We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not too great a location but okay for a one night stay”
Review of Panda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panda Hotel
Ranked #122 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I reached the hotel by taking a shuttle from the airport which cost me 100$. it was about 25 minutes from the airport.. they did not have a non smoking room available so I was put in a smoking room.. the room had a slight smell of stale smoke which was slighly annoying.. i was upgraded to the executive floor but I have no clue what was so special about it except i had to use the key card in the lift.. The closest MRT station is a 10 minute walk away mostly thought a covered walkway.. the hotel has a map till the MRT..
it is slightly far from the main tourist areas like Central, TST.. a good 12-13 stops away on MRT.. and at night if returning to hotel it costs 100$ from TST using taxi.. as MRT stops at 12:30..
I had a good rate so I cant complain.. paid 440 $ for one night not including breakfast.. which is quite cheap.. room size and bathroom size was decent.. bed was nice.. nothing to complain about really.. was on 23rd floor so was quite high as well..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pappy_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

I stayed with my boyfriend at the Panda Hotel for 3 days, our purpose in Hong Kong was touristic, sight seeing, etc.
Over all it's a 5 stars hotel in my opinion, but is very far from city center and all the touristic attractions.

GOOD:
The hotel itself is great - we stayed at the 12th floor (non smoking!) in a double room. The room was big, bathroom was also big, with all the toiletries supplied daily - shampoo, hair conditioner, and even ear cotton buds!
There is a free & shining swimming pool and gym, the staff knows good English and breakfast is a buffet.
The hotel is about 5-7 minutes walk to the MTR (subway) station, and is about 4 minutes walk to bus stop A31 direct to the airport (about 40 minutes drive).
The hotel is right above the Pande Center - a shopping mall with a 7/11 and some restaurants.

BAD:
LOCATION. The hotel is located in the New Territories which is about 40 minutes by public transportation (hotel has a free shuttle!) to city center (Tsim Sha Tsui street). It is very accessible - the MTR is 5 minutes walk, and the line is a direct one, but it takes time - and you don't want to nap in the middle of that day because the logistics will take 1.5 hours.
There is no free computer for travelers - unless you travel with your laptop and then you have free WiFi.
There was a tourist information desk that was unwilling to help us in Hong Kong unless we book their offered organized trip which is ridiculously expensive.
The concierge and staff did not tell us about the free shuttle, and first offered to buy the Octipus card (pre-paid card that you can pay with for MTRs, busses and some attractions), and only the day after we bought it we were told there's a free bus from the hotel and back directly to the city center.

Over all this hotel answers all the requirements of a 5 stars hotel, but I will probably recommend it to business people, and not to people who go daily to city center, Tsim Sha Tsui and the Hong Kong Island.
Also, when you check in ask for all the accessories of the hotel - ask about the swimming pool and gym, about the free shuttles (every full hour) and other services you may need, because the staff will not tell you.

Another comment that is unrelated to the hotel: Hong Kong is very accessible and it's very easy to move there - great buses and MTR. Don't be afraid to travel there by yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndavidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The front office staff is very polite and helpful, something not common in Hong Kong.
the rooms are big and clean. Though a little far from the centre ofthe city ,it is quite near the TAI WO HO mtr station.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
Thank sanChd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Our stay at the Panda Hotel was part of the tour package that we got. Although we were optimistic by our choice we were still pleasantly surprised when we got to the hotel, more so when we got to our room!

Checking in should have been a breeze except we got stumped when the front desk lady couldn't make sense when we presented our credit cards to cover the deposit. The family was getting two rooms and she was confused when we handed her two credit cards, meaning we wanted the deposit split. Anyway, I believe it was just a misunderstanding since the lady didn't speak English too well. She then told us that we were getting two adjoining rooms, which we were fine with. So imagine our surprise when we got to "our room" and discover we only had one door! Said door opened up to a living room (complete with couch and a big TV) and a dining area in the middle with two bedrooms on each side! Wow!

The bedrooms were spacious, more than enough room for two people, luggage and all those shopping bags. The beds were very nice and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and had a tub. It had the usual amenities, even had a weighing scale!

The Panda's location though nowhere near Tsim Sha Tsui or Hong Kong Island, is still good considering that the hotel is near an MTR station. The lobby level of the hotel (where the front desk is located) has a door that leads to a covered walk way that could take you to the MTR station, which in turn can take you wherever you want to go to. Although it's quite a walk from the hotel to the station, the covered walkway provides decent shade from the cruel sun and you don't get wet during a sudden downpour.

Around the hotel itself are a couple of shopping malls, small boutique shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. In fact one family member commented that with all that around our hotel we didn't have to go to TST.

All in all, the stay at the Panda was really pleasant, would stay there again and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Only downside (if you could even call it that) is that the lobby is always packed with people! It gets so bad sometimes that guests are asked to queue to ride the elevator! But I'm happy for the Panda Hotel, packed lobby means good revenue for them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

It was pure luck that we found an Expedia deal on this hotel, at only HK$495 (£40) per room per night. One way to get to the hotel from the airport is to take bus S1 (very packed, $3.5) from the airport to 'Tung Chung Cable Car Terminal' and then change to bus E31 (towards Tsuen Wan, empty bus, great views, $10.5) from there to 'Panda Hotel', or take bus A31 ($17.8) to 'Tai Wo Hau MTR Station' and take a short walk to the hotel (http://www.pandahotel.com.hk/docs/WalkMap.pdf).

The hotel is located above a small shopping centre called Panda Place (open until 10 pm), which houses all the essentials. Across the road is a big 'Park 'n' Shop' supermarket, which is really handy for e.g. 5L water bottles. There are lots of shopping centres in the area, located along Tsuen Wan Market Street (there's a lovely little park there too!), Chung On St and Sha Tsui Rd.

The lobby is grand and the staff who dealt with us were polite and helpful. We stayed for a week and had to give a HK$3000 (£250) deposit for add-on services (such as the minibar) which we immediately got back upon departure (they held it on our card). We had requested a high room with a great view, and we certainly weren't disappointed. Our 27th-floor spacious, connecting rooms overlooked the suburb of Tsuen Wan, with tall buildings which lit up beautifully at night. The beds were comfy, and the room possessed certain colonial air. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided, as were toiletries and soap. A minor grumble was the slightly dodgy radio buttons, but surprisingly, that was the only problem! The gym and (8th floor!) outdoor swimming pool were extremely well maintained and a joy to use, however, keep in mind that as soon as there is a typhoon warning, the swimming pool will close.

An hourly city-bound shuttle bus can be booked at the concierge, and the drop off points consist of Mong Kok, Harbour City and Peking Rd (off Canton Rd, near the Star Ferry) in Tsim Sha Tsui. Otherwise, the MTR station is just a 5-10 minute walk away. All in all we had a memorable stay. We wouldn't hesitate to come back in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PianoListener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Two adults with two teenagers in a room,use the spa facilities for showers,but pleasant enough,helpful staff,clean,nice pool and showers..bit out of the way,but 2.50 on the mrt and your in town...Use the restaurant across the road from the front door of the hotel,they only sell soft drinks but they allow you to take you,re own beer..4 tsingtao 35hkd at the supermarket upstairs and good food at a great price

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolvesFordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Panda Hotel, Hong Kong: The Panda Hotel is located within the Kowloon Island of Hong Kong, at a drive of about 20 minutes from the airport. It is connected to the city with the help of MTR. The entire complex houses a mall on the lower three floors with hotel lobby on the 8th floor. The rooms, although comfortable, do not have double beds and are instead equipped with two single beds. Also the facilities of swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam bath are free for the guests. The rooms are comfortable but the absence of double beds is a glaring miss. Also, the HK$1500 pre-deposit (refundable) for any calls or drinks you may consume from the mini-fridge in your room does seem a little harsh. Also, there are KFC and McDonald’s close-by if you prefer not too eat in the hotel restaurant. All-in-all it’s a decent experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prakhar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 725 in Hong Kong
960 reviews
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#157 of 725 in Hong Kong
282 reviews
Silka Seaview Hotel
#178 of 725 in Hong Kong
922 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#217 of 725 in Hong Kong
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panda Hotel

Address: No.3 Tsuen Wah Street, Tsuen Wan | Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#104 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £58 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1026
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panda Hotel is one of the largest hotels in Hong Kong. The combination of our friendly service, approximately 1000 comfortable guest rooms and suites along with four highly acclaimed restaurants and catering venues with full range of business and leisure facilities, it makes Panda Hotel your true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panda Hotel Hong Kong
Panda Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing