We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strategically located very basic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #471 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“strategically located very basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

good things:
1. location is just right. restaurants, shops, bus stops, airport shuttle, and tst MTR station is all near by.
2.breakfast is not wide spread but I prefer it as it does not confuse you with too many options. it was pretty decent.
bad things:
1. rooms are small and bathrooms are even smaller. there was not enough light in the room and was looking dull.
2. staff is not that friendly. I had booked bed and breakfast and it was mentioned in the voucher as well. however the first day when I arrived, the lady at the brekfast counter asked for my room no and said bf was not included in my package. I asked her to check again as I was sure, then she came back saying ok u can have the bf (no apology or smile)
3. the walls of the rooms are not at all sound proof, I could clerly hear voices from the next room and it botheres me entire night. the property is also very old and very tiny lobby and lift. only 1 person can walk in the corridor with a bag at a time. there is not enough light in the corridors as well (too much cost cutting)
Conclusion: Good for budget travellers and backpackers, not recommended for those who want to stay and relax at the hotel.

Room Tip: doesnt really matter as I got free upgrade to superior room and the upgraded room dint please me at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    169
    200
    110
    84
See reviews for
124
106
58
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Ramada hotel is at best a 2 star hotel. The rooms are very small and beds are hard. The staff are unhelpful and unfriendly. We asked for a non-smoking room and were ensured we could have one, when we arrived we were given a smoking room, when we complained we were told oh well that is all there is to bad. The rooms absolutely stank of smoke!!

I would love to go back to Hong Kong but I would definitely not stay at this hotel again!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Ramada properties are 4 star hotels but this one was not...

I've seen 2 star hotels have a bigger reception area that this hotel. The room that was reserved for me was on the 6th floor which was smoking room despite making a remark on the hotels website when i booked that I wanted a non-smoking. Ended up with a room on the top floor.

The entire hotel were in the shades of brown. The room was dark and SMALL, I would say less than 200 sq.ft. Sure as hell not worth the HKD1050 I paid for (my trip was during some trade fair). The mini bar was exorbitantly priced, a bottle of water that was priced at HKD35 would be for about HKD9.5 at a 7Eleven.

The bed was small, I'm about 5'9" and my feet would be hanging out or my head would be sticking to the head rest/board. The TV had 1 English channel which was Discovery.

I had to call room service for a bathrobe, which was torn from a couple of places. Had to call room service for an iron+stand. Next day had to call room service again for the iron+stand, this time i told them to leave it in my room, and the room service guy made a fuss about that.

The only good this about this hotel was free WiFi. Never made it for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Park Hotel thats besides Ramada Kowloon looked like a much better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuzShbbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I have nothing nice to say about this hotel - including the staff who was pretty useless. The room smells of heavy smoke and the windows don't open, the room is dark and small and the bed is as hard as a rock.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlospano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I just had the worst hotel experience! We arrived on a 3 night tour and as soon as we checked in we notice a bed bug n our bed! We notified the staff and they offered to change the bedding but we knew if there was one there was sure to be more! We ask to have a new room! We did notice that they sealed up the room with tape from the outside but found out from another couple in our tour group that on the last day after the room was sprayed their room with conjoined door was infected with bed bugs but wasn't as lucky as us n got bite! Again management was called and they couldn't seem to care too much! Unless your are looking for a location for really good shopping this wouldn't be a place ill ever stay at!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The location,fantastic,cleaniness,terrible,i don't recommend this hotel,it was infested with dust mites,i still suffering from allergies 6 months after.I saw the cleaner hovering just around the furniture,i moved the beds and it had around the skirting boards n carpets 1 inch of dust,the toilet blocked twice n a week ,n all the mess went into floors and carpets,the tv packed up also,so im not very impressed with the hotel .

Room Tip: not recommended at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lujan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Ramada Hotel is located in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui area. The minute you step out of the hotel, you would see numerous shops and restaurants. Most, if not all restaurants, served very good, value for money, Chinese dishes. Clothing stores such as: Cotton On and Bossini and perfume stores were just a stone's throw away from the hotel. MTR station, though, was about 5-7 min. walk. But location did not make up for the poor quality of the rooms. The room and bathroom were small. When we arrived, there were no shampoo and bath foam in our bathroom. I had to call housekeeping and requested for these items. The room was not well-lit. We also didn't get restful sleep. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. We could also hear the opening and closing of doors in the other rooms. We could also hear people chatting along the corridor. Only news channels were available on tv. The hotel lobby was also small and dated. Service was not very good. After checking out, we requested to leave our luggage so we could eat lunch first before going to the airport. The hotel charged us storage fee. Even if this hotel's location is great, I will not come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elenjohos2061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#257 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
GDH Hotel
GDH Hotel
#260 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#153 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Address: No.73-75 Chatham Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Ramada Hotel Kowloon)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Ramada Hotel Kowloon, BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon in Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong is located in town's most popular dining, shopping and entertainment district, Tsimshatsui in Kowloon. Best Western Hotel has more than 4,000 hotels in 100 countries and has been renowned the world's largest hotel chain. Its Best Western Plus was ranked Number One Upper Midscale Hotel, 2014 Business Travel News Chain Survey. It is an easy walking distance to Nathan Road and popular shopping malls in Tsimshatsui such as Harbour City, Ocean Terminal, China Hong Kong City, Ocean Centre, The One, i-Square, Miramar Shopping Centre, K11, Duty Free Shop (DFS) to name a few. There are hundreds of restaurant and bars around BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hongkong. The city's trendiest places for drinks include Knutsford Terrace, Mody Road, and Tsimshatsui East in Kowloon. Within 15 minutes' walk from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, visitors can explore Kowloon's hottest attractions such as Clock Tower, Star Ferry, Tsimshatsui Promenade, Avenue of Stars, Space Museum, Hong Kong Science Museum, Hong Kong Stadium, Heritage 1881, Kowloon Park, Hong Kong Pulse 3D light show and A Symphony of Lights in Tsimshatsui. Hong Kong Polytechnic University is just 5 minutes' walk from B EST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon in Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong. BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hongkong is well connected to all major public transportation such as the MTR subway, airport shuttle, public bus, train to China at Hung Hom Station and ferry to Macau at China Hong Kong City. No wonder travelers are hugely complimentary on this Kowloon hotel's convenient location in Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong has 206 guestrooms and suites. Some of the rooms have a pleasant view of the garden of Tsimshatsui East. All hotel rooms have free WiFi access, LCD television, cable TV channels, in-room safe and tea and coffee making facilities. The Café provides buffet breakfast and snack service. Our warmly welcoming service team looks forward to looking after your forthcoming stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kowloon, Tsimshatsui, Hongkong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Ramada Hotel Kowloon
Ramada Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
Ramada Hong Kong
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing