopus card which you swipe on all publc transport - buy from the customer service kiosks at any MTR station for HK$150 ($50 refundable).

The only problem I had with the hotel is the air con. The room was a little musty and smelt damp - although it was spotless and there was no evidence of mould or mildew in the bathroom. It felt like the air con was on recirculation giving the room a slightly sweaty/damp feel. We turned it off at night (lucky it wasn't summer) and this helped a little.

We didn't try the restaurant as it seemed pretty expensive and bland for what was on offer outside the hotel (some fantastic Japanese on Electric Road). The rooftop pool was amazing.

  • Liked — Rooftop pool
  • Disliked — Air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Desparately_seeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

I have been to Hong Kong a few times and stayed at different hotels but beside the Langham Monkok, I find other hotels quite old and not really worth the money. This time as budget travellers, we booked ourselves into this Metropark hotel and were quite nervous with the quality of a 1000HKD (about 130USD)/night deal (including breakfast for 2 and free non-wireless broadband internet and a harbour view). But when we got there, we couldn't be any happier. This hotel is far better than some much more expensive ones I've stayed at in Hong Kong. The hotel is cute and quite small with contemporary decoration. The room is also small but very new and well decorated. Both the bedroom and bathroom are as clean as new with a big shower (I personally don't like shower over the bathtub so to me this is a PLUS). The service is wonderful, the staff is very helpful and friendly. We borrowed umbrellas from the hotel and returned the wrong one once, but they didn't make a big deal out of it. We actually have 3 people but I only booked in for 2 (as it requires on the website) but no one really cared anyway (not that any hotel I've stayed at in HK is bothered by that). Buffet breakfast at the cafe is decent and cost about 96HKD/extra guest (with hotel discount). Since our group has 3 people and 2 medium size luggage, taxi from the airport back to the hotel would cost about 400HKD (including tolls and luggage charge at 5HKD/piece). The bus would be much cheaper at 40HKD/each but with a lot of luggage + bad weather, there isn't many choices. The hotel is 5 mins walk to Tin Hau MTR Station and about 20 mins walking to Timesquare and Soho area. The area around the hotel at night doesn't have many activities compared to Park Lane hotel Causeway Bay but you can easily walk there or pay 4HKD for MTR ticket (from Tin Hau to Causeway Bay station) or 16HKD for a taxi ride. If there's anything about this hotel that I would complain about, that would be their kinda-thin-toilet-papers :-D heehee. I would definitely come back!

  • Liked — The money paid for such quality, the cleanliness and services
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cutiela83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

Have to agree with recent reviews. Super location for transport with the MTR, buses and trams to take you around the city just a few hundred yards away. Buses to Stanley and Aberdeen etc are also just up the road from the tram stop.

We had a harbour view room which was fairly small as compared to other hotels that we stayed in Asia - but that is to be expected given that space is a premium in HK.

Rooms are very comfortable, with comfy bed and nice bathroom and safe deposit box and tea/coffee facilities at no charge, staff were very friendy.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

A fantastic modern hotel situated in the heart of Causeway Bay and well placed to explore a wonderfully bustling city. The staff were incredibly helpful and the room very reasonable and clean. The bar has a real atmosphere (karaoke a definite draw but obviously not to everyone's taste!) and the food served is of a good quality. All in all well worth a visit considering the very reasonable price to stay.

  • Liked — location and bar
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#70 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#22 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Property: Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Address: No.148 Tung Lo Wan Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong, a business and leisure hotel with unrivalled harbour view, full range of facilities & services and convenient location, just 2 minutes walk to Tin Hau station and 10 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre by Hotel Free Shuttle, welcoming you to experience a contemporary retreat featuring comfort guestrooms and relaxing ambience. Innovative dining concept and well-equipped facilities are complemented by great service and stunning views of Hong Kong's harbour. All round facilities include Free Wi-Fi & Broadband Internet Access, Rooftop Outdoor Swimming Pool (close in Jan & Feb), Health Club, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Business Centre, Restaurant & Pub and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Hong Kong
Metropark Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing