We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Metropark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #52 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We loved this hotel. We got a free upgrade to a harbour view room and this really made a difference as we were not overlooked at all, we had sweeping views over the park towards the harbour, and we could watch the nightly laser show directly out of our window. As a contrast the non-harbour view rooms were very close to the adjacent tower block. As others have mentioned, the rooms are small, but are very comfortable. Ask for a high floor to be further away from road noise if this bothers you.

The location is great, I agree with some other posters in that it isn’t right in Causeway Bay, but I considered this an advantage as it felt like a less touristy area. If you didn’t fancy walking for 10 minutes to get there, there were many buses and trams running very close to the hotel right into Causeway Bay, as well as the hotel shuttle bus. We bought an Octopus card which made getting around much easier.

There are 2 mini-markets within steps of the hotel entrance and many bars and restaurants in easy walking distance
The rooftop pool was lovely although slightly short of sunbeds. The gym area also had the same sweeping views.
There’s a lovely bar which serves great cocktails in the evening and we also had great entertainment from the Chinese Karaoke crooners. Never again will I be able to listen to “Bridge over Troubled Water” without dissolving into laughter!

Overall an excellent hotel, fantastic value and a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ally11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2008

We just spent nine delightful nights here and we can't recommend the place highly enough. Definitely spend the extra bucks for the view over Victoria Park sports fields out to the harbor -- it's especially lovely at night. The rooms are big enough, if short on storage, with unusually comfortable beds for China. While the bathrooms don't have tubs, the showers are more than large enough for two (very nice!). The in-desk vanity is a lovely touch my wife really liked, the place is spotlessly clean, and the AC works great, which is crucial in the steamy climate.

But what makes this Metropark special is the enthusiasm of the young staff -- tremendous hustle and nonstop smiles all around. You can see from their interplay with each other that they really enjoy what they're doing. The assistant managers, especially Carmen Chu, will go the extra mile to make your stay pleasurable.

The buffet breakfast is fine (skip the omelets), but we can't comment on the dinners, because it's only a 20-minute walk through the park to the fabulous and much less expensive local Chinese restaurants on Lockhart Road and Jaffe Road, and that's where we went every night. Going farther afield is a cinch thanks to the Tin Hau MTR station around the corner -- just a few minutes to the Admiralty and Central transfer stations -- and the Causeway Road trolley, which cruises conveniently down Hennessey Road. (We found the cabs and buses, while cheap and comfortable, tended to bog down in the Wan Chai traffic.)

And a word about that beautiful Metropark rooftop pool -- it's not only a great spot to cool off while watching a smoggy sunset, but it's a fabulous vantage point to watch the Chinese New Year or National Day fireworks over the harbor if you're lucky enough to be there at those times. This year's National Day show blew our minds.

We've stayed on both the Kowloon and HK sides on previous trips, and this is far and away the best value we've found.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank goalkick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Stayed for 4 nights on a stop over. Hotel was ok, similar to uk style travel inns. Room was basic and small and bathroom good. Had nice view to harbour. Near to MRT stop about a 5 minute walk and close to convenience store. Roof top pool wa nice and welcome relief after a days sightseeing. Overall no faults, though not spectacular by any means

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chimbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Stayed here two nights. Good location - easy to get to the main sights by taxi or tram. Immediate area has great shopping. Hotel friendly, clean, bar great and breakfast delicious. Room large, great bathroom and views over the city. Staff friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Him-and-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Just a couple of minutes walk from the MTR stop. Fantastic views from rooftop pool. The buffet breakfast was superb and not as expensive as I had feared.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I stayed in this hotel in august for 8 nights. There was a group of 14 of us and we were all really impressed. I had a harbour view room and it was great. The room was quite spacious and certainly not cramped! We had two big single beds and a desk etc and plenty of space.
The service was excellent. We literally called down for an iron one day and within seconds it was there...quite spookily quick actually! Didnt have one problem with the hotel. All the staff were very curteous and spoke brilliant english. I am sure that someone somewhere had written that the hotel was shabby. Im not too sure if they were crazy this hotel was not shabby at all!! The cleaning of the rooms was immaculate. I also saw a suite and it was lovely. In one of the photos there is a picture of the corner of the tiling in the bathroom...this really worried me at the time but when I got there it was obvious that the markings were actually the pattern of the tiles!
I could actually only find on fault with this hotel and that was that it didnt have enough warderobe space...but then again i am not known for travelling light!!
As a travel agent I do not impress easily but I do understand the star rating system, as many people on this site do not seem to. If you want five star luxury book the Mandarin Oriental but this hotel was wonderful for the price.
This hotel was fabulous as was hong kong!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

This hotel is perfect for sight seeing. there is a metro stop directly opposite and the buses and trams all stop right outside on the main road. There are a couple of shops next to the hotel where you can buy water etc. Granted the hotel is right at the end of Causeway bay so it takes 10-15 mintes to walk to the centre but even late at night there are no problems and if you wanted you could jump on the metro and take this instead or one of the trams. The staff were very helpful and nice even when I was making the booking they told me about a promotional rate which had not been released. We didn't eat in the hotel, it is however difficult to find places for breakfast in Hong Kong so if it is a prioriy to have breakfast before you start sight seeing it might be worth taking it in the hotel. The room whilst not huge was adequate but we didn't spend much time in it as we found there was so much to do.

It was very easy to find our way around Hong Kong and use all the transport systems everything is in English, even on the bus stops it tells you what the fare will be so you don't have to worry about asking the driver or getting off at the wrong place. Don't miss the horse racing it is a great evening and again they have guides in English - take your passport and pay a bit extra and you can get right up to the finish line.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Midnightblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#50 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,454 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#64 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#25 of 725 in Hong Kong
781 reviews
TUVE
#34 of 725 in Hong Kong
325 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Address: No.148 Tung Lo Wan Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £70 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong, a business and leisure hotel with unrivalled harbour view, full range of facilities & services and convenient location, just 2 minutes walk to Tin Hau station and 10 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre by Hotel Free Shuttle, welcoming you to experience a contemporary retreat featuring comfort guestrooms and relaxing ambience. Innovative dining concept and well-equipped facilities are complemented by great service and stunning views of Hong Kong's harbour. All round facilities include Free Wi-Fi & Broadband Internet Access, Rooftop Outdoor Swimming Pool (close in Jan & Feb), Health Club, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Business Centre, Restaurant & Pub and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropark Hotel Hong Kong
Metropark Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing