We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, dirty hotel in need of renovation, handy but possibly awkward location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
Ranked #393 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice staff, dirty hotel in need of renovation, handy but possibly awkward location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel has some pluses, but is in dire need of a renovation. The rooms and common areas are dumpy and dirty, but they do have free wifi in the lobby, and the staff are reasonably nice. The hotel is located in the middle of the North Point area street market, not far from the subway and the tram actually passes right by the door. On the down side, because they are in the middle of a busy street market that sells everything from raw meat and seafood to handbags, stockings and toys, it can be a bit of a drag if you have suitcases to take through the wet fishy walk. We stayed 3 restless nights (our hotel booking was prepaid so we could not go to another hotel without losing our money) and we kept our things in our suitcases to keep everything clean. I would actually rate this a half star higher since they did have wifi and the staff are nice, but the fact is we couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: It is better to ask for a single bed hotel room than twin beds because the twin bed hotel room is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubwayRider82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    58
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
19
17
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Small room, bed, night table, everything in the room is small. Expensive restaurant at basement. Good location near to MRT. Not for business traveler, maybe for low cost tour group.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solyuyitung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Room was fairly basic, but clean and very pleasant. Staff were very nice, and we definately enjoyed our stay here. Loved the location - very near Northpoint metro station, and lots of markets and shops around it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imogencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed at the Newton for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay, nice clean rooms with good bathrooms and excellent views of Kowloon especially at night. Staff were helpful if not a little curt. We were a bit disppointed that the rooftop swimming pool was closed but all in all good hotel and an enjoyable stay.

Some great cheap places to eat just round the corner from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_8016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel in located in a marketplace area. Hard to locate in the first instance but once you found it, it's in fact quite accessible.
Hotel staff are very friendly and patient. The bell boy even took time to explain to me that it is more suitable for me to take airport shuttle vs. hotel limo as I've quite a few luggages (I'm travelling in group of 6 and although the hotel limo can take up to 6 passengers, there wouldn't be any room for luggages).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netizen1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

I've been 4 days stay in Newton Inn, North Point, Hong Kong. I'm impressed with an excellent large room, with bathtub and hot water. For me, from Indonesia, I'm not scarred to find Indonesian food. Because there is a lot of indonesian food in the traditional market below with excellent price.
For service, there is no free internet access and breakfast.
Over all, I recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EOFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
North Point
The South China Hotel
The South China Hotel
#202 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#101 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Kwun Tong
Newton Place
Newton Place
#410 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#113 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#107 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
L'hotel Island South
#141 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Inn North Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Inn North Point Hotel

Property: Newton Inn North Point Hotel
Address: No.88 Chun Yeung Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Inn North Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newton Inn North Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel North Point
Newton Hotel Hong Kong
Newton Inn North Point Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing